We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick Back and Enjoy a Quiet Piece of Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the place to explore Tuscany. The Grand Hotel Ambasciatori is located in the center of Chianciano Treme, a fascinating town offering a variety of activities (many of which are just short walks away). The hotel staff is extremely friendly and definitely makes visitors feel at home. The restaurant staff made every one of our meals from breakfast to dinner a memorable event; the bartenders provide pleasant accompanists to our evenings; and the desk staff immediately made us reluctant to say goodbye at the end of our stay. Chianciano is a blend of very nice shops, a wonderful town square which offered everything from wonderful evening dancing to an extensive craft fair during our stay. The old city of Chianciano and a unique Tuscan museum were just two of many standout memories of our stay (and well within walking distance from the hotel).

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel offer views of the passing parade on one of the main streets of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlie282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Room felt very small as there was way too much furniture in it and no room to move. Fixtures and fittings were very good quality but very dated - in need of a refurb. Staff were lovely and food was also good - lots of choice at breakfast.
Warning - the bath/shower arrangement was difficult to use and VERY slippery even when dry but a death trap when wet. The 'non slip' mat made the situation worse as it did not fit the bath properly and was also very slippery when wet. Shower screen was not aligned to shower resulting in a very wet ceramic tiled floor which was also very slippery. Be careful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25032013-3, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Mrs Lesley2435,
Thank you for your review, we appreciated it. Your room was a standard, spacious, light and the size proposed by the law. The bathroom is equipped with jacuzzi, we consider it appropriate for a high class hotel. Thank you for the compliments to the staff and we are sorry that you had trouble using the mat that we supplied. Using it in the right way, placing the mat before using the water, prevents it from moving and making it even more secure then the bottom of the bathtub. In addition, a sponge mat is available to the customer, to go out from the bathtub without the risk to slip. We hope to host you again in Chianciano Terme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Air conditioned is somewhat disingenuous since they control it centrally. Thus the rooms are close and stuffy, unless you open the window. This means, to get any air you must listen to cars, trucks, and scooters all evening long as well as sharing the room with flying insects.
The shower/bath regurgitates water under the tub...obviously there's some kind of drainage problem. When I menitoned this to other guests at breakfast, they said the same thing happens to them every day.
Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Furniture is worn. The room, wallpaper, etc., really needs a rehab.
Since there are almost 200 hotels, big and small, in this town there are many better choices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bickus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25032013-3, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Mr. bickus01
We are very sorry, if you've had some issues with your room and bathroom.
The air conditioning has a centralized system, but from your room you can manage it independently.
About your bathroom problem, once have you reported it, we immediately solved the issue, as you can remember.
Regard to the size of the rooms, it was a classic room, with large wardrobe and furniture, comfortable for a weekly stay. We are working to make further improvements to the structure and the rooms, increasing the services. We invite you to return once again to the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori to verify yourself these improvements
Best regards and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My friend and I traveled from Sorrento and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a base camp of our trip to Tuscany on February 22nd before heading to Rome. The hotel is just walking distance to church, post office, public transportation and has a free garage parking. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. My room was of very decent size with comfortable bed and plenty of closet space, bathroom is complete with standing shower and a bathtub. My friend's room was on the small side but free wifi was a plus . The rooms were very clean and well kept by housekeeping. Breakfast was very good but dinner was average. I think with the room rates including breakfast and dinner was a very good deal. I would stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
Has been a pleasure having you in our Hotel and we'll be very happy to have you again in Chianciano Terme in next future.
With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for six days while doing group tours in Tuscany. Room was adequate size; a/c didn't work or was turned off for the season? Noisy bar across the street that goes until very late in the night and morning. Staff were pleasant and helpful; wifi worked and so did the computer in the lobby.

Bathroom had a shower head mounted on the wall but there was no shower curtain or anything to keep the water in the tub.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hotel was fine, staff was helpful. Hotel is within walking distance of public transportation and the ticket station. However, good restaurants are quite a distance from the hotel and the hotel is not located in the historic part of the town. However, I would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RippleManatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A very nice hotel centrally located for day trips around Tuscany, but there's not much to do in this area of town in the evenings. I was here in May with a tour group for a week. Usually by the end of a day of touring, we wanted to relax. Our room was large and comfortable with a view of the back courtyard. It was noisy at night with kitchen noises. We had to leave balcony door open for air since AC cannot be turned on until June. Mattress was a bit firm for my liking. Breakfasts were okay, but they really need to learn how to make scrambled eggs -- very watery. Bed linens were changed every other day, but towels were changed daily. Room was very clean. There's plenty of storage room for clothing. The little refrigerator in the room came in handy, as we bought fruit, cheese, and bread from the local "supermarcato" instead of going to a restaurant. If on a solo trip, I would not choose to stay in Chianciano, but it was fine for a tour group.

Room Tip: If you are there before AC is turned on, I'd opt for a street facing room -- although you get th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chianciano Terme hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
#10 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
3,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#16 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lory
Hotel Lory
#5 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#27 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#19 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ambasciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ambasciatori

Address: Viale delle Liberta' 512, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Ambasciatori 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tuscany, in the spa town of Chianciano Terme, the Grand Hotel Ambasciatori offers its guests a variety of services and amenities to make every stay unique and special. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with solarium, free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free parking and free parking garage, restaurant, gym, pool table, sports center and a SPA. The Ambasciatori Wellness & Spa, situated in a panoramic position on the fourth floor of the Hotel, is the ideal place to regenerate body and mind. Wellness Spa Circuit includes hydromassage and chromotherapy pool, finnish sauna, turkish bath, mediterranean bath, kneipp draining water massage, shower cold & hot way, ice -crash and two relax rooms. The center offers a wide range of massages and body care. The SPA uses the prestigious line "Pevonia Botanica", produced with natural formulations, free of artificial fragrances, alcohol, mineral oil and lanolin. Situated in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, the Sports Centre is quiet and reserved. The Centre has two tennis courts in red clay, basketball court, soccer field and volleyball. At the restaurant of the hotel, in addition to a varied breakfast buffet, you can enjoy typical Italian and Tuscan dishes prepared with products of our territory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Ambasciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing