We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent good hotel!”
Review of Hotel Traghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Traghetto
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore Alberta Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent good hotel!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great spacious room with balcony overlooking the Mediterranian. Very clean, friendly staff, great breakfast, close to cruise port and walking distance to all points of interest. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curi0ust00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    120
    52
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
177
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is not a fancy hotel so if that is what you are looking for, this is not for you. But we wanted a clean, basic, reasonably priced hotel for one night prior to a cruise and it was perfect for us. The room was small and the bed was not the most comfortable, but everything else about the room was great. The location was perfect -- very close to shops and restaurants. The front desk staff were wonderful -- recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. Plus, our room was ready for early so after our long flight that was most appreciated. It was perfect for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniquetravelplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ideal hotel if you are going on a cruise. It's located at the entrance to the port but you still could have a 10 minute drive to the ship. The hotel will organise a reliable taxi for you and organise the sharing of it with other residents to save money.

The hotel was clean, staff friendly and breakfast was a standard continental breakfast with a lot of choice.

If you are arriving by train there are no taxi's at the station. But after speaking to the hotel even if there was they would be a bit risky. We arrived at 9 pm thinking we would get a taxi so the only option was to walk. It was a 15 minute walk. Turn right out of the station and keep walking until you get to McDonalds about 7 minutes. On the left of McDonalds is an entrance to the port, you need to turn right and then nearly immediately left keeping to the main road. After another 7 minutes you hit a big roundabout which is the entrance to the port and there is the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greaty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Boarding a cruise next day and because of good tripadvisor reviews stayed at Traghetto.
Very clean room with veranda and big. Only problrm shower cabin really small.
Staff very eficient and give us all information needed with a smile.
will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JV51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After reading other reviews on this hotel, that is what made me stay here. When I walked thru the
front door Giuseppe was there to greet my husband and I. He was so warm and welcoming. Our
luggage had been lost thru the airlines and we were leaving on a cruise the next morning. He
helped us call the airline, make all the phone calls we needed and guided us where to buy clothes. We felt like someone had our back. The room was clean, comfortable and when we woke up it was great to see our ship out our balcony. Neighborhood was quite and some great
places to eat. Would stay here again in a minute! Ciao!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed in Hotel Traghetto for 1 night. Only reason for staying was pre cruise spot to stay. Eveything about the hotel was grand, had no complaints but not overly impressed either. A bed for the night, nothing glamourous,
staff were helpful
hotel clean but bit dated
close enough to port
breakfast standard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScuPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed 1 night before our cruise. The room was serviceable and comfortable and above all quiet. Though the area is quiet, we walked about 5 blocks to the center of town for dinner at La Ghiacciaia which was excellent and crowed late with locals.. Though the neighboring pizza restaurant seems to do quit a good business, so that may be good for a quick bite.

As for the port, the free buses are about 6 blocks away whereas for a small fee you can take a taxi straight to the embarkation area.

Giuseppe does really make this place special. He is so helpful and accommodating. From arranging quality transport from the airport and the port. He cannot seem to do enough. I'm back there in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBBB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
206 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traghetto

Property: Hotel Traghetto
Address: Via Braccianese Claudia 2, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breakfast will be served in the breakfast hall from 06:30 am until 09:30 am. The rooms are all equipped with shower, hair dryer, air conditioning, telephone, LCD TV 21" with a wide choice of international channels and free wifi connection. The rooms will be available from 01:00 pm until 11:00 am of the check out day, free luggage deposit near the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Traghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing