We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality services, spacious, lovely!”
Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Centrally located, this modern hotel accommodation in a historic building has all the amenities plus a restaurant and bar. The customer service is excellent and the rooms are spacious with a closet, safe, hair dryer, desk, large bed(s) and sitting area. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel upon our return to Chiavari and/or the Cinque Terre area.

Sleep-ins for weary travelers could be an issue at this hotel because it is adjacent to a church with an active morning bell tower.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

This was my wife's and my third stay at the Monte Rosa in Chiavari and it gets better every time. The room was great - large, very clean, modern with two large french doors opining onto a sizeable balcony. The bathroom was very spacious, modern, clean with a great shower. The breakfast was excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak excellent English. Everytime we have asked the staff to arrange eith a driver, taxi, pack a painting for us, etc. they have always provided the best. Also in a town with little or no parking they have a garage. The location is excellent and Chiavari is an excellent town to visit the Riviera from - train and bus tranportation is excellent and it is on the autostrade. Like I said - a REPEATER.
Bob & Pam Armanino

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Our room was very spacious(311) with a pleasant view to the hills. Excellent shower facilities. Restaurant large and popular but I would rate our evening meal as average. Large on quantity rather than quality. Breakfast good. Loved the pool area. So good to chill out after all the walking. Lovely towels provided.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the back overlooking the hils
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed in August. The staff were great. Dining is quite 'old-world' but very engaging. The location was great in all but one respect - the early bells of the church across the road. That aside, highly recommended as a base to explore the region.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Hotel Monte Rosa is well situated at the edge of the centro storico and has a good family feel.

Great triple suite, very clean. Friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Very good breakfast selection.
The hotel also has its own bar, restaurant and sun terrace with a small play area for children. It looks like they are building a swimming pool, jacuzzi on the terrace.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank paul_martland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

...one of the family' - in this authentically Italian hotel where guests (mostly Italian) are received and treated as family members and where the head waiter in the dining room frequently manages more than one conversation simulatneoeusly with guests - addressing each by name and in more than his native Italian. On the debit side, the hotel facilites are a little outdated and in need of renovation, the hotel's location is a good 10 minute walk from the sea and the new swimming pool area (about to be opened) a little small for the hotel's size. However, the warmth of the reception and general ambiente plus the hotel's location in the daytime heart of Chiavara make the hotel a must for Italian lovers and connoisseurs. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is a good clean comfortable hotel close to the most interesting parts of Chiavari, and to a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavari
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ferrari
Hotel Ferrari
#4 of 8 in Chiavari
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#3 of 8 in Chiavari
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella del Mare
Hotel Stella del Mare
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#8 of 8 in Chiavari
240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#4 of 16 in Lavagna
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zia Piera
Hotel Zia Piera
#6 of 8 in Chiavari
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Address: Via Monsignore Luigi Marinetti 6, 16043 Chiavari, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Chiavari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Price Range: £66 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monte Rosa is the "Secret Dream", the fruit of love and constant dedication of two young newlyweds, grandparents of the present proprietors, who in 1909, with passion and sacrifice gave life to this establishment, transforming it over the years from a small restaurant to a 4 star hotel with 62 rooms, Restaurant, Banqueting Hall and Swimming Pool. It's located in the beautiful historical porticoed town centre of Chiavari, immersed in the heart of this vibrant small medieval city, and only a few minutes from the promenade. Chiavari moreover is situated at the centre of an area rich in natural beauty: from the uncontaminated Cinque Terre to Portofino, from Genoa, with its aquarium and beautiful historical centre, to Camogli and Sestri Levante. The hotel is the destination chosen by those who have a passion for trekking, tourism, cycling and mountain biking, those who want to forget the car and choose either the train or the boat as an alternative mode transport or those who simply want to relax and be pampered away from the hustle and bustle of stressful living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing