We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the easiest ski holiday you could ever have”
Review of Hotel Palu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiesa In Valmalenco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palu
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I've been to Hotel Palu every other year for a decade and can thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the village and the slopes are reached with ease and speed via the hotel shuttle bus.

it's badged as a 2* hotel, but my experience tells me it should be a 3* based on cost vs quality ratio (high quality, low cost).

the food is plentiful and of a decent standard with plenty of variety.

dont be fooled by the distance to the slopes, it really isnt an issue - William, the hotel owner, will drop and pick you up right by the main cable car.

the slopes are not like Val D'Isere, but they are very pretty and offer a good range of skiing for a long weekend or a lazy week. the on slope restaurants and cafes are splendid - the food is awesome and the cost is more than half that in France (perfect for a 2 hour lunch).

write to me if you want more info, it will all be positive...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_Will_i_ams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

This will be our 15th year to the Palu and we went three times in 2010 with friends and family.
What a great location - all of the snow tends to be on the mountain not in the unspoilt and ultra friendly village.
William has always been a fantastic host and we keep coming back because its got great amenities - squash court, sauna, fitness room, table tennis, pool table etc etc - and its fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richchap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We (a team of three snowboarders, a father and the coach) stayed four nights in Hotel Palu in Chiesa in Valmalenco, in the North of Italy. The stay was connected to FIS Junior World Championships in snowboarding. The hotel was located in the centre of the village on the main street. It was easy to reach both by car and by bus (from Sondrio with train connection to Milan). Parking and driving is difficult in these small villages but we managed. The hotel had two parking places of its own, one in the front and another one in the backyard. The one in the backyard was quite concise but we managed to park even there (but some other people had severe problems as the place was so narrow and tight). The rooms were rather worn out and the walls were thin (not soundproof). I assume that there might be some problem with heating in winter time as the windows and the balcony doors looked poorly isolated. At this time of the year (end of March) there was, however, no problem at all. The very best was the easy-going staff. Especially, the people in the reception spoke fluent English and were extremely helpful with all the practical problems/questions we faced during the stay. The breakfast was ok and the dinner nice with delicious Italian desserts.

Room Tip: Rooms in the backside with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AriFinlandLapland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank eglisebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze verso valle secondo me sono le migliori
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiesa In Valmalenco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tremoggia
Hotel Tremoggia
#1 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Roseg
Hotel Roseg
#4 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Lanterna
Hotel La Lanterna
#6 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#9 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sasso Nero
Sasso Nero
#2 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meuble La Betulla
Meuble La Betulla
#5 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palu

Address: Via Roma 22, 23023, Chiesa In Valmalenco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Chiesa In Valmalenco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chiesa In Valmalenco
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing