We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monte Rosa
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ferrari(Chiavari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Zia Piera(Chiavari)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sud Est(Lavagna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
140
144
61
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
144
61
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedterrace barhistoric towntrain stationlovely hotelrecommend this hotela real gemmain restaurantlimited menuhotel monterosaitalian rivieracinque terrethe staff were friendly and helpfulten minutessalad barbreakfast was excellenteasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2010

...one of the family' - in this authentically Italian hotel where guests (mostly Italian) are received and treated as family members and where the head waiter in the dining room frequently manages more than one conversation simulatneoeusly with guests - addressing each by name and in more than his native Italian. On the debit side, the hotel facilites are a little outdated and in need of renovation, the hotel's location is a good 10 minute walk from the sea and the new swimming pool area (about to be opened) a little small for the hotel's size. However, the warmth of the reception and general ambiente plus the hotel's location in the daytime heart of Chiavara make the hotel a must for Italian lovers and connoisseurs. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This is a good clean comfortable hotel close to the most interesting parts of Chiavari, and to a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The 3-star Hotel Monte Rosa is a few short blocks from the train station on the western edge of the pedestrian city center. The town is flat with disabled ramps at every curb, so traveling with luggage is a snap. While the hotel is not directly on the sea, it is away from the train station and the main road (via Aurelia) so it is very quiet.
The room was large and extremely comfortable with excellent drawer (bureau) and closet space. The bathroom was very large with the usual square shower stall with sliding doors. A nice feature was the 110 volt outlet with a USA plug.
The standard features include a hairdryer and a small television with satellite reception with the major Italian channels, CNN, BBC, and a local Tigullio channel which was useful for morning weather reports.
The best surprise of the hotel was its delightful restaurant. We had some misgivings about committing to a week of dinners in advance, but we were not at all disappointed. The quality of the food and service was very high.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at Monte Rosa for 3 nights in September 09.
The Hotel crew is pretty nice and professional, I've to say that the disponibility of the two guys taking care of the garage is really admirable and pleasant.
The hotel is above the average of other hotels in Liguria and offers quite interesting services, not always easy to find in the area - on top of all the Garage (10 Euro per day) and wireless connection.
Some negative points:
- forniture: we had a Superior Room....the tv was an old small tv from the 80s and the remote control was saved with scotch....
- the superior room we had had a superb terrace...was fantastic having a drink there...Unfortunately, the room and the hotel in general is exactly beside the Church...and the priest has a lot of fun with starting the bell concert at 7am....each 30 minutes!! So, if you like to sleep long hours that's not the place
- Breakfast: definitely disappointing...also the coffee was terrible!!

Final bill was pretty high - 125 Euro per night.
So, my final suggestion is:
If you don't need to sleep long hours, it could be a good hotel for a long week end. I wouldn't suggest it for a summer holiday because of the bell concert, the low level of the breakfast and the high prices.
Finally, however, a positive experience - said by a person often disappointed by Liguria's hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_agva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed here for one night in September, 2009. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was ok in that it was fairly simple but clean and more than fine for the one night. Our room and some of the hotel's open spaces felt a little dated but others could argue that it had charm. We didn't eat here so can't judge that but we did have breakfast which was "ok".

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews