We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but others had complaints”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in the Astra, sister hotel (next door) to the Cristallo. I was on a package organised by Newmarket travel. Some of us were in the Cristallo, some in the Astra. All meals were in the Cristallo. The food was fine, but the restaurant did seem crowded and stuffy. Possibly the restaurant in the Astra was closed because it was the end of the season.
Some of my fellow-passengers complained about small rooms, tight showers and no view. From my point of view, everything was OK - except that the "wet-room" arrangement (no shower screen at all) could have resulted in a leak downstairs if I hadn't prevented it with towels.
Reception staff in the Astra were very helpful. The manager himself took on the task of sorting out my wi-fi connection. Once this was sorted, it was free - but sometimes slow.
I can't comment on value because it was part of a package.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cristallo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rated as 4 star but to me its more like 3 star. Dusty plastic flower is not appropriate in a 4 star hotel. Aircondition switches off from 01:00 to 14:00 daily. Average or poor food, Big restarant with outdated deco. When walking down to the restaurant It felt like going into cellar becuse it was 1 floor down and the curtains were hiding the windows. Pool small and in shadow in the afternoon. A hotel suitable for eldery people with less travelling experinces. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at the Astra and had my food at the sister hotel Cristallo. My bedroom was soooo clean,lots of hot water and clean clean towels. The food was ok, but the staff was very helpful,they were lovely. I had double doors opening out to a balcony . I would go back there anytime,it was lovely.

Room Tip: see if you can get room number 61,it has a good view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bevhirchfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I travelled with Newmarket Holidays from Kent International Airport and was pleased to discover that my first visit to the area was everything that the reports stated and photographs showed. This small but well known spa town is a great spot from which to visit the many medieval hill top towns and villages and venture onto the Chianti trail!! Even Florence and Rome are reachable.

The Cristallo Hotel located on a shady tree-lined road in the hills around the town has a grand selection of public rooms tastefully decorated in an old fashioned way. Magnificent. The lower floor restaurant offers a good range of Italian style cooking but it may not suit fussy eaters who expect English style meals when abroad. The number of courses (sometimes seven courses) will make you smile and require some loosening of belts! The rooms are basic but clean and the small quiet fridge in the room was fantastic. The old style TV in the room (wall mounted) claimed satellite TV, but the only English speaking channel that I could get was CNN. The air conditioning seems only to be switched on in the evening and goes off early morning. Fine when temperatures are comfortable but in July when there is a heatwave, this becomes a little troublesome - they might want to consider providing fans in extreme temperatures if saving money on air-conditioning is a must.

I must have been impressed - I am about to rebook!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony. At that height I would rather do without.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebelcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at the cristallo with newmarket holidays. Rooms were clean pretty spacious contained fridge hairdryer(but still take your own not very powerful) and we had a balcony at the back of the hotel overlooking the Tuscan hills although their we're hotels in front of us. Food was wonderful,plenty of choice for breakfast(continental) evening meal was never ending,one course after another of excellent food. Menu given at breakfast of 3 choices for first course and 3 for second course and if none suited you they would do their upmost to make you something suitable. Rosa was especially helpful and very efficient at her work. Staff were very helpful. The town was very quiet nobody about in the evening bars were empty the recession seems to have hit badly. The only downfall of this hotel was the pool. Pool area was small and the sun bathing area was limited and only room for about 4 people to catch the sun, we did ask if we could use their sister hotels pool but that didn't seem to be an option for some reason. As the hotel was on a hill their was a lift that took you down to the street which was very helpful.Overall a very good hotel but if you want to relax in the sun not ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beatlefanAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Leger Holiday Singles, Treasures Of Tuscany Tour. Excellent management (Luigi has check-ins very well organised) and staff in Astra and sister hotel Cristallo, next door, where breakfast and evening meals taken. Nice big room, a double with balcony, safe and ample wardrobe/storage space. Very small shower in my bathroom (57), but understand that all rooms vary in size. TV was Italian only, despite the many channels. Very subdued lounge/bar areas in Astra with little atmosphere at night. Better quality furniture/ambiance in the Cristallo.

The food was unfortunately the biggest let down for me. Even the pasta was very bland and uninspiring, and the 5 course Tuscan evening was another disappointment - soup on a plate with no liquid - hmm, maybe not! The water melon just about saved the day. Basic continental breakfast and a tempremental drinks machine. Great staff though - always cheerful.

Good location, set back from the main new town square, up a steepish hill, but there is a lift adjacent to the bar in the Cristallo which takes you to the basement for easier access, and also then turn left - about a 30 minute walk to the 'old town' over to the right, just past a large sports complex and a Coop. Small outdoor pool at the side of the Cristallo.

Very handy bar just over the road serving snacks and drinks, the Rivoli, where most guests from the 3 local hotels tended to congregate.

OK as basic budget accommodation, probably not really a 3 star hotel based on facilities/food.

Room Tip: No problems with noise in front rooms, despite being on a bus route. Small balconies overlook treeli...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

when we went to Hotel Cristallo we found a friendly and helpful staff. We had a clean big spacious bedroom. Also a big dining room and each night we had delicious food (a lot of food!). And yes. this is rated as 4 stars... I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mistolin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#28 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#17 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#9 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Milano
Grand Hotel Milano
#13 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
Grande Albergo Le Fonti
#26 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Viale Lombardia 35, Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: £84 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top class, newly-built hotel, owned by a family who have been hoteliers for generations, boasts a central position commanding breathtaking views, near the spa buildings. The hotel has a lift linking it with lively Piazza Italia, large and welcoming rooms with bath and sitting room, balcony, air conditioning, telephone, colour television and piped music. It has spacious halls, reading and games room, bar, meeting room, swimming pool and garage. Service is to the highest standards. The Hotel Cristallo's renowned cuisine bases itself on wholesome food (various types of meat, poultry, wine, food, oil, honey and vegetable produce). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing