We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential..”
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My fiancee and me stayed at Hotel San Giorgio prior to our 12 night cruise with Royal Caribbean. Since we was going on a cruise, we wanted to start our vacation with a hotel experience that was relaxing and comfortable. By booking the pre-cruise platinium package, we was sure that Hotel San Giorgio could fulfill exactly that - relaxing and comfortable. The platinium package included a junior suite, pick up at the airport with a Mercedes sedan, a bottle of sparkling wine, dinner for two at their restaurant (the Piccadilly), breakfast and transfer to the cruise ship. A total price of the package was 484 EUR (630 $). For me this seemed to be a good deal..

Let me start with the good things with Hotel San Giorgio: The service, location and transfer to the cruise ship. From check-in to check-out the service level was exellent. The receptionist that met us by check-in spoke good english, was friendly and helpful. Later during our stay, we also discovered that he actually was listening when we had a complain regarding the dinner. More on that later. The rest of the staff was smiling, helpful and friendly. Just after we entered our junior suite, a bottle of sparkling wine was delivered to us together with some delicious strawberries. This we enjoyed at the terrace outside our room.
The location for this hotel is great for those that are going on a cruise from Civitavecchia, with a short walk down to the cruise harbour. The hotel is also providing a great transfer to your cruise ship, so you dont need to worry about how to get there with your luggage. These three points is the reason why I left Hotel San Giorgio with a more positive than negative impression.

And now the not so great points. First the transfer. The transfer was late. Actually I had to call the hotel since our transfer was not waiting for us at the airport. 10-15 minutes later we found our driver, and had a good drive to Civitavecchia. Our driver was friendly, and chatty. It is not a big deal that the transfer was late, but my impression would be even better if the driver was waiting for us and not the other way around.
The room was another negative experience. It was dark, and quite worn. The room was also in two levels, where the bed and TV was on the second level. The stair between first and second floor was very steep, and I would not recommend any with hip, back or leg issues to use this. If you got small children, make sure you got one level room! I can just imagine what could happend...
The bathroom was good and very clean.
The last negative issue I had with Hotel San Giorgio was the breakfast. So little choice, and so dry pastries! On the positive side, the juice was delicious..

My main negative issue I had with the hotel, was the included dinner. This I will comment as a separate review.

All in all an fair experience. Thanks to the receptionist for listening and understanding.

Room Tip: Do not book a junior suite (2 levels) if you got any issue with walking in stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night pre cruise ,it was basic ,clean & comfortable ,& in walking distance to cruise port, however not really 4star standard., and last check out was at 10am !!!! .As we also required a room for 1night at the end of our cruise ,we reserved and pre paid when we were checking out & requested early check in when we returned . .After a super cruise we arrved back at 9.00 am,(knowing we were very early ) and were advised our room will not be ready untill 2pm & had to be vacated by 10am next day .So,I asked could they get housekeeping to do our room first as we had already arrived , we sat in lobby for 2 hr ,and noticed other guests arriving ,and taken to room immediately,we mentioned this to the staff member on desk to be told once again 2pm ,they put our lugage in storage and we left and had lunch in a nearby restaurant , checking every hr to see if room was ready ,to be informed rather rudley not till 2pm .went back at 2pm & finaly got the room .....after a wait of 5hrs .!!!!!!.The porter & waiting staff very pleasant ,also the gentleman that checked us in on our 1st day of our arrival ,before the cruise .
At breakfast next morning we met a couple who had been on same cruise as us ,we metioned the wait time for our room the day before they said they arrived at 9.30 & got their room staight away ........
Being in the hotel industry ourself ,& often guests arriving early ,we do our very best to give them early check in .
We definately will not return to this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucillehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear lucillehunt,


thank you for your review and for your stay. We are sorry for the fact that you have to wait in order to have the room ready, but you had requested the same room of your last stay at the Hotel (with sea view free of charge both times…) and in order to satisfy your request we had to wait that the room was ready. We would like to remind to all the guest that check in is after 2 pm and that in case we have rooms available we would be glad to let the guest check in earlier. Related to the fact that other guest checked in straight to their arrival, this can depend from the fact that they have booked different room categories (junior suite, deluxe room, triple or quadruple). Also for these reasons, we had in hotel many guests that was arrived from the other part of the world and they made a trip, probably, of 12 hours or more and they requested an early check in respected to the guest that went out from the ship the same day. As always, we do the best to satisfy every request from the guest, like your first stay in our Hotel without problems.

Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed at the Hotel San Giorgio for the second time, and although only an overnight stay, it was again a pleasant experience.

Reception and dining room staff were very freindly and efficient, and I will stay here again next time.

Although the set menu for dinner was basic; it was still adequate and good value for money.

Air conditioning in the room was a little noisy, but thehotel is in a great location and I will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: On my previous stay, I was in a room on the forst floor with balcony and bedroom in a mezzanine. Mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The title is how my mother-in-law described the hotel. She stayed, we only ate. She ordered two gin and tonics, they served gi with soda. When she complained they said they had no tonic, she sent them out to the supermarket to buy some which in fairness they did.
There are a lot of staff who are very nice but dont have a lot of idea what to do.
The restaurant is a nice room but the prices will make your eyes water,
Three of us had chateaubriand which was very good. The wine list is comprehensive but again decent wines at very high prices.
We did not stay but the mother in law said the rooms were very dated with a significant amount of wear showing, hence "mink coat, no knickers".
Not great value

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry300444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel San Giorgio in Civitavecchia. It was only for one night before a cruise. What a way to start the holiday!!!
The hotel staff were wonderful from the moment we walked through the doors. Making sure that we arranged transfers to the cruise ship, making sure the rooms were okay and suggesting reservations on the patio restaurant for dinner.
The rooms were a little tired, could use some tender loving care, but the rest was fantastic.
The dinner was amazing, unbelievabley well priced and they even had a musician who sounded like Julio Iglesius. Luckily for us there was a couple of girls from Russia in the restaurant at the same time. They started dancing, and before you know it everyone was up and having a great time. We literally closed the joint, the musician stayed until out party left, he obviously had finished his job but stayed on until we were finished our party, well done!
We were a group of nine and every one of us would go back to this hotel tomorrow.
Can't wait until out next visit to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gregwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel is a perfect place to stay prior to a cruise. It is an easy walk to the port (even with chrildren and luggage in tow, I'd do it again -- its only a few minutes, the sidewalks are wide and shaded and the curbs all have ramps. There is only one main street to cross and its a breeze).

As for the hotel itself, I found it very clean. The A/C in our room worked great which was a must for the day we were there as the sun was strooooong. We had a two level room and found no difference in temperature between the levels -- both were cooled evenly. Yes, the furnishings are a bit tired but they are functional and clean. The shower was fine and there were plenty of towels, soaps, etc. The breakast was very good -- typical Italian buffet breakfast. Overall, my only minor complaint is that we arrived around 11am tired from an overnight flight and they really didnt do anything to speed up our check in -- they kept repeating their stated check in time was 2pm and our room was not ready until exactly then. It was just a minor annoyance. Plenty of restuarants and shops are in walking distance. If you've got a cruise or a ferry to catch from Civitacecchia, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aremk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We spent only a night, came late and had to catch ferry early next morning. The hotel is located close to the ferry terminal and that was the primary reason why it was chosen.
Upon arrival I was told to drive to the back side of the hotel where they had a parking lot. Nobody met us there and it was not easy to find the way to the reseption. The parking lot was of a "stack" type and they shuffled cars all the time. Considering that, I had to come down very early to get my car out to avoid any delays.
We ordered dinner in the hotel's restaurant and after one and a half hour waiting asked a waiter about our order. After an investigation we were informed that our order was somehow lost and we had to wait for another hour. Although we were given a free bottle of wine the experince was unpleasant.
We had a very nice 2-level room on the sea side. Other reviewers mentioned problems with air conditioning in such rooms but I can't confirm this. Each level had AC which worked just fine.
Value wasn't great as the room was quite expensive, but Civitavecchia is not a cheap place.
Can be recommended for a short stay if you have to catch early ferry.

Room Tip: Water front room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Samarcanda
Samarcanda
#7 of 10 in Civitavecchia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: £76 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing