We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel chosen by Tour Company” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Admiral Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Chianciano Terme
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel chosen by Tour Company”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel appears to have a difficult beginning and has a mix of "modern decor" from the 80's, 90's and ? Being on a "Walking Tour of the Tuscan Hill Towns," I felt nothing of the charm of Tuscany. The staff was not friendly, the morning buffet lack coffee at the beginning and the restaurant staff seemed sparse and over worked. The attempts at creating a "modern" hotel resulted in a black and white furnishings.The bathroom had a vertical, cylindrical shaped shower with more gadgets than one or even two people could effectively use to shower! As I mentioned, this hotel was part of the package. I would not choose to stay here on my own.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    1,137
    451
    177
    116
See reviews for
329
1,855
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Considering the very reasonable fare, we found this Hotel satisfying. The pool is very nice, the breakfast, while not sumptuous, provides you all you may need. The Spa area is very good and included in the price. Last, it stays a bit on the hill side and while steps away from the center of the new town, is in a quite location. One thing that frankly disturbed me and did not quite understand was the fact that our room shared its small balcony with an other room. Since this is not a Motel, I was not really expecting to see people 1 ft from my window looking inside. I tried to understand if this is a standard design, or an exception for the rooms designed for families. I did not understand. Should you stay at this hotel, ask for a room with some more privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is a spa type hotel although this is not pushed. Indoor pool great but shallow at about a metre deep, great sauna,steam room and relaxation room. lifts to all floors. good size room with 2 queen size beds pushed together, safe at no extra cost and fridge/mini bar(which is to expensive to use). The bathroom was good with a jacuzzi bath but decor was a little tired. Bad points expelair in bathroom didn;t work along with a couple of jets in bath. No drawers just one large wardrobe. no hospitality tray so I couldn't make my beloved cup of tea.my adapters for europe didn't fit so had to find a shop that sold one. plug above dressing table loose, sheets only changed once in the week and this was with a dirty one but I managed to to get maid to change it.
The breakfast was good, buffet style but the staff seemed more interested in setting up for the evening meal. staff not over friendly. We only had one evening meal which was lack lustre and priced at 60 euros plus drinks(water) seemed a little high. overall hotel good but not the happiest place to be if you are not fluent in Italian. I must say that on departure we met the best member of staff which was the night porter who was really friendly, polite and tried to communicate in English and Italian and did so successfully. In my opion only deserves 3 stars and I would try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: rooms 202 and 204 are rear facing and next to kitchen flue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloucesterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mil Anus
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed for one night in mid May at (Grand) Hotel Admiral Palace in Chianciano, and got a discounted room at € 79 on not on the hotel web site, incl. breakfast. It looks the best hotel in town, so the deal.

Maybe because the rate was discounted (or maybe not) I was given a small room facing the back of the hotel, towards the hill and nearby houses on the 2nd floor, just above a terrace where air conditioning was stationed, and a big pipes covered most of the already bad view from the window.

It was cool and rainy outside, but the air conditioning was off and I could not make it work. Inside it was quite hot, and had to keep the window open at least for some time to cool the room down a bit (keeping the window open during the night was out of the question, due to the noise outside).

The room was quite small, and the bed cover was extremely worn for a 5 stars hotel. The bathroom displayed a tylette shower, quite small for one person, but most of the sprinklers were out of order, so the pressure of water from those working was too high and very uncomfortable. A sign of really bad maintenance.

Overall the room appeared to be clean, a part from a few left over hairs clearly standing over a white chair.

Breakfast was really simple: there was a good selection of freshly baked cakes and croissant, a few sample of fruits, yoghurt, toasts, but just some poor quality ham & cheese, scrambled eggs and bacon. The overall selection was just mediocre, and not to the level of the average 5 star international traveler. Coffee (as well as cappuccino, latte macchiato and a few other choices) was self-serve from an automatic coffee machine, and it was not as good as anything you can have from an average Italian bar.

Wifi was of of good quality all over the hotel and free. A small LCD TV offered just a few foreign channels, one each in English, French, German, and all the main Italian channels, maybe not enough for international travellers, as there were many staying there.

Bathrobe and slippers were available on the bed upon arrival, but a very big sign over them was implying that there would be a surcharge when using this kit. This was quite surprising and disturbing in a 5 star hotel, so I gladly discarded it. Overall the impression was of a cheap breakfast, badly maintained place and not really 5 stars. I believe there may be better rooms with a view offered to some other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for a week in September.
Room was very clean and a good size.
Food was fine not the best but I've had much worse
elsewhere.
The young waiting staff were very friendly and pleasant.
Did not use the spa so can not comment on it.
The hotel overall was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

First, 25 years ago the town of Chianciano Terme was a bustling city but since the healing waters have all but disappeared the town and its hotels seem to have withered away. The "Grand" Hotel Admiral Palace is a basic tour bus hotel. During our short stay 3 different tour buses came and went with overnight guests. The hotel was completely full so we stayed in a handicap room. Fine for us, but anyone with a disability would have had problems. The shower enclosure door was broken and the bathroom rubbish can lid wouldn't open so we ended up throwing our tissues on the floor! The bed was comfortable but the bedspread so worn that it made the room feel even shabbier.
We arrived in the evening and decided to eat in the hotel for dinner. The food was basic at best, as was the breakfast buffet. We took a quick look at the spa and found it to be only average too. Checkout was a nightmare! Only one person on duty with a line of 12-15 people waiting to depart.
Chianciano Terme was our base and when we travel we like to arrive back after a long day of sightseeing to comfort. It was our first visit to Grand Hotel Admiral Palace, and last. There are just too many other gorgeous towns to stay nearby that are full of life and have quality accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed there for a night in May, we booked a last minute package which allowed us to have lots of extra privileges included: such as the wellness centre, the roofed garage, a suite with jacuzzi.

The food wasn't great, not bad, but just nothing special really. However, the wellness centre was very relaxing, small and cosy but somehow friendly. The staff was courteous though not overtly friendly either.

All in all a good hotel, nothing bad to say about it, and the room was probably the high point: modern and luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chianciano Terme
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#16 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#18 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ricci Hotel
Villa Ricci Hotel
#11 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
Hotel Del Buono Centro Benessere
#15 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perugina
Hotel Perugina
#4 of 87 in Chianciano Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Admiral Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Admiral Palace

Property: Grand Hotel Admiral Palace
Address: Viale Umbria 2, 53042 Chianciano Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chianciano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#3 Spa Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#9 Family Hotel in Chianciano Terme
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chianciano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Admiral Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Admiral Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Chianciano Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing