We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Albergo Abruzzo
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chieti
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have spent a number of weeks in this hotel over the last 4 years. It is simple, eclectic and very clean. The staff are always on hand to help out with any problems. If you want a slick modern generic chain hotel then this is not for you. If you want a taste of real Italy then my advice is to give it a go.

Room Tip: For the views and a quiet night ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights in August 2009, with my husband
Style: the hotel is a 70s building with no attraction at all on the exterior. The hall gives you the impression of being crowded by furniture, and plants. There is a big terrace on the valley, but it is full of plants. Every lobby in the hotel is populated by plants: mostly cactus, it seems more a plant nursery than a hotel.
Location: in the downtown of Chieti. Just few minutes walking from the cathedral and corso Marrucino.
Rooms: my room was on the first floor. It was very small, and poorly furnished. The bathroom was a bit small and probably needed a refurbishment. The hotel is not bad, but I would rate it two stars.
Food: Poor breakfast: few yogurts, poor choice of croissants and drinks. Definitely the worst thing..
Staff: kind.
The good: location
The bad: food
Price: We paid € 95 bed and breakfast. The garage was € 15 a day but we had a discount of €5.
Final comments: I would probably go back, but because there are no alternatives in Chieti’s downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2006

This hotel is on a main street in Chieti. The lobby is full of artificial flowers, a little tacky, but past the lobby the owner has so many real plants ands greenery, one thinks he is in a nursery. The variety is wonderful, and the plants add a homeyness. When entering the hotel, there is a window the length of the lobby with a view of the valley. It definitely takes your mind away from fake flowers. The rooms are modest but clean and have everything one needs. We were a group of seven cousins, there to visit family. One set of rooms was a suite - bathroom between 2 small bedrooms, but each room had doors to a patio where one could sit and eat or just enjoy the scenery of Chieti Scalo below and in the distance were the mountains. They went out of their way to accomodate us for dinner, which was delicious and prompt, considering how many things we kept adding. It is conveniently located within walking distance to anything one might want to see in this city. We all enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gualtiero-Shito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chiedete una stanza con vista sulla valle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandrodatrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consuelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank RomondoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieti
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Parco Paglia
1.4 mi away
Nuovo Albergo
Nuovo Albergo
#3 of 12 in Chieti
158 reviews
1 mi away
Harri's Hotel Chieti
Harri's Hotel Chieti
#5 of 12 in Chieti
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Iacone
Hotel Iacone
#2 of 12 in Chieti
150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Degli Amici
Albergo Degli Amici
#6 of 12 in Chieti
82 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Anxanum
Hotel Anxanum
#1 of 2 in Lanciano
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Abruzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Abruzzo

Address: Via Asinio Herio 20, 66100 Chieti, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Chieti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Chieti
Price Range: £40 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Albergo Abruzzo 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Abruzzo in Chieti. LOCATION : The Grand Hotel Abruzzo, located in the center of Chieti, ancient Roman city of Teate, quaint town in Abruzzo, overlooking a wide valley crowned by the most beautiful mountains of Abruzzo, from here you can admire the beautiful sunsets and views of the valley of the Pescara river. A few minutes away are six archaeological museums, art, biomedical sciences, three of these are in FREE ENTRY, old churches and ruins of Roman buildings. The beach is 20 minutes away by car, and to get to the National Park of Abruzzo takes an hour. A cozy environment with all the amenities, the staff trained and ready to meet your needs at any time, making your stay in Chieti relaxing and enjoyable. RECEPTION is open 24 hours on 24, photocopy and fax services. MEETING ROOM : The hotel has conference rooms for up to 200 seats, and a large parking garage.. ROOMS : The comfortable rooms are all equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer, telephone with outside line, TV with 16 satellite channels in 6 languages and free wifi internet. BREAKFAST: A buffet GROUPS : Conventions lunch or dinner, accommodation and breakfast, half board or full board. TOURS : RESTAURANT PIZZERIA AKILEAS : The restaurant attached to the hotel Akileas, refined and elegant, is able to offer guests a very wide array of cuisine: from tasty sauces typical regional specialties with truffles, with exceptional grilled meat and fish delicacies of the international cuisine. Everything is sprinkled with superb wines, regional wines, domestic and foreign. In the evening the restaurant is also Akileas Pizzeria - wood oven and the traditional method allow you to really enjoy a pizza speciale.Inoltre the roof terrace, flowery and romantic, awaits you for unforgettable dinners in the moonlight. Come and visit the welcome, the hospitality and love of beauty makes us a safe destination for travelers !!! GOURMET TOURS : Tours menu 'custom tasting flavors and recipes of classic dishes from Abruzzo and Italian samples of kebabs on the grill, cace e ova, oils, olives, bruschetta, cheese pecorino cheeses and wines Trebbiano, Cococciola, cheese and Montepulciano, the all to be spread over several days. For tour reservations enogastronmici is Mandatory, menu to be agreed. Takeaway: On request we prepare menu ', dishes and pizzas to take away. CONVENTIONS: For all the necessities and contingencies, for the restaurant, pizzeria, extended stay for study or work, gruupi and pilgrims. INTERNET WiFi : Free in all areas of the hotel, restaurant and pizzeria. PARKING : Free for cars, vans and pickup trucks. GARAGE : Paying for cars and vans, it's FREE for motorcycles and bicycles. BAR : Open to all during working hours and for clients of the hotel is open 24 hours. PETS : We welcome and nothing is due for their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo Abruzzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Chieti
Chieti Minotel
Grande Albergo Abruzzo Chieti, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing