We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borgo del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 962 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is a nice small hotel, howver it is not outstasnding. The hotel is located in a area of business and is about two miles from the pier and downtown. It is a long walk and if going to the cruise pier you will need to taken the hotel shuttle or a taxi. In order to use the hotel shuttle you must make reservations so do it early as the sloits fill quickly. There is little to do around the hotel otehr than a pizza palce clsoe by. The rooms are small but clean. The bathroom was likewise small. The breakfat was the usual Euorpean fare. We did not have dinner at the hotel.The staff was nice.As a note if you are going to the crusie ship there are several other hotels downtown and much closer to the crusie ships.The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    88
    42
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
132
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed in this fresh, like new hotel for 2 days at the end of Oct before boarding our ship for a transatlantic cruise. It was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Rooms are average in size and the bath has a large shower and plenty of space. It is a family owned business and we met both brother owners who work the front desk and serve in the restaurant. This hotel has the feel of a small B&B. From our room there was a view of the sea. The location is a little away from the town center but is an easy walk to the downtown area. However there are a few spots that the sidewalk is very narrow and much too far from the train station to walk if you have luggage.
The staff is very friendly, speak excellent English, and are very helpful. There is a free shuttle to the cruise pier. There is computer access in the lobby. Web site photos are true to the actual rooms. An added bonus is the restaurant. The included breakfast is very nice and the evening dinner menu is excellent. We ate there twice and were very pleased with our choices.
We plan a return trip to the area and will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amity
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

The room was well presented, clean, tidy with all necessary amenities. The staff were very helpful and spoke English fluently. The continental breakfast was great with a wide range of selections. The evening meal was beautifully presented featuring local seafood cooked in a range that was typically Italian. Very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BolynAmity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

The room was very nice and cozy. The bathroom was quite spacious with nice tile. The front desk staff were most helpful. After checking in, we walked into town and along the promenade. We came back for dinner, which was very good. The area was quiet and the bed was very supportive without being hard. Breakfast was included and delicious. We took a walk around the street before being taken to the pier. The shuttle to the airport is free, but we tipped the driver. We would definitely stay here again.

Based on other reviews, we booked this hotel for the night before our cruise. We booked nine months in advance, but the hotel forgot to tell us that they changed their name. It only made a difference because they were picking us up at the airport. So, I was looking for the wrong hotel name. They also misspelled my name, so I didn’t realize the guy with the sign was from our hotel. We spent a long time to connect. Finally tried calling the hotel. Our calling card wouldn’t work at the airport. Luckily, we had some Euro coins leftover from our stop in Paris so we could call them. The shuttle cost €110 for two. The guy drove 140 kph (85mph) on the Autostrade. It wasn't scary, just surprising.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cake_of_Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were delighted with our two-day stay at the Borgo Del Mare. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.
The room was delightful. It was quiet, dark and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and fully equipped for all our needs.
It does seem to be pitched towards the US market, so the breakfast was a little sweet for our tastes as we Brits aren't ones for cake and doughnuts at breakfast time, but there was plenty of it and it was delicious.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Civitaveccia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimmykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Borgo del Mare for two nights as it was in an ideal location for day tripping to/from Rome. The rooms with with double beds were quite roomy but the ones with the queen beds were a bit small, however still very comfortable and clean.
The hotel, itself, was very clean and inviting. The staff was wonderful and the food was truly amazing. There is absolutely no language barrier as all staff spoke English and were more than willing to work with us to understand the menu items, and provide us with instruction on how to get around the public transportation system. The train station is very close and the fare to Rome is incredibly reasonable at 9 euros round trip.
We will definitely return on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed for one night prior to a cruise and found it to be really good. The rooms are medium size with a compact bathroom - very clean and all the amenities one needs. We ate our evening meal in the resturants which was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The hotel collected us from the airport for 110 euros and took us to the port to our cruise ship the next day for free. If you are cruising and want somewhere to stay for a night you could not do better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILondonirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo del Mare

Property: Hotel Borgo del Mare
Address: Via Olimpia 3, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo del Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borgo del Mare, a 4 star hotel opened in 2008, is Civitavecchia hospitality benchmark. Located at 2 Kms from the centre and the port, it is the perfect accommodation for those who like hush but want to stay in town. All its rooms are finely finished off and provided with telephone, mini bar, safe, air-conditioning, Wide screen LCD TV with Sky pay-per-view, some of them with a wonderful sea view. The hotel restaurant will delight you with local delicatessen in an elegant and welcoming environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Borgo del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing