We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre-cruise hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #13 of 39 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good pre-cruise hotel”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in the Miramare for 2 nights before our cruise on the Celebrity Equinox. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the station and close to a handful of restaurants and bars. The reception, lounge and hallways are a bit tired and as previously mentioned the hall lights on floors 2 and 3 dont work. Room 23, on the second floor was clean, large, bright and reasonably well furnished with a wardrobe, table and chairs and a fridge. The queen size bed was firm and you could watch the small flatscreen tv from there. There are over 500 channels, all in the Italian language on the tv. There is a clean shower room with it's own window.
The great bonus of this room is that the french windows open onto a small balcony and you have great sea views. There is an air conditioning unit and all the windows are double glazed. This is a bonus at the weekends as the promenade outside is lively and noisy. There is also a safe in the wardrobe.
The breakfasts are fairly basic but the coffees from the machine are first class. The reception is manned 24 hours a day and the staff are helpful and friendly. They insist you leave your hotel key at reception but will look after your bags after the 10am checkout. They will also arrange a taxi to transfer you to the port. This is important as our ship was docked a couple of miles from the hotel. The taxi cost 5 euros per person and dropped us yards from the cruise checkin.
We dined in the hotel restaurant with friends on one evening. There are inside and outside tables. The menus is mainly fish and pastas and the food and wine were reasonably priced. Some dishes were good and others disappointed.
Overall this a clean well located 3 star hotel which is ideal for 1 or 2 nights pre cruise accommodation at a fair price.

Room Tip: Room 23 is large and has great views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    93
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
106
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Chose this property based on the good reviews. Spent 2 nights prior to our 9/2 cruise. Positives include: good location, friendly staff, spacious room, clean, very nice view, comfortable bed, good A/C, great cappucino, fair price. Negatives: Wireless didn't work at all, not enough hot water for 2 showers, hallway completely dark (difficult to find keyhole to unlock door), disappointing selection for breakfast, ceiling light fixture rattled when people above us walked across the floor. Would try a different place next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If it wasn't for the view, I would rate this property a fair to good! We stayed 2 nites prior to our September 2012 cruise. The staff are friendly, the room itself with the lights on is very dim, the mattresses were lovely if you like firm, the hotel itself is alittle tired looking yet very clean! This is my 3 time in Italy in 4 years. The breakfast was not great, the only reasonably healthy item was yogurt - it was full of carbs, 1 type of cheese and the ham was the cheaper pressed variety - no fresh fruit, if compared to the B&B we stay at in Rome for cheaper. The capuccino however was to die for and breakfast is finished at 9;30am, you have to leave your key with the front desk everytime you leave the property. It is located infront of a pedestrian boardwalk where the people congregate from about 10pm to 12:30-1am, so it's difficult to just relax, leave your window open and listen to the waves until well after 1am, but after that and in the morning it's heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mykonoslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Overlooking the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade, our extremely large corner room was furnished comfortably. Everything was clean. (Be sure to ask how to operate the airconditioning!)
Food at the restaurant is good and reasonable; not exactly Michelin stars, but very handy to eat downstairs with breakfast included.
It's withing walking distance of the port....Possible on a day with temperatures below 80 degrees.

Room Tip: Book ahead. Top floor corner room with full ocean view is large and has great ventilation and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacificpika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband and I booked a room here at the last minute for the night before our cruise. We were given a room facing the ocean. The windows are small but the view is beautiful. The room was extremely large, especially for European standards. The furnishings were plain, not elegant but very clean and comfortable. The best parts of the inn are the personnel, especially Gianni (the morning desk clerk that arranged our departure and transportation to the port....Thanks, Gianni - I told you I would remember your name!) and the restaurant attached to the hotel. We were traveling Europe for three weeks prior to our departure on the cruise, and quite frankly - it was the probably the best meal we had during our travels. And believe me....we tried everything from local mom and pop restaurants to highly rated luxury restaurants. As a Louisiana native, I am spoiled by excellent seafood and well-seasoned food, something we found lacking everywhere except this restaurant. Extremely busy but well worth the wait! Another highlight of the hotel is it's location on the "boardwalk" where the locals stroll and dine in the evening. We enjoyed watching the residents enjoy a beautiful Friday evening with family and friends. Although strangers, we felt a part of the community for the night. It was a unique experience that we will always remember. Very close to the railway station (a five minute walk) and a very easy taxi ride to the Port. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here on 27th July as part of a group of 10 friends embarking on a cruise the following day, and it was a great choice. Rooms were spotlessly clean, with wonderful sea views. Gianni made us most welcome, he has a great sense of humour and responded very well to the banter from a group of mostly middleaged Irish people having some fun. We got great advice about where to eat and help with organising taxis to our ship the next morning. Gianni also proved himself a good photographer when taking photos of the group before we set off on our cruise. Breakfast was simple but plentiful, and the lady serving it was really friendly. We had just wanted somewhere to lay our heads the night before our cruise, but ended up really enjoying this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 prior to sailing on a 12 day RCCL cruise. The rooms are high ceilinged with shuttered windows and excellent air handling. The bedding is comfortable and the bath is complete. Caution very high step into shower.

Coming from the RR station exit to the right and down the longish stairway. As you come out of the station the hotel is actually to your left but that way is fenced off. It's a modest hike to the hotel or a short 8 euro taxi ride. Ask First.

Hotel staff is most helpful with free WIFI and arranging reasonable taxi transfer to Pier. Taxi will take you right to your ship.

Breakfast is a little under done but you can live with that.

Front entrance needs to be swept more often. Not done once the 3 days we were there so we looked at Camilla the Cat instead. She manages the front entrance sitting area quite nicely thank you.

Check out is 10:30 AM. Don't fret about overstaying as the room attendant is right there to collect your key at 10:30 AM.

Overall a satisfying stay...do stay more than one night..it is well worth your time and the office will keep. Promise.

HMGT

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies...ask for seaside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#9 of 10 in Civitavecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alibrandi Palace
Alibrandi Palace
#6 of 39 in Civitavecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing