We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to start your cruise!”
Review of Hotel De La Ville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De La Ville
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We arrived early afternoon the day before our cruise with no reservation. Very convenient to drop off our rental at hertz next door. Nice hotel with sea and port view, great for your early morning jog. Our room was on the top floor (last room left) with a large terrace. Price was OK for a suite. Breakfast was adequate and served downstairs in cave like area (probably the night club). Supprising coffee was good! Nice cafés, restaurants and shopping close by.
The only problem was embarkation day, no taxi service..... We were told to walk a few blocks for the shuttle bus to port area. We went to check this out before lugging our suitcases and found that is was not convenient at all. With about 10 cruise ships in port that day you can imagine the hustle and bustle. People everywhere embarking and debarking. It was also pretty hot that morning!
We went back to the hotel and asked the front desk to please help us find a taxi since we had to much luggage to carry on foot. The lady was very nice in trying to get one but with no answer with each try. She finally reached a friend (limo service) who drove us to our ship Equinox for 20euro. He asked us if we wanted the service into Rome on our return but we had reserved transportation with our cruise . What a mistake..... We should have gone with the limo directly to our hotel in Rome for about the same price. The bus drop off with the cruise line is at the termini and there again not enough taxis...... To many people at one time arriving by train or buses total confusion....

Room Tip: Don't wait last minute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

After 2 weeks driving around Italy I wanted to stay close to the Airport so I did not have to drive in Rome again !!!. We found this gem right on the coast with great views and close to the night life . The room was perfect and breakfast was superb. The only problem was that we found this heaven on a stick to late in our trip to stay longer but we will certainly go back again . Civitavecchia is a lovely clean city with very friendly people.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were 'upgraded' from a hotel nearby to this....(sorry I've got to laugh), the Hotel de La Ville. We were told that the only rooms they had left were one with 2 single beds or another that was for disabled people....we chose the disabled one. To be fair it was OK. The bed was comfortable and the walk in shower was...well...novel. This is where the good points end. We were told that breakfast (included) was served between 7.30 and 10 am. We arrived at 9 am. The fruit salad bowl was empty and was told it had 'finished'. There were no cups or saucers, no hot water for tea/coffee, no toast, no butter, no fruit. If you wanted cocopops or a croissant you were in luck if you were nimble on your feet. The much harrassed lone waitress only new 4 english words...'no', 'all gone' and 'finished'. My sister arrived at breakfast at 9.20 and there greeted by the waitress with those four words. The Italian manager who she complained to was arrogant, rude and had no right to be in the job that he held. Do yourself a favour and go elswhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keokocasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Ocean view hotel is right where you want to be to take a cruise, Right neat the Cruise Port. This hotel is clean & priced correctly. I have stayed at this hotel several times to take a cruise & the others proved to be second best. Give it a try, you won't regret it. lots of great restaurants on the street on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We are a family of 6, we required 2 rooms to accomodate us. We just spent one night after landing in Rome and then moving to Civitavecchia to await our cruise the next day,

Civitavecchia is just one long street along the seashore, with restaurants. The hotel is perfectly located to walk the strip for eating and strolliing. In the morning we easily walked to the ports shuttle bus which transfered us to the ship. We enquired at the hotel to get a taxi to take us but the hotel told us there was no need as the shuttle was so close, and they were right: it was unncessary.

The hotel is also RIGHT BESIDE the Train station. So perfect for anyone who is using train for their transfer from Rome. It is across the street from a new waterfront development that has a splash pad, and the city pool.

Hotel is old but clean and air conditioned. We thought it was funny in the washroom: there was a sign that warned the towels all have a microchips in them in case you try to leave the hotel with one! (the kids all tried hard to find chips in the towels, but were not successful)

This hotel was perfect for our purposes: land in civitavecchia, sleep, transfer next day to ship. We are a family with 4 children ages 19, 17, 12, 8.

The hotel is old and very european. In the morning there was a buffet breakfast in the basement. The hotel has very nice architectural details particularly in the basement where the buffet is located.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fourkids12,14,11,3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This was the perfect spot to start our 12 day cruise. The location of the hotel is ideal. It was a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the port entrance. It may cost a bit more than other hotels but it was well worth it. Our room overlooked the water and was very spacious with a comfortable, very large bed. There was also a pull out couch in the sitting area if it were to be needed. The cost included a nice continental breakfast. We were able to leave our bags at the front desk on the morning of our departure while we walked around and enjoyed the sights. The woman at the front desk was very pleasant and spoke English.

Room Tip: When you make a reservation ask for a waterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgolfer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

First, the hotel is less than 4-minute-walk from the train station. It took a hour and 40 minutes from Rome in local train, and the express train would take about a hour. You can roll your own luggage from train station to the hotel. When we checked in, the front desk lady was really nice. She showed us 2 diffent rooms. They also have a decent size elevator. One romm was a small room with folding-bed since we have three people stayed in one room, and the other was the one that we stayed in had one king size bed and a sofa-bed. The bed & sofabed were very firm, but we were only staying for 3 nights. She also showed us where the market is. The supermarket is only 7 minutes away from the hotel.

The room is very clean and has two big windown. One side faced the train station, and we kept it close the whole time. The other window is facing the ocean, and the view is amazing. When we stayed there the 2nd day, the hotel had no power becuse they were working on the power line. We had our breakfast in the dark, but the serives staffs were very friendly and nice. They still tried to heat up the milk and coffee for us. The breakfast was better than we thought. There were milk, coffee, tea, cereal, croissant, toast, egg, ham, jam, fruit and more.

My mom, aunt and I are all agree this is a great deal to chose this hotel. I already plan to stay in this hotel when I go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juju530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
327 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Ville

Address: Viale della Repubblica 4, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De La Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel De La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Ville Civitavecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing