We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay Pre-Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed one night pre-cruise at the Hotel Borgo del Mare. The price was less expensive than hotels located nearer the port and the reviews were pretty good. The hotel is clean and the service is very good. There is a free shuttle service to the port that runs every 30 minutes. The breakfast was okay - we didn't eat dinner in the hotel. The wifi reception was spotty. The room was tiny, even for European hotel rooms and rather spartan. While we knew that the hotel was about a 20-30 minute walk into the main area of town, we didn't know that portions of that walk had no sidewalks so you had to walk in the street with the crazy Italian drivers. There were a couple of restaurants within walking distance but not much else other than a convenience store. We saved money staying there but, in hindsight, we should have paid more and stayed closer to where the action is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stanatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Selected Hotel Borgo del Mare based on several review sites. Was a good selection. It is some distance from the port, but they do have a shuttle. Rooms were satisfactory for short stay. The staff was hospitable and helpful. Morning breakfast was good. Excellent dinner meal at a nearby seaside restaurant. (eating times are VERY late for some reason most restaurants not open until 7PM or later) Note: In reviewing meals in Italy I have found one major challenge. I don't believe it is possible to have a bad meal in the country. We've spent approximately 15 days in Italy over the last several years. Never had a bad meal. Doesn't matter if known restaurant or one of the seemingly hundreds of patio type restaurants in any town in the country. The food is almost uniformly fresh, served beautifully, and excellent. Not a bad problem to have.

We did have small problem getting to the port because of a fairly large group, but the desk did take care of the problem within a reasonable time frame.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aubergaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our cruise. Dinner was good, not great but fine. Breakfast met our needs and was included. Service was great. The rooms were a bit small but that was expected. Transfer to the cruise was great! Would stay here again pre cruise.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank s0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

4 of us stayed at the hotel for 2 separate visits. The 4 of us were met at the Rome airport and transported to the hotel for far less than the cost of 1 using the Cruise transfer. We were also shuttled free to the ship at no charge the next day. The hotel is small and quaint so book early. The staff could not do more for us to make our stay more memorable. The rooms were newly renovated and very clean. We had supper there both nights and the food and wine were excellent and very reasonable. Breakfast was included and well worth getting up for. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I knew was traveling to this part of Italy! Thank you Borgo del Mare, you were definitely one of the main highlights of our great vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for one night pre cruise in June. I concur with everyone else. This hotel looks dated. Surprisingly, on asking the owner, he claimed it was renovated circa 5 years ago when the family bought it. Strange choice of decor. However, it is very clean.

We took advantage of the transfer from Rome airport which was held up a little by the late arrival of the driver. But otherwise all good. On arrival, it was very apparent the hotel was miles from the town centre. But this was no issue as we had no plans to leave until the morning.

The bad news. The evening meal we had can best be described as awful. I'd rather not say anymore as it brings back nasty memories!

So,off to bed to watch the start of the World Cup. Except the TV in the room wouldn't work. But the room itself was spotless, if a little small. The bed though was comfortable so overall no great complaints about the room.

Breakfast was included. Usual continental fair but all nice and fresh. Excellent little bottles of fruit juice and an abundance of really good cappuccinos. So we left feeling well fed.

The shuttle to the port in the morning was very busy but great service. This is where the hotel excels as we also booked a return transfer post cruise which arrived bang on time so we arrived at the airport with zero stress or dramas.

Conclusions. Decent hotel for a one night pre or post cruise. Otherwise, that's about it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aleximo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel itself is basic but very clean and the staff are extremely helpful.
I think what adds to the feel of the hotel being basic is the decor which is dated. However if you are looking for a clean, friendly hotel close to the port you cannot go wrong. They provide a free shuttle service down to the port which is great and for an extra charge they picked us up at Rome airport. I have to be honest and say I would not have stayed more than 1 night but I would definitely use again if cruising out of Rome and I would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have found the Borgo a very convent and comfortable before and after a cruise. A major attraction fo me is the transportation to and from FCO and the cruise port. In addition it is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant which serves both breakfast and dinner is very good and not pricey. If you like shell fish, try the mixed seafood grill.
Caveats. The hotel is in the suburbs thus the name Borgo. The walk to town is about a mile and a quarter. If you need transportation to airport or port let them know when you check in. If you are using transportation from airport or port, confirm by email or phone.

Room Tip: Chose first floor. Second floor can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
194 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
328 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
275 reviews
4.5 mi away
Samarcanda
Samarcanda
#7 of 10 in Civitavecchia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo del Mare

Address: Via Olimpia 3, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo del Mare, a 4 star hotel opened in 2008, is Civitavecchia hospitality benchmark. Located at 2 Kms from the centre and the port, it is the perfect accommodation for those who like hush but want to stay in town. All its rooms are finely finished off and provided with telephone, mini bar, safe, air-conditioning, Wide screen LCD TV with Sky pay-per-view, some of them with a wonderful sea view. The hotel restaurant will delight you with local delicatessen in an elegant and welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Borgo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing