We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Cruise Passengers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two days prior to taking a Transatlantic cruise from Rome to Fort Lauderdale, FL. The hotel is located in Civitavecchia about 1.5 miles from the main part of town, the railroad station and the port entrance.

The second floor (first floor in Europe) room we had was small, but well appointed and comfortable. It looked down on to a beautiful terrace and views of the Mediterranean. There is an elevator from the downstairs lobby so no problem for anyone with mobility issues. The TV did have English programming and we were able to get FOX News.

The hotel has a restaurant with wonderful Italian meals and good service. Depending on the weather, one can enjoy a delightful meal on the terrace as well as inside the restaurant. Food and wine prices were reasonable, and after along trip to Rome from the United states, it was delightful to not have to leave the premises after checking in to search for a restaurant.

The hotel offers a transfer service from Rome airport for a fee (which we did not use) and offers free transportation to the Cruise Port. The great thing about their shuttle to the port was that they were able to take us directly to our ship and get our baggage efficiently handled by the ship baggage service. There is a small store on the corner of the main street near the hotel that has a limited selection of wine, chocolates, etc. if one wishes to purchase these items prior to boarding their cruise.

I only had two small complaints about the hotel and they involve location. Its not practical to walk into the main area of Civitavecchia if one wants to take a train to Rome or visit the main shopping area, requiring a taxi to get there. Also, one cannot easily walk down to the sea because access is blocked by a large soccer stadium. Also, whenever there is a soccer game, the area can be quite noisy. These are not major issues for anyone who is only staying overnight waiting to get on their cruise the next day. The location was the only reason I did not rate the hotel with 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RUDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Airport pickup was on time, people were friendly, place was clean, breakfast simple and fresh with great coffee!!. We stayed 3 nights prior to boarding cruise on Azamara. We felt the overall costs were defiantly worth it and this place a good value.
Each day we could walk to train station, to dozens of trattoria's or pizza /gelato bars. Hotel has bicycles too but we didn't need them. Walk to the store on the corner (uphill) for great wine under 10. To walk to a cool place to see a view, exit hotel gate and right to bottom of street. Make a left, look for beach access alleyway on right and enjoy sunset view from the rocks. Be advised; Town is quiet at night, not much happening after dinner hours

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank johnsphotos12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are quite pleased with this small hotel. First noticed is that there is some curb appeal with an off-street courtyard for parking. It is perhaps 200 meters from the shoreline. The interior is nicely done though not overly spacious common areas. The staff speaks English. We were assisted with our luggage. The electrical system is up to date, including recent vintage card-lock doors and card-lock electrical system with an apparent alarm system. The electrical outlets and switches are well placed, especially handy by the bed; very well done by US standards. The elevator is also of very up-to-date and ample in size. The room size was ample, enough space to be comfortable along with our six bags. Room includes one straight back chair. There is a locked room where extra baggage can be stored if you wish. Also a frig and safe box in the room. The stay includes breakfast and shuttle service to the cruise lines. Breakfast is ample with lots of pastries, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee. Tablecloths on the tables. Dinner is available 7pm-10pm. Dinner is convenient and OK but not great. Menus are available in Italian and English. We ate there two nights because we didn't want to go out. The "Nice" salad is not a Salad Nicoise: green beans, eggs, anchovies, olives; but no tomatoes, potatoes or tuna and the dressing was blah. The chocolate souffle is not a souffle but rather a dark cream filled cake (possibly reflects the problems Italians have with the word cake). The walnut sauce for the cheese plate was replaced by a dull mayonnaise sauce. However the entries and pizza are good with a good selection of seafood. And wine by the glass is ample in quantity and there appears to be a wide selection of wines by the bottle priced inexpensively. Would stay here again. Rated 4-stars for the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were stayed at the Borgo di mare for 2 days prior to our cruise. The hotel is very clean and has good service. They have a private transfer service from Rome international to the hotel ( costs around 110 € ) and it's very handy . Another great service is the complementary shuttle service from the hotel to the cruise terminal - free of charge. You will find a good wi-fi service in the bedrooms and a great variety of channels from SKY TV available .. this is great specially for non Italian spoken guests as most of the programs from the regular TV are dubbed.
Breakfast is not the best but not the worse neither ... a few cold cuts , some different type of cheeses and an insane variety of sweets ( cakes and pies mostly ) . If you want to try some nice seafood while staying at the hotel , I recommend you to walk to Restaurant Ideale. It's a 5 min walking from the hotel and not only the food is great but the location as well . The restaurant is located on the top of some rocks just above the sea .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Merimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hotel Borgo del Mare is a small family hotel a bit outside of the main part of Civitavecchia (longish half hour walk along a busy street). I will start by saying that I hold my breath every time i book a hotel in Italy since Italian hotels often look entirely different from their pictures and descriptions. The Hotel Borgo del Mare was a pleasant surprise.

We had arranged transfer from the airport in Rome for a one night stay prior to a cruise. The driver a pleasant young man, was there as promised and whisked us away. We quickly arrived around noon and checkin. The room was small, but having been to Italy before we expected small. It was immaculately clean, however, and that means a lot

The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well without any noticeable noise (a huge plus for me) The hotel as mentioned is outside of the main part of town, but we welcomed the chance to walk after an overnight flight. So we picked up a sim card for our mobile and had lunch (pizza, what else) in town. The area immediately around the hotel is a bit residential and while not the most charming was safe and comfortable for walking in the evening.

The hotel has a restaurant and as there is only one good (but I suspect pricy) alternative we took a chance and ate at the hotel. As it turns out we made a great choice, the service and food were much better than we expected, not great, but quite nice and the dining area was quite congenial with a good wine selection.

Our bed was comfortable and we slept well. The one drawback is that our neighbors didn't seem to be the happiest campers and we could hear them arguing as the soundproofing is not the best (but to be fair it isn't the best in a lot of properties and is a common complaint for my wife and I).

Breakfast in the morning was varied and well prepared. They were running out of eggs when we arrived near finishing time, (10 am, if I recall correctly) but they happily fixed more for the folks that arrived after us.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the port and that too was a breeze.

I must note that Alessandro the evening desk clerk/manager was very helpful but then so was everyone else. We were impressed overall by the property and felt that we ago good value for our money. We would stay again and would (and do) recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

What a quaint little place in such a breathtakingly beautiful little town. The views from this hotel are amazing and left me speechless! We went to stay a couple of days before our Mediterranean cruise, and ended up just falling in love with the hotel and area. My only regret was that we didn't stay longer! The people couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Everything we wanted was just a few steps away. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Mediterranean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluespetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay near the port just before our cruise. Found this on Tripadvisor and now we know why it has such great reviews! The staff are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, helping out with arranging taxis to town, shuttle service to the cruise lines and dinner on site. We had been travelling through Greece and Italy for a 10 days prior to our arrival and the most important task at hand was to get our laundry done before embarking on the ship. We were directed to a launderette in the town square and were able to complete this task while enjoying the surrounding shops and restaurants. The hotel restaurant had amazing food and options on the menu for everyone! The free shuttle to our ship the following day helped make the next adventure on our vacation a less stressful one! I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMSheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo del Mare

Address: Via Olimpia 3, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo del Mare, a 4 star hotel opened in 2008, is Civitavecchia hospitality benchmark. Located at 2 Kms from the centre and the port, it is the perfect accommodation for those who like hush but want to stay in town. All its rooms are finely finished off and provided with telephone, mini bar, safe, air-conditioning, Wide screen LCD TV with Sky pay-per-view, some of them with a wonderful sea view. The hotel restaurant will delight you with local delicatessen in an elegant and welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Borgo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing