We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Taverna di Mamma Luisa - CLOSED

La Taverna di Mamma Luisa
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
302 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good local cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel. The food is simple, yet good. The atmosphere is fine, but the service could be a little better. But then again, fine dining in the historical center of Chieti is not something that I think exists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    78
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“buonissimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

great restaurant, great people and amazing food especially for meet lovers. the restaurant is a very nice and warm little place...
Have Fun

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mamas home cooked food from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A tiny restaurant in a side street. Surprised when we asked for a table for 2 they asked us to wait although the place was almost empty. We soon realised that all of the tables were reserved and soon the place was full. Great food good service and a nice price. We left a good tip. Would be great to find more places like this and not the usual tourist versions of what people believe Italian food to be like. Justa lika mamas food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Speakerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow. Don't go anywhere else.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My fiancée and I were just Passig through and wanted a quick bite, did a quick search and just went to the no. 1 on trip adviser. What a great find: food was spectacular food small local place and service all amazing. Wanted to go back for lunch the next day but had to keep driving on our trip. Recommend to all. Also, nice to see chef was a friendly, v welcoming guy.

Helpful?
Thank bouvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

My wife and I were out walking the city and looking for place to eat. As is the case in Italy most places don't open until 1930 or later. We poked our head in the door and the chef was working at the reception desk and we asked in poor Italian if they were open. They were even though it was 1920. Waiter spoke limited English but we managed to order and have a fine meal. The restaurant must be good because it got crowded with locals after 2015. Not a big sign but you can find it with the 3 lights on the outside above the windows.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna di Mamma Luisa also viewed

Chieti, Province of Chieti
Chieti, Province of Chieti
 
Chieti, Province of Chieti
Chieti, Province of Chieti
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing