We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel pre cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Traghetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Traghetto
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel pre cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had booked for 1 night before our cruise but a general train strike meant we had to arrive a day early. The staff were accommodating and it proved no trouble at all. They even gave us the same fantastic rate. Rooms are large and very clean. Hotel is close to the port and easy walking distance to the local shopping area and markets. Free wifi is good. Breakfast was delicious and so was the cappuccino. Staff are very friendly and arranged transport to our cruise ship for 5 euro per person. This hotel will be my pick whenever in Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    113
    49
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
169
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A good choice for someone staying for a night prior to a cruise departure. Rooms were clean, spacious and beds comfortable (a bit firm). Poor wifi in our room on the 5th floor. Mentioned the wifi situation to the front desk man who didn't care (or couldn't understand enough english to understand my situation) so i ended up spending time in the hallway to connect to the internet. Next to no english programming on TV. Free breakfast is a bit sparce. Cold food only. Good location. Only 15 minute walk to the port shuttle bus (just behind the gates to the port entrance) at the intersection of Corso Centocelle and Calata Cesare Laurenti. Good to see the local government investing money into the sea side infrastructure as it is where the locals and tourists seem to hang out. Felt safe at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMeatMan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a good stay for one night before cruise. Hotel staff was helpful with problems I was having at FCO (Rome airport) because my luggage didn't make the connect in Paris even though I did. I hade arranged through the hotel for a private taxi to pick me up at the airport. My luggage didn't arrive with me but was on a plane that would arrive 2 hours later. The hotel helped in communicating with the driver that I needed them to wait with me until the luggage got there since the airlines couldn't guarantee delivery before I boarded my cruise the next morning (the driver spoke no English, French or Spanish and I speak no Italian). Once I got to the hotel (with the luggage) they help me find an ATM and a restaurant for dinner and offered me a libation. Breakfast was filling and they helped arrange so I could share a van to the cruise ship (and save 2/3 of the cost).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeonthehillSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

They had arranged a car to pick us up at Rome Fiumicino Airport, a local guy. Nice and clean hotel with comfortable and firm beds. Nice and attentive staff and smooth transfer to the cruise ship the following day (€5), well worth the money. Breakfast was plentiful, including toast once the toaster was plugged in!

Room Tip: Room 402 has a large terrace facing the port in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_to_travel_65_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Having read trip advisor reviews for this hotel we decided that it would be the best place to stay for the night before the cruise. Indeed - this was absolutely correct. The Hotel had arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport and the driver was there with a board with our name on it. The drive is about 30 to 40 minutes to the hotel. As stated by other reviews - this is not a fancy hotel. However, the rooms are clean and fresh and the shower hot! As it was evening when we arrived, we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and we were told exactly where there were a couple of excellent restaurants. One was closed for a private function but we had a wonderful meal in the other. Breakfast wasn't amazing, and by the time we arrived there was no fruit left. The cheese was presented in slices wrapped in plastic! However, the coffee was good and the bread was fine! The hotel then arranged small buses to transfer people to the port for €5 a head. After the cruise we had several hours to spare before our flight from Rome and we asked the hotel if we could possibly leave our bags with them for the day. This they were willing to do and refused to charge us anything extra. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for the delightful staff and attitude and helpfulness. We would certainly stay again if we were on another cruise leaving from Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felicityjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great spacious room with balcony overlooking the Mediterranian. Very clean, friendly staff, great breakfast, close to cruise port and walking distance to all points of interest. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curi0ust00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is not a fancy hotel so if that is what you are looking for, this is not for you. But we wanted a clean, basic, reasonably priced hotel for one night prior to a cruise and it was perfect for us. The room was small and the bed was not the most comfortable, but everything else about the room was great. The location was perfect -- very close to shops and restaurants. The front desk staff were wonderful -- recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. Plus, our room was ready for early so after our long flight that was most appreciated. It was perfect for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniquetravelplanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traghetto

Property: Hotel Traghetto
Address: Via Braccianese Claudia 2, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breakfast will be served in the breakfast hall from 06:30 am until 09:30 am. The rooms are all equipped with shower, hair dryer, air conditioning, telephone, LCD TV 21" with a wide choice of international channels and free wifi connection. The rooms will be available from 01:00 pm until 11:00 am of the check out day, free luggage deposit near the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Traghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing