We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Staff at the Cristallo”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five Star Staff at the Cristallo”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel as the previous reviewer? The rooms were pretty basic, but always clean with clean hand and bath towels daily. The beds were comfortable with TWO pillows each (I'm sure if the last but one reviewer who said she had only one pillow had asked for more she would have got them). We were lucky to have a room overlooking the hills but without a verandah which only alternate rooms had and although the furniture was a little shabby it was adequate.

The food was not Cordon Bleu but then we had not paid Cordon Bleu prices; there were choices for each course and an excellent salad bar as well. The six courses mentioned by the reviewer were served on the last evening of our seven day stay which was I'm sure meant to be a treat. We certainly did not have dried up, overcooked food.

The stars of the show were definitely the staff. Rosa and her team in the restaurant were absolutely brilliant and our table of six were in total agreement that they worked so, so hard and were always cheerful and extremely friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room at the back of the hotel which will have glorious views over the hills and cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    78
    48
    16
    23
See reviews for
25
107
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

the hotel itself was beautiful, stunning entrance and reception rooms, the rooms were very basic, but the food was disgusting. the main meal served up every evening was dried up, overcooked, not like proper Italian food should be, we were served a dried piece of pork that looked black, the next night it was something that was meant to be a chicken cutlet(?) but was like a piece of rubber, the waiting staff were rude and unsmiling as if they begrudged serving us. very disappointing the facade belied the the restaurant, which was more resembling of a school canteen. i would not go there again.

Room Tip: the rooms we had overlooked the back of the hotel next door, and was not a very nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetc186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chianciano Terme hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belvedere, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

While the rooms were kept clean, the furniture was outdated and only one pillow was available per person. The shower was tempremental and you either got hot or cold water, never both together. We had a balcony on the third floor and overlooked the hills and valley below yet others on the trip faced a noisy road. The food was lovely but at 6 courses may be a bit too much in the evening. Breakfast was very limited. All staff were friendly but some seemed to think that it was OK to server breakfast half undressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room at the back of the hotel as the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel early September. Room on top floor very clean and spacious with balcony and good view over valley. Sheets and towels changed regularly.Italian food good and wholesome with a reasonable choice- lots of courses. Staff very keen to give an alternative choice if nothing suited your taste. Staff extremely efficient and very friendly. Newmarket rep 'Imma' excellent. Organisation of transfers from airport very good and excursions also first class. Loved the hill top villages and highlight of the week was the 'Chianti trail' excursion. Town very quiet - not for someone looking for the night life. Very relaxing holiday and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in the Astra, sister hotel (next door) to the Cristallo. I was on a package organised by Newmarket travel. Some of us were in the Cristallo, some in the Astra. All meals were in the Cristallo. The food was fine, but the restaurant did seem crowded and stuffy. Possibly the restaurant in the Astra was closed because it was the end of the season.
Some of my fellow-passengers complained about small rooms, tight showers and no view. From my point of view, everything was OK - except that the "wet-room" arrangement (no shower screen at all) could have resulted in a leak downstairs if I hadn't prevented it with towels.
Reception staff in the Astra were very helpful. The manager himself took on the task of sorting out my wi-fi connection. Once this was sorted, it was free - but sometimes slow.
I can't comment on value because it was part of a package.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rated as 4 star but to me its more like 3 star. Dusty plastic flower is not appropriate in a 4 star hotel. Aircondition switches off from 01:00 to 14:00 daily. Average or poor food, Big restarant with outdated deco. When walking down to the restaurant It felt like going into cellar becuse it was 1 floor down and the curtains were hiding the windows. Pool small and in shadow in the afternoon. A hotel suitable for eldery people with less travelling experinces. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at the Astra and had my food at the sister hotel Cristallo. My bedroom was soooo clean,lots of hot water and clean clean towels. The food was ok, but the staff was very helpful,they were lovely. I had double doors opening out to a balcony . I would go back there anytime,it was lovely.

Room Tip: see if you can get room number 61,it has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bevhirchfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#27 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
2,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Milano
Grand Hotel Milano
#14 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#17 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno Chianciano
Hotel Moderno Chianciano
#21 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capitol
Grand Hotel Capitol
#58 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Property: Hotel Cristallo
Address: Viale Lombardia 35, Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top class, newly-built hotel, owned by a family who have been hoteliers for generations, boasts a central position commanding breathtaking views, near the spa buildings. The hotel has a lift linking it with lively Piazza Italia, large and welcoming rooms with bath and sitting room, balcony, air conditioning, telephone, colour television and piped music. It has spacious halls, reading and games room, bar, meeting room, swimming pool and garage. Service is to the highest standards. The Hotel Cristallo's renowned cuisine bases itself on wholesome food (various types of meat, poultry, wine, food, oil, honey and vegetable produce). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing