We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but the bathrooms need a refurb.”
Review of Grand Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Boston
Ranked #75 of 82 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with a tour operator. This hotel has clearly been chosen as simply a base for tour groups visiting Florence, Siena, Assisi etc.
We never had the opportunity to go into the town as we were out all day on tour, this didn't particularly bother me as there didn't seem much to do.

This hotel is by no means the worst hotel I've stayed in but there is room for improvement. I think some of the reviews on here are a little harsh though.

Our bedroom was absolutely fine. Spacious and clean. The bed was really comfortable. We didn't have much of a view but like I said we were out all day and it was dark by the time we returned from the excursions so it didn't matter.

The bathroom was a different story. It definitely needs a full refurb. It was very small and to be honest quite dirty. Tiles hadn't been cleaned and there were hair balls everywhere. The toilet system was very noisy.

Our room was also above the kitchens. In the evening we could hear everything, people talking, preparation of food, pans clanging etc. I would advise people to request rooms towards the front of the hotel and on a higher floor as I think this would be quieter.

Also, some of the group had 'superior' rooms whilst others had 'economy' rooms. These were randomly allocated by the hotel, we all paid the same. Again, might be worth requesting a superior room if there is no price difference.

The public areas of the hotel were lovely, no complaints there.

For the food, I only ate in the hotel on two nights as the first night we were just too exhausted after the long journey getting there.
The food was okay. I had some specific dietary requirements which were accomodated. If you don't ask you don't get. One night though service was slow and the main course didn't arrive until about 9pm. There was another tour group in the hotel as well as ours but they were a day ahead.

Breakfasts were fine again. The hotel manager (who was always dressed in jeans and t-shirt) was always present going round and checking the food, then summoning waiters when food needed replenishing. There was a short wait for the scrambled egg and bacon to come out but you could see the waiters were working hard and never stopped. I found them friendly and when I asked for something they returned promptly with it.

All in all the hotel was okay, but I would recommend they update their bathrooms. I don't think the company I went with are using the hotel in future as the tour itinerary is changing.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karma_21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

As a base for a tour, the hotel is geographically well located. Our tour took us to Siena, Florence and Assisi, which meant that time in the evening for other things was limited. The town is a spa centre with little else but you don't go there for the town. In fact, if you arrive sufficiently early on the first day, you have time to visit (half hour walk) the quite charming old town. The bedrooms were OK although the furniture and decor was a little tired. We seem to have been lucky with the bathroom facilities (the bathroom was in fact quite big for a continental hotel of this sort) and I cannot understand issues with paper thin walls. The staff were helpful. The evening food however during our stay was quite dire. Small portions and vegetables vastly overcooked. The fish we were served up was awful, as was something described as a béchamel sauce. The wine list is excellent. Breakfast was adequate, although the coffee the worst I have ever had. The hotel does not merit four star status. On the other hand, the tour itself was excellent in all other respects.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a disaster!Cracks in 2 walls, the shower screen nearly fell into the bath and when folded back it did! The shower was pathetic and sprayed water all over the bathroom and only a little on the human body!
The room should be shut and totally refurbished.
The food was good and the staff were helpful,particularly in the restaurant.
Our Tour Manager,Christopher, was excellent and made the trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglasroddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed with Riviera Travel. Bedroom was fine - apart from the beds being rather narrow.
The bathroom was in severe need of updating. E.g.The shower fastening was broken.There was quite a bit of traffic noise and loud music outside at night.
Restaurant staff were very pleasant but the service was incredibly slow. Breakfast was fine. As far as dinner went - the anti pasta was OK but the rest of it was of a lower standard than expected and often the portions were very small. It felt like mass catering at its worst.
Bar area seemed OK.
Not sure how this hotel gets its 4 star status.

Room Tip: From what we heard only the rooms on the lower floors have adequate air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just returned from trip with riviera travel. I agree with last review the hotel is just a base and to put your head down after a long day touring Italy. The meals were typical Italian and very good. The staff couldn't do enough for us. I think people who moan about this hotel should stick to there all inclusive package tours as this holiday is all about italian culture not sunbathing at the side of a pool. Yes the town was quiet but if you ventured out there was a couple of nice bars and ice cream parlours which served the most fantastic ice cream I've ever had. Ann cox our tour guide was great and a wealth of knowledge. Yes the hotel is a bit run down but very warm and homely I will be visiting there again. Thanks riviera travel we enjoyed our stay ten out of ten

Room Tip: Go on the sixth floor fantasic roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wobblybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed with riveria travel.Future travellers please,do not be put off by negative reports.Yes the hotel is in a sleepy town,but you are never back from day excursions before 6pm so little spare time in town.
Nice piano bar straight out of hotel,along main road.5mins walk,where you can relax and watch the italians dance!!Bar area is nice,clean perfect for a relaxing drink in evening after a long day on your feet!.Treble brandy only 4 euros!(try paying that in Rome!!).Meals adequate and pleasently served,Reception staff helpful,rooms not as bad as made out to be,only had problem with air-con.Hotel has a small outside patio seating area too.It should be pointed out that Average cost of riveria tour is £650-£690 pp.includes all flights, airport transfers,all coach travel,meals,6nghts hotel accomodation,2 excellent walking tours with local proffesional guides in florence and sienna and excellent courier,Ann.
If you want Hilton/Sheraton standards then unfortunatly you have to pay the price,all our party were impressed by the ''value for money''and excellent iternitary and were well aware of the rumblings of members of other tour parties who obviously expected ''champagne tastes but with lemonade money''.It does not warrent the fawlty towers label,even though it is quirky.remeber it is in italys answer to Buxton!!!
In the past i have stayed at 5 star hotels in hong kong,uk,singapore,amsterdam,paris and many other destinations at each one i could have found fault with some aspect of the hotel,no hotel is perfect. The time spent at this hotel is limited to the evening and i found it a pleasant stay,remeber it is a tour,and therefore a base hotel.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gertiegrotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A throw back to the 1970's. Tired, dirty and smelly. Our first room overlooked a garden rubbish tip. Underneath the window was the kitchen extractor chimney. The second room had a better view overlooking a derelict building! The antiquated shower cubicle had pubic hairs from the previous occupant. The pillows were filthy and heavily stained with what must have been bodily fluids. There was no hot water for the 3 days that we stayed. No one in the hotel or our Rep had an inclination to address this. The room is devoid of luxuries such as kettle, cups, tea or coffee.
The meals are nothing short of disgusting. All complaints are dealt with by a shrug of shoulders and then told that there's nothing that can be done.
The remainder of the hotel is dirty, smelly and very tired. It is without doubt nothing more than a glorified homeless persons shelter. If the prices and star rating reflected this then you pays your money and makes your choices.
Chianciano is nice enough for an afternoon. There is absolutely nothing open in an evening except tumbleweed blowing through the empty streets. Avoid this hotel if you are not used to sleeping in skips and eating out of bins!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanWest47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel AVE
Hotel AVE
#70 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gaia
Hotel Villa Gaia
#7 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aggravi Hotel
Aggravi Hotel
#74 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marystella
Hotel Marystella
#16 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#26 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 82 in Chianciano Terme
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Boston

Address: Piazza Italia 5, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#20 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: £49 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Stayforlong S.L., HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Boston Chianciano Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing