We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The breakfast buffet was great! The staff was friendly & very helpful. Rooms are very small. Our room on the bottom floor had a bad smell and the bed was very uncomfortable. The beach was not that great either.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

I just stayed at the hotel with my husband and 2 small children (1 and 4). The hotel is a nice three star with average rooms that were clean and comfortable - including great A/C. The breakfast was very good and with lots on the buffet - better than 3 star - I've stayed at lots of 4* hotels with worse breakfast. The garden area in front is very charming and we stay there one evening with our children and had an aperitivo with friends. The hotel staff was very accommodating - excellent service and friendly people. We found this place last minute and it turned out to be a nicer experience than expected. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelhappytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Storyville. The place was perfect for our 4-night stay: good-sized rooms, small, but clean bathrooms, air-conditioning, TV (though if you're here, you should not be watching Tv... ), small fridge. The continental breakfast was always plentiful and yummy, the hosts were attentive and nice.
Ask them to recommend a restaurant, and my oh my, make sure you have enough room for a full italian seafood dinner. (Perché no is the restaurant's name)

Things that need improvement:
-gluten free, lactose free options for breakfast
-have panettone for breakfast every day
-do something against mosquitoes!

Room Tip: If you have the option, choose room #7. Its not in the main building, so you get your own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were initially swayed by the rave reviews we read, we thought we had found a gem. Little did we know what was to come. The hosts were very welcoming and were warm. We were a mite disappointed with the fact that there were no lifts available, I dont climb stairs too well. We were then accommodated on the 'ground floor' (actually first floor) from the car park level, street level at reception. The room (12) is ridiculously small, I was crabbing around the bed, there were no drawers or shelves just 2 wardrobe boxes, 1 either side of the bed which were some 400mm 16" wide each, we had 4 pieces of luggage and were forced to live out of the suitcases. We also had to take our valuables with us as there was no safe in the room. The 'on suite' if you can call it that, was so small, that to get into the toilet was an ordeal in itself. The gap we had to squeeze through was no more than 200mm 8" between the sink and the door jamb you still had to 'crab' to get to the W/C. Not to put to fine a point on it, when you need to sit on the toilet there is barely enough room to get your knees in! It has a 'wet room' shower, we flooded the tiny room (whole W/C area) as there was insufficient/blocked drainage. We had no A/C so had to keep the window open, it opens like patio doors, well it almost overhangs the bed and left a nice bruise on my back when I hit it accidently forgetting to close it before I got out of bed. We wont mention the loose floor tiles and no rugs, so you are walking on bare tiles. The television is absolute tripe with the only english speaking stations are BBC global and CNBC/Fox, great if you want 24 hours of repeating news! The walls are so thin and acoustics so good (that will be because it lacks rugs) that you can hear everything that is happening on the whole floor! Well we moved onto the breakfast, seriously I walked into the dining room had 1 look and walked right out of there. I dont know who wrote the review that said the breakfast would set you up for the day it was that wonderful, cuz it sure as hell didn't match what I saw. If you like choccy brioch and 2 types of cheese, cheapest ham and bread. Then its wonderful! Yes I do know about 'continental breakfast' I am Italian!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We (couple with baby) spend 2 nights at the Hotel and cqan highly recommend it. Despite booking a double room with baby cot (without additional charge), they gave us a tripple room. The Service was great without fail, the recommendation for restaurants etc very good - in fact, the best pizza we had during our holiday. Our rooms waws clean, very spacious and quite. This family room is at the lower ground floor with an outside seating area, so ideal for mum and dad to sit outside while the kids are in bed already. The breakfast selection is fantastic, very tasty and we enjoyed being able to eat in the garden. The free beach is 5 minutes walk away as well as a cute little town.
We would definitly stay there again and can recommend the hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked a "no frills" room because it was all that was available - no air conditioning, but they do provide fans. It was unbearably hot in most of Italy, but it was pleasant at this beach location and the room was very comfortable even w/o the a/c. True to its description, the room was a "no frills" accommodation, a bit on the small side with a tiny bathroom, but it was bright (despite its lower-level location), clean and completely adequate - there was even a mini-fridge stocked with water. It is just a short walk to the beaches - free or for-a-fee, your choice - and the hotel provides beach towels for your use. The hotel itself is pleasant, with a pleasant dining area and courtyard where one can sit and enjoy a drink or breakfast. The breakfast spread (included) was the best we saw in Italy, with the most variety, and this was the least expensive hotel we stayed in. There was a variety of fruits, egg, meats, cheese, yogurts, cereals, pastries, and breakfast beverages, all fresh and far too tempting. Best of all, the owners/staff were the brightest part of our stay - personable and anxious to be accommodating (and everyone we encountered spoke English very well). If we were to be in this area again, we would not look at other hotels and would have no hesitation about staying in a "no frills" room. (We didn't see any of the other rooms so can't comment on them.) There was a little (very little) "traffic" noise at this lower level (comings and goings), and we rated the cleanliness merely "very good" because it was hard to keep the sand out of our room after coming back from the beach. The location is close to Pisa, Lucca, Pietrasanta, Forte dei Marmi, Cinqueterra, Carrarra... but we just hung out at the beach!

Room Tip: No frills rooms - just the basics, but clean and adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infrequenttraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at Hotel Storyville, and were most impressed by the service and hospitality of Valentina and Nicola. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection was comprehensive and very fresh and tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a pleasant stay in a pleasant part of the Tuscan coast. Also - received a recommendation from Nic for dinner at a restarant in the mountains (30min drive) and this was probably one of the best experiences of our entire holiday in Northern Italy!

Room Tip: Recommend room 16 on the ground foor - no stairs and a good size compared so some of the others that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cinquale
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Undulna Terme della Versilia
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nedy
Hotel Nedy
#18 of 38 in Marina di Massa
131 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eco del Mare
Hotel Eco del Mare
#1 of 38 in Marina di Massa
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 6 in Cinquale
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#3 of 7 in Cinquale
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Coralia bed & breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Address: Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Cinquale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Price Range: £42 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storyville Hotel Cinquale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing