We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel 2 with Newmarket holidays”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 4 July 2014

again we had a three night stop, this time in the Cristallo hotel in Chiantiano terme quite a nice hotel in an oldie worldie style décor ie chandeliers, etc
Food was good and very filling, most dinners were 4 or 5 courses.
We had a room overlooking the pool, and it seemed fairly quiet on that side, and the views were
very nice

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVEYNeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, huge well appointed rooms & public areas. Good food & friendly service. Stayed three nights as part of Newmarket Holidays Seven Cities of Italy tour 1-8 June 2014. A lovely retreat from a fairly hectic yet enjoyable schedule. Beware of staff member Stefano - he quite openly asked my husband & I if he could spend the night with us. We, like him, may be gay but that doesn't mean we sleep around. Besides which, we were on our honeymoon. Naughty Stefano!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Keith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierluigi M, Direttore at Hotel Cristallo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014
Google Translation

E' triste leggere queste cose, soprattutto se una persona che crede nel proprio lavoro e si dimostra cordiale con i clienti (chiunque essi siano) viene poi travisata.
Ai signori è stata data una bella camere proprio perchè in luna di miele.
Stefano ha chiesto loro e si è assicurato durante la loro permanenza se si trovassero bene e se la camera era di loro gradimento.
Loro erano contenti tant'è vero che la sera del venerdì ( il loro ultimo giorno in albergo) hanno salutato e ringraziato Stefano per la sua gentilezza e cortesia.
Sicuramente essere gentili coi clienti può essere mal interpretato però Stefano ha fatto il suo lavoro per bene senza essere indecente come i signori hanno scritto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wednesday another early start as we journeyed to Florence and on the walking tour found the lucky pig, so a quick rub of it's nose and we were off to the Ponte Vecchio.
Onwards and upwards on the 4th day of Newmarket's 7 Cities Tour to Chianciano Terme, following visits to Verona, Venice and Florence and the second hotel, Cristallo with it's marble floors and chandeliers and my only criticism of the single supplement. The room offered was claustrophobic forcing an upgrade costing €60 for the 3 nights, but well worth the extra as I had superb views over the Tuscan Hills.
Thursday we traveled to the beautiful hilltop town of San Gimignano - market day, so bargains to be negotiated. After lunch with views to die for it was on to Sienna and the Piazza del Campo with free time to enjoy the many Basilicas and historic buildings.
Friday and another early start as we journeyed to Rome to throw our 3 coins in the Trevi fountain then onto the Coliseum and a guided walk/bus tour through the city. Free time left to explore the Sistine Chapel, St Peter's Basilica and the Square before returning to the Hotel for a 5 course Tuscan dinner. Sadly there was far too much food to really enjoy the experience - but the holy wine was excellent!
Despite this set-back I would thoroughly recommend this 'Italy' experience to all, I even posted a video of photos of the trip on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94kbudHt3T0&feature=share&list=UUBDsepyapF_6fuQyY2ltE4A
Diane our Newmarket rep was exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a Newmarket 7 cities tour.

The hotel has a slight feel of aged grandeur about it in the public rooms, but the bedrooms could do with a bit of refurb - e.g a shower attachment over the bath with no shower curtain isn't ideal. However the room was comfortable and clean and had great views across the countryside.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and coped well with the vagaries of a busload of Brits.

Breakfast quality was a bit poor for the grade of hotel but adequate to stoke up on for the day ahead.

Dinner was a rather strange affair with self service basic salad followed by typically 5 more courses trundled out and served. The portions of some of these courses were over generous and my upbringing of having to finish what is on the plate wasn't ideal when faced with huge portions of risotto or pasta as an intermediate course.

Overall fine for our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromit_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, and our room was fine but many of the others on our Newmarket 7 cities of Italy tour had very small rooms
The food was basic - rather like school dinners although there was a good buffet salad bar to supplement the meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranniStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were on a Newmarket holiday for 1 week staying at this hotel ( which was an upgrade from the 3 star hotel plaza ). We were on the Tuscan tour and thought the holiday was very good. The tour guide ( Imma) was excellent. She had fantastic knowledge of all the towns we visited and kept us entertained on our trips.
The hotel was clean, our room was at the back and had a view of the countryside. Clean towels everyday.
The biggest disappointment was the food. Breakfast was continental, which is what we were expecting, however, there was only ever 1 kind of cheese, the cold meat tasted like spam. The fruit juice was awful, the coffee wasn't good either. The pastries were stale, often the cold pudding from the night before was on the table. Although breakfast was served until 9.30am. often the cheese and meat was finished and it wasn't replenished. The evening meals were better, but often consisted of watery soup with pasta, more pasta and sauce, overcooked vegetables and tasteless puddings. This was a real shame as italian food should be better than this. The waitresses were all pleasant and helpful and the wine was nice, and reasonably priced.
Would be wary of going on a Newmarket holiday again if this is the standard of hotel that they use.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy54Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from 'doing' a Seven Cities of Italy tour in 7 days with Newmarket Holidays and stayed in the Cristallo at Chianciano for 3 nights.

The tour is promoted as an 8 day holiday, but if like us you leave Aberdeen late afternoon on a Sunday, and spend the Sunday at the end of the trip waiting in a hotel near the airport for your return flight home at 18.30, I’d prefer to describe it as a 7 day holiday. It’s a bit swings and roundabouts though as some people from other UK airports arrived much earlier at the start, courtesy of having to get up about 3.30am, and had another ‘early hours of the morning’ rise for their return journey.

Having said that, this was a really wonderful trip! It is extremely hectic and exhausting, so certainly might not be for everyone, but what I’d say is that it shouldn’t take a lot of working out to know that if you book to see 7 cities - Verona, Venice, Florence, Rome, San Gimignano, Siena & Assisi - staying in 3 different hotels – in Riva del Garda, Chianciano Terme and Lugagnano – in a week, and know you’ll be covering 1,700 miles by coach, you must appreciate this will be a very full-on holiday before you set off!

It was a terrific way to see so many places in such a short space of time though, but you are rarely off the go, and you should also be aware the nature of what you’re trying to pack in does mean you may not have as long at a destination as you’d like. There are very early starts on 3 of the mornings, especially as the excellent value price of the holiday does obviously mean you’re accommodated further away from the large cities, and journey in and out and around a great deal. On the two days you transfer hotels, cases travel with you from the crack of dawn, so being very organised the night before is also essential. You will be away a full 12 hours on some of the excursions.

With the trip costing a bargain £799 per head, which included hotel transfers, 7 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and fully escorted visits to all the cities, the hotels were all perfectly acceptable in our eyes for the money, but most of the 52 of us in the group expected a higher standard of evening meal. However, given that these hotels were often catering for a few coach loads of tourists at a time, we made allowances for the slightly canteen-style service. There were a lot of true Italian dishes we didn’t experience though, and that was disappointing. Of course there are always breaks in the daytime activities to have lunch, or a snack, but nobody really wants to eat a full lunch, knowing they are returning to the hotel for a full dinner later. We did have a lunch out one day as we really wanted Cannelloni and Tortellini. At another lunchtime we had pizza and Tiramisu, not confident we’d be offered my favourite dessert at the hotel.

You have the option of doing your own thing or at some destination such as Venice and Rome adding on additional supplementary tours you pay for and both are well worth it, especially in Venice, where the Gondola ride is included in the additional charge, and to take a Gondola ride of your own accord would cost far more.

As if the holiday isn’t hectic enough in itself with long days and non-stop activity, some of the destinations are less easy than others for anyone disabled or who has mobility issues to negotiate – as other reviewers have said, you do have to be able to walk at a reasonable pace, and there are plenty hills and slopes to navigate. Quite a few people, including myself, struggled with the pace at times.

We were rather lucky with almost perfect weather - rain on our first day on the coach to Verona but it very kindly stopped when we got there. Our last day trip to Assisi was also rainy following a massive thunder storm during the night, (we were there the day after the Pope's visit and it had been dry for the pontiff and the 150,000 people there to see him), The five days in between were perfect ‘sight-seeing’ weather with temperatures around a very pleasant 72/74 degrees, and no rain. October temperatures suited us all very well, whereas May-September could well be a tad hot for accomplishing what we were doing without suffering from the sweltering heat, I think.

What can I say about the destinations? All the places were amazing, and so it is impossible to choose a favourite. Time is limited when you visit, but this is certainly a great way to get a taster for each city, and then decide you’ll return for 3 or 4 days at a later date. We’ve already agreed we’ll re-visit Rome. Don’t forget too that you’re seeing vast areas of Italy on the coach journeys, so it is just incredible that you see and do so much in just 7/8 days.

Our travelling companions were a friendly bunch – I don’t think it would work on such a tour to try keeping yourself to yourself. We’d very sensibly change coach seats daily, so you’d have different people to chat with everyday, as well at at the hotels in the lounge bar and at dinner, and there was an amazing amount of ‘looking out for each other’s wellbeing,’ almost from Day 1.

For us there is no doubt that our amazing Newmarket Tours Rep Diane and our terrific coach driver Simone really made the holiday as special as it was for us all. The amount of fascinating information and willing help we all received from Diane was incredible, almost way above and beyond the call of duty at times, especially as there was a wheelchair used traveling with our party of 52, and this gave her additional logistical issues to sort out. Simone covered the 1,700 miles in a totally cool, calm and collected fashion and was always there to pick us up, load cases etc, etc, in a truly professional manner.

This is the trip for you if you can stand the pace of packing in the thrills of seeing 7 amazing Italian cities and a huge amount more - all in under 200 hours!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#28 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
222 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#18 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#7 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gaia
Hotel Villa Gaia
#8 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Viale Lombardia 35, Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: £76 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristallo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top class, newly-built hotel, owned by a family who have been hoteliers for generations, boasts a central position commanding breathtaking views, near the spa buildings. The hotel has a lift linking it with lively Piazza Italia, large and welcoming rooms with bath and sitting room, balcony, air conditioning, telephone, colour television and piped music. It has spacious halls, reading and games room, bar, meeting room, swimming pool and garage. Service is to the highest standards. The Hotel Cristallo's renowned cuisine bases itself on wholesome food (various types of meat, poultry, wine, food, oil, honey and vegetable produce). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing