We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ferrari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ferrari
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed recently at the Hotel Ferrari and only regretted we didn't stay longer. As a base to explore the coast to the north and Cinque Terre to the south it is perfectly situated. And Chiavari is a refreshingly relaxed alternative to many of the other towns on the coast - elegantly arcaded streets and old town and a very attractive, spotlessly clean promenade that was never crowded even in August. The rooms are very generous in size, well decorated and comfortable. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The breakfast was not the largest we've ever had but perfectly OK. The only minus points were the noise of the traffic and railway and the lack of a refrigerator in the room. The plus points more than make up for this though. A pity we moved on - as we later had a pretty bad experience in La Spezia - we considered returning but there were no longer any rooms available.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanicusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    91
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
74
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband, myself, our 18 year-old daughter and her best friend stayed at the Hotel Ferrari the end of July 2011. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The staff are amazing, really friendly and helpful.
The rooms are great and not too noisy at all, even at the front - good size and very clean with fridges for cold drinks and you can order tea & coffee 24 hours to take to your room.
Breakfast is continental but lots of choice of cereals/bread/cheese/ham/fruit etc.
There is no lift unfortunately so you have to carry your cases up stairs - again the staff are willing to help with them though so it wasn't a problem.
The location is also fab, the shopping streets/centre of town only a couple of blocks back from the hotel and the station is just 5 minutes walk.
Definitely a good choice for a few nights, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
441 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

After visiting the charming town of Chiavari for the day, a year ago; my wife and I had always planned to return. We booked the Ferrari on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to find but has no dedicated parking. The upside of this is, that after dropping off our luggage, I was directed to some free parking and free is always good in my book.
All the rooms seem to be located on the first floor and there is no elevator, so that’s something to be mindful of. Our room was very spacious and very well appointed for a 3* hotel. The décor, fixtures and fittings were very modern and stylish. The beds looked the part but in truth, were not the most comfortable I have ever slept on, being far too soft for my taste. There was a TV, (which we didn’t turn on), and there was free wi-fi. On our Italian Riviera trip last year, the hotel in Santa Margherita was asking €10…an hour!
We didn’t eat at the hotel, (we were always rushing out), so cannot comment on the quality.
The staff were wonderfully friendly and informative, so much so that I feel a pang of guilt pointing out the following. Whilst the hotel does everything in its power to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as it can, there is one thing it cannot do anything about, noise from its environs. The hotel is easy to find by nature of its location on one of Chiavari’s busier streets thus, quite a lot of traffic noise. If you are travelling to Chiavari by rail, the hotel is only a short walk from the rail station. By the same token, the railway line is also very close and the low rumble of the passing trains is only too evident. Please don’t get me wrong, you are never woken with a start or kept awake by the constant roar of traffic and trains but they are audible and I would be less than honest were I not to mention it. On the other hand its location, (close to the historic centre and seafront), plus all the shops and amenities within easy reach, allied to the natural easy-going charm and friendliness of the staff, makes this hotel one to recommend, if you're not too bothered by a bit of noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We wanted to visit Cinque Terre but since we had a car we could avoid paying the very high prices there and be close by. We chose this hotel because it was just off the highway and had a train station 3 blocks away across the street.
Train took only 1 hour to Cinque Terre and was inexpensive.
Hotel is quite ordinary but not expensive... the town is a small town on the Mediterreanean coast. There is a board walk that is nice and some beaches (typicaly flat stone beaches but water is very clear) nearby.
The board walk has some interesting restaurants and we by chance spotted one with a very nice terrace in front with outstanding food at very reasonable prices. Service is super, friendly and warm. Food was delicious from seafoods, fish, pizza, pasta, meats etc. We went there 2 nights in a row... you will need a reservation if you want to sit on the terrace but if you do not mind sitting inside the resto which is quite nice there should be no problem... there was a lineup at the door each night! I forget the name but look for the pink table clothes...well worth it.
Hotel has breakfast included which is nice but not special.
Hotel is close to highways but when they advertise parking nearby... well there is some and it is free but it is a good walk away and not the safest place if you have a fancy car.
Staff is very nice, we wanted to change rooms because rooms to the street are a bit noisy and they changed it immediately.
24 hour reception at the door and they take the time to find out train schedules etc. for you. So you need a place to stop for a night to visit Cinque Terre (which you must visit on foot from town to town to get the amazing views, if you take the local town trains, you will miss it all!).
So this hotel is nice but nothing special and friendly staff in a town not known as a tourist attraction but some very good food in on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed in family room for 1 night. Modern and comfortable. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. town centre so traffic noise . Close to beachfront. limited parking in side street.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

We chose the hotel for it's proximity to Cinque Terre and Portofino. The free parking and breakfast were great. In the 3 days we were there we didn't use our car at all. Instead we took the train and the station was a short walk from the hotel. Our room was quite large with a balcony over the busy, noisy street. We had to close the balcony doors for sleeping. The bathroom was beautiful, but the shower was really tiny. We walked all over the town and loved it there. Stumbled on a wonderful restaurant, Albergo Miramar, our first night. Ended up back there again for our last night. Pasta dishes 5-7 euros and a kind of salad bar called "self service" for 3.50 euros. Also went to Claudios pizzaria, close to the hotel one night when we got back late. A wonderful experience overall, although the Cinque Terre was a disappointment. Too crowded to really enjoy it.

  • Liked — Location and very friendly staff, especially Alassandro
  • Disliked — Noisy street forced us to close our only window
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippinAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavari
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Rosa
Hotel Monte Rosa
#1 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella del Mare
Hotel Stella del Mare
#3 of 8 in Chiavari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#7 of 8 in Chiavari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#3 of 17 in Lavagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferrari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferrari

Property: Hotel Ferrari
Address: Corso Vincenzo de Michiel 57, 16043 Chiavari, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Chiavari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ferrari 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ferrari is in the heart of Chiavari, in a central position of Italian Ligurian Riviera, named Tigullio Gulf. Strategic starting point for the excursions between the rinomated Portofino, the marvellous Cinque Terre, Genoa and its famous Acquario (the aquarium) and the fabulous and characteristic small cities of Sestri Levante, Santa Margherita Ligure and Camogli - San Fruttuoso. Hotel Ferrari is located in a rich of historical attractions place. The most known? The famous "portici neri" (historical architectural black stone arcades) and the natural Park of Val D'aveto. Close to the sea, in the city center, is a few steps from Chiavari Railway Station. Hotel Ferrari is also close to attractions which are particularly appreciated by family groups with children and/or young people, such as the Indian Forest Adventure Park of Oasi Belpiano, near Borzonasca, and the nature trails of the Regional Park of Portofino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ferrari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari Hotel Chiavari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing