We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Hotel Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Santa Maria
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient location in the vicinity of the city center right on the beach. The staff are all lovely and make you feel at home. I would recommend this property for all kind of travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are nicer and if you ask, the staff will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 9 days at this hotel. Arrived and found we did not have a balcony or sea view. Not the hotels fault as I hadn't requested. When I asked if there was a balcony view available was told not for that night, but they could accommodate us the following day. And they were true to their word. We left our suitcases and visited family. On our return we were given our new room key and I must say it was well worth it. The view was lovely.

The hotel backs onto the local railway station and I can imagine the rooms at the back may be affected by some noise throughout the day, but night time was ok. We only spent one night in our room and I can say it didn't affect us or prevent us from sleeping.

Our booking did not include breakfast, but at an additional 5 Euros per person, we had breakfast every morning. There was a good selection of local fare as well as fruit, yogurts etc for those thinking about their weight. Service was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Because we were visiting family we didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but it appeared to be always busy. We were also advised that there was also a special concession for those wishing to use the beaches opposite the hotel.

I would definitely go back. The hotel is in a good location close to the train station, beach and the local town centre of Chiavari.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel that don't back onto the rail way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here while on a motorcycle trip through Germany, Austria, Italy and Switzerland, August 2012. Very nice, clean hotel, well appointed rooms, private secured parking. We paid a little extra for a "room with a view". The staff were very friendly and were very pleased that we spoke " un po Italiano" (a little) and they all spoke English. Wish we could have stayed longer as the surrounding area was very picturesque, nice boardwalk along the beach with many nice restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a view!! Mediterranean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOACJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were tired from the flight and just wanted a decent place on the shore for a night, so this did nicely. The staff was great and the rooms adequate. Parking was convenient enough. The shore is busy and crowded - this isn't a natural location. Chiavari was very pleasant to walk around and we found some nice places to eat within 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: It's on a busy road and the windows are of an older style, so you can't avoid all the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rstev3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Looking last minute and still found a wonderful hotel across from beach. Delightful garden area for meals. Friendly staff. Locked area to park...extra charge, but worth it. Shops are close and carry a wide variety of merchandise. Felt totally safe wandering area alone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quaintvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After reading reviews on this site I thought I would try this hotel. Like many on arrival the hotel seems nice, maybe I was unlucky but that's where it seemed t go wrong. The hotel is very clean and staff seem attentive but many things are not good. The Internet didnt work if you walked ten feet either side of the reception, our room, of you can call it that, was very small with two single beds when a double was booked.
After accepting I had no Internet I sat to watch nothing but Italian tv, I appreciate its Italy but you normally find one English station, after checking some 400 channels, nothing. Then joy of joy the trains started flying past, this went on until I fell asleep around 1 am but may have carried on qthrough the nite.....the track was about 100 yards away right along the length of the hotel, in addition our room was right next to the lift so we also got this traffic through the night.
Parking......is available but its public paid for and was 50 cents an hour, and basically on the Main Street, so your looking at €5 a night at least depending on when you arrive.
We tried t get a coke from the small bar attached to the hotel but were told they had no coke, we decided to walk Into town and find a supermarket, it was cheaper anyway.
Breakfast was very nice and the waiter and waitress were very attentive and helpful so top marks to them and the resturant.
Overall, clean and tidy but on site services let it down and the train is a big negative as the sound is deafening. Staff were good overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, it may save u from the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The location of the hotel is great as it's only a short walk from the station and it's right in front of the beach. The receptionist very kindly gave us a room with a sea view even though we were on a Smartbox weekend. If you're looking for luxury, then you won't find it here, but the rooms had everything you could want including a mini bar, safe, air conditioning and ceiling fan for the hot months. It was very quiet in April but I imagine it's a lot noisier in the summer as the beach in front of the hotel is lined with bathing establishments (this is handy, of course, if you actually want to use them!) We had a delicious meal of fresh fish and the breakfast was the usual buffet fare but with a bonus of home-baked cake too. The staff were all very friendly. There is also a little garden area and a roof terrace for sunbathing and from where you have a great view of the area. Being near the station is a definite bonus as there are so many beautiful places to visit in this area - you are really spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea so you aren't disturbed by the trains going past on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakewithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavari
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferrari
Hotel Ferrari
#4 of 8 in Chiavari
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Monte Rosa
#1 of 8 in Chiavari
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#8 of 8 in Chiavari
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella del Mare
Hotel Stella del Mare
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#1 of 16 in Lavagna
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#4 of 16 in Lavagna
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Maria

Address: Viale Tito Groppo 29, 16043 Chiavari, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Chiavari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Price Range: £33 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Maria, facing the sea of the splendid Gulf of Tigullio, is a short walk from the Chiavari historic center. Managed directly by the owners, the facilities include a quaint garden and a large panormic terrace and solarium. The restaurant serves local favorities, prepared with genuine ingredients brought everyday. The high quality services offered surely places the hotel at a higher level than the official rating.L'Albergo Santa Maria, affacciato sul mare dello splendido Golfo del Tigullio, a due passi dal certo storico di Chiavari. Gestita direttamente dalla proprietà, la struttura dispone di un grazioso giardino e di una grande terrazza panoramica/solarium. Il ristorante propone piatti della tradizione locale, preparati con ingredienti genuini, acquistati freschi ogni giorno. L'alta qualità dei servizi offerti colloca l'albergo sicuramente al di sopra della sua classificazione ufficiale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing