We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pre-cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Porto di Roma
Ranked #12 of 40 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed area the night before a cruise. Wonderful hotel. We walked from the train and also can walk to the port. Anna was friendly and helpful. Ask for a room in the back away from street. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grandma2012_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    45
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
56
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We read lots of reviews for hotels in Civitavecchia--for a night before embarkation day. Hotel Porto di Roma kept getting good reviews. And from TripAdvisor-folks!! The jewel at the hotel is ANA!! She was every good thing said about her and more. We arrived after a 3-leg train trip from the north, she carried our heavy, heavy bags upstairs to our second floor room and then gave us all sorts of very useful info, maps and advice. She was spot on in all things. The hotel has free wi-fi which was very key for us. The breakfast and coffee were great. Location is perfect. Everything is very walkable. The next day, tho, we chose to take a cab--not just to the Roman gate, but all the way to our ship. Ana called and had the cab pronto. The BEST was at the half way point of our cruise, we were back to Civitavecchia. We had be having a terrible time getting wi-fi in the various ports (and Hurricane Sandy was menacing our east coast home). We went back to Hotel Porto and sweet ANA said certainly, we could use the hotel wi-fi. She even insisted we have some coffee. She was wonderful. 5-stars for her!

Room Tip: Ana advised us that wi-fi was best on the second floor which she gave us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HReedAnnapolis_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We would have had a tough time finding it if the local police hadn't provided us with directions. The staff were excellent, the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and we were within walking distance of the port and many local shops and restaurants. We really had an amazing experience here and look forward to being able to return in the future. The price was also very inviting and we feel we received our money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldavies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night prior to taking a cruise. The hotel was well located in a quiet side street. We arrived in Civitavecchia by train from Rome airport ( not something I would choose again !!! Luckily aided by 2 very helpful locals, who a) told us to watch our bags , as there had been a spate of tourists bags being whipped off the trains by gypsy's and b) where to change trains etc ) .
On our arrival in Civitavecchia, we took a taxi to the hotel, which was only about 5 mins away.
On arrival, we were impressed by the bright, modern appearance and the warm welcome from the guy on the desk.
We were given the choice of 3 rooms, all were spacious, decorated in yellows and reds....a little garish, but spotlessly clean, a very comfy bed and a decent shower.
On the corridors of the rooms , were dispensing machines, with a variety of bottled water, soft drinks, snacks etc, and priced reasonably !
We chose a room on the 1st floor, at the back, which was quiet.
The chap on the reception insisted on carrying our bags to our room for us and flatly refused any tip !!! Thats service for you !!
We went out for dinner, and found Civitavecchia to be a very attractive town, nice bars, restaurants and very authentic.
The following morning , we went down to breakfast, we had a lovely warm welcome again by a young lady, who made us a delicious Cappacino, there was a nice choice of pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, cakes, and cereals....very pleasant !
The staff here, really go out of their way to be welcoming and friendly, this goes a long way.
The location of the hotel is perfect, we actually walked to the shuttle bus point to transfer to the ship, which was an easy walk downhill .
A great choice for a short stay if you are sailing from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BricklayerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2012 the night before the starting of the cruise. The port is 450 meters from the hotel, walking distance. It is a no frill hotel but very clean and the rooms are good size for a 1-2 night stay. Free Wi-Fi in the room. The staff especially Anna was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Nice breakfast consisting of juices, toast, assorted cheeses, jam croissant etc served in a small room next to the reception. Whilst having breakfast we had the opportunity to meet other travelers who were also going on the same cruise. Anna arranged for our luggage to be stored there until early afternoon and offered us drinks when we went to take the luggage. Thank you Anna you made us feel special. We were so pleased with the service that 10 days later when we were back in Civitavecchia we went to the hotel to say "hello" to Anna. Again we were offered drinks. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side could be noisy because of the music from the cafe next door. we did not min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ticrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara on the Lake
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We are two couples boarding a cruise from Rome and stayed at the hotel Porto di Roma. This small but very clean hotel is the perfect place to stay before the trip. Anna, the hotel day staff welcomed us with a warm and friendly smile, and was over the top accomodating. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with home made croissants, as were the cappuccinos. The staff also arranges for transportation to the port. We highly recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed the night here because we were going on a cruise the next day. It's definately not going to win any amazing awards but it was well priced, clean, and served a good breakfast. The receptionist was extremely helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alibrandi Palace
Alibrandi Palace
#7 of 40 in Civitavecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto di Roma

Property: Hotel Porto di Roma
Address: Via Montegrappa 27, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porto di Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porto di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing