We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We (couple with baby) spend 2 nights at the Hotel and cqan highly recommend it. Despite booking a double room with baby cot (without additional charge), they gave us a tripple room. The Service was great without fail, the recommendation for restaurants etc very good - in fact, the best pizza we had during our holiday. Our rooms waws clean, very spacious and quite. This family room is at the lower ground floor with an outside seating area, so ideal for mum and dad to sit outside while the kids are in bed already. The breakfast selection is fantastic, very tasty and we enjoyed being able to eat in the garden. The free beach is 5 minutes walk away as well as a cute little town.
We would definitly stay there again and can recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked a "no frills" room because it was all that was available - no air conditioning, but they do provide fans. It was unbearably hot in most of Italy, but it was pleasant at this beach location and the room was very comfortable even w/o the a/c. True to its description, the room was a "no frills" accommodation, a bit on the small side with a tiny bathroom, but it was bright (despite its lower-level location), clean and completely adequate - there was even a mini-fridge stocked with water. It is just a short walk to the beaches - free or for-a-fee, your choice - and the hotel provides beach towels for your use. The hotel itself is pleasant, with a pleasant dining area and courtyard where one can sit and enjoy a drink or breakfast. The breakfast spread (included) was the best we saw in Italy, with the most variety, and this was the least expensive hotel we stayed in. There was a variety of fruits, egg, meats, cheese, yogurts, cereals, pastries, and breakfast beverages, all fresh and far too tempting. Best of all, the owners/staff were the brightest part of our stay - personable and anxious to be accommodating (and everyone we encountered spoke English very well). If we were to be in this area again, we would not look at other hotels and would have no hesitation about staying in a "no frills" room. (We didn't see any of the other rooms so can't comment on them.) There was a little (very little) "traffic" noise at this lower level (comings and goings), and we rated the cleanliness merely "very good" because it was hard to keep the sand out of our room after coming back from the beach. The location is close to Pisa, Lucca, Pietrasanta, Forte dei Marmi, Cinqueterra, Carrarra... but we just hung out at the beach!

Room Tip: No frills rooms - just the basics, but clean and adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infrequenttraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at Hotel Storyville, and were most impressed by the service and hospitality of Valentina and Nicola. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection was comprehensive and very fresh and tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a pleasant stay in a pleasant part of the Tuscan coast. Also - received a recommendation from Nic for dinner at a restarant in the mountains (30min drive) and this was probably one of the best experiences of our entire holiday in Northern Italy!

Room Tip: Recommend room 16 on the ground foor - no stairs and a good size compared so some of the others that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here in May 2012, a couple - We had a lovely stay. Room wassimple but clean - the bathroom could have done with updating but it was fine - all clean and worked. The bedroom and tv were comfortable - not glamourous but good enought for a watch of TV and a night in but all in all it was a pleasant room with a view over the gardens.. the hotel gardens are lovley and the breakfast was good. The hotel is in a nice quiet district which is a close promimity to beach - about 7 mins easy flat pleasant walk, and in lovely area next to a canal and near to a few little restaurants and cafes and deli's... The hotel rents out bikes at 7euro a day - and the bikes are great! we cycled into forte dei marmi - about 8 mins easy cycle ride - Forte dei marmi area is lovley to cycle around - flat - sunshine and makes you feel young and free again! The staff were lovley here ! they are characters and smile and are nice to us everytime we ask yet another tourist question...! free parking, and nice sitting under the trees in lovley gardens. The reception and breakfast room are modernly decorated with a nice style... Excellent value for money.. So good we are returning with 10 of us in September! Bedrooms 3 star / but overall experience there is 4star.. happy place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in Storyville for 3 nights and made it our base for exploring the area. It's location is perfect, near Pisa, Carrara quarries, Pietrasanta, very near the beach and town. While the room was small, it was clean and well cared for. The bathroom was a bit of an adventure being on the small side, but again clean and hot/cold water.
The gardens are sweet with the smells of jasmine, it made for a pleasant place for a glass of wine in the evening. The couple who run the place speak English well and are friendly and customer service oriented. The breakfast offered is extensive from hardboiled eggs, to pastries, to meats and cold milk (a treat). I wish we had spent more time there and will be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main buiding and separate, we liked the bungalow. Parking can be a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkcwetzsteon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My friend and I staied here 11-19 of June 2012. We had the room number 20 (very nice room, though not so big) on the last floor. Thanks a lot to very kind and friendly staff (Valentina and Nicola) of this very nice hotel! We liked everything ;) The staff and local citizens speak English. Cinuale is the small village near Forte dei Marmi (30-40 min on foot to the center of Forte dei Marmi (where are a lot of shops and restaurants)). Very good location to the beatch, some restaurants, pizzerias, a small food shop, gelaterie. Very tasty breakfast and very wide choice of food. Very beautiful garden around the hotel. Free parking. Clean room (was cleaned every day), hotel, territory around the hotel. Free beatch - 7 min by foot (sand, clean, good enter in the water (also for children). But the beatch to so big, though in the middle of June was not crowded. A lot of trees, pines, flowers around the hotel and along the streets near it and along the seaside. You can rent bicycles (about 5 Euro per day). There is the river near the hotel. And you can to walk or run along and have the possibility to see the realy nice italian villages and will be very close to the mountains. The sea water was about 19 degrees, but when the air temperature is very high.. it's ok. We had air condition but did not use it.
We would like to come here again.. and i think it's the best mark for the hotel))

It was very-very noisy some nights because of disco (till morning), far from railway station Forte dei Marmi - 10-15 min by car (20 Euro) (but we know it, it was not a problem for us); no possibility to have a dinner at the hotel, not so good wi-fi connection in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little bit different (we saw some rooms so we had the possibility to choose the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The staff of the hotel is very pleasant and helpful. Rooms are clean. We had a problem with wi-fi in a room that was a little bit far from main lobby (we had 2 rooms). But the main problem is shower which is on a naked floor. Which i think is absolutely unacceptable for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niceman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cinquale
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Undulna Terme della Versilia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nedy
Hotel Nedy
#18 of 38 in Marina di Massa
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eco del Mare
Hotel Eco del Mare
#1 of 38 in Marina di Massa
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 6 in Cinquale
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#3 of 7 in Cinquale
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Coralia bed & breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Cinquale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Price Range: £42 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storyville Hotel Cinquale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing