We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My family, a party of 7, stayed in this hotel the day before our cruise. From the moment we entered we were treated with above expectation service. Even though we weren't the only ones staying in the hotel the staff treated us as though we were. The rooms were nice, the view from my room was amazing, and the bar had a relaxed atmosphere. The dining room was fantastic, the manager showed us the fresh catches of the day and allowed us to choose which ones we wanted and then had the chef prepare an authentic Italian meal (4 courses). If I'm ever in the area again this will be my one and only choice to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mr Brian T,
thank you for your choose Hotel San Giorgio before the cruise and for the review on Trip Advisor.
We would like to thank you for your nice words and we are really glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, relaxing before the Cruise. We would like to remind to all the Guest that with a small extra charges they can have a room with a magnificent view on the sea.
We are really proud about our restaurant, we work really hard on our standards of food and service, and the exposure of fresh fish it is a must in our restaurant, with the opportunity to choose the preferred dish. Furthermore we would like to inform all the guest that we have also a mena a la carte with a great selection of fish and meat dishes with homemade pasta.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next stay at the Hotel San Giorgio.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    220
    97
    35
    29
See reviews for
138
304
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel and staff were generally good but they were totally overshadowed by their deceptive policies.
First, we were told that if we had dinner in the hotel the night before our cruise we could check out at 12 noon. If we didn't have dinner at the hotel we had to check out at 10AM which was 3 hours before we could board our cruise ship.
Second, we were told that we could use their transfer service to our cruise ship for 10 Euros each starting at 12 noon. This seemed very convenient for the later checkout time but very inconvenient if we were forced out of our room at 10AM. The only way we could get a later check out was to have dinner in the hotel the night before or pay extra.
The fact that they wanted to charge us 10 Euros each for our transfer seemed exorbitant especially because we could see our ship from street in front of the hotel. They didn't bother to tell us that it was a short two block walk to the main gate of the port where we could pick up a free shuttle to our ship. We had to figure this out for our selves. The only reason that I can determine that they didn't tell us about the free shuttle is that they wanted to get more money out of our pockets. If they had told us at least we would have had the choice to make for ourselves, the convenience of the hotel transfer or the price of the free shuttle.
We felt totally taken advantage of and manipulated in the favor of the Hotel San Giorgio. We have never experienced anything like this in our past travels so we hope that this is unique to this hotel. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mr Patn2012

Thank you for your stay and for your review on trip advisor about your experience before the Cruise. We are happy to read about the good attitude of our staff but we do not agree on your description of the Hotel.
As any other Hotel in the world, there are fixed time for check in and check out and they have to be observed. We give the opportunity to the guest that decide to eat at our restaurant and leave the room at 12.00 am or if the guest prefer can have late check out on charge.
Regarding the shuttle service , our service depart from the front of the Hotel and furthermore we are the unique transfer company that has the permission of arrive underneath the ship in order to board with the utmost comfort and in the small cost of € 10,00 it is included also the portarage service.
For those that prefer to carry all their luggage for to blocks and wait at the bus station, inside the port they can take the free shuttle of the port that will stop in every ship.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

after researching for months decided on this hotel for a stay on April 1st 2014 and was very happy that everything that was said about this hotel was true. This place blew me and my family (party of seven) out of the water, they went out of the way to make it seem that we were the only people in the entire hotel (which we weren't) They even had their chief do up an authentic Italian meal for us which was delicious in their dining room. Rooms were very comfortable and welcoming (if you get the chance try to get room 101- comes with a terrace and great view) From check-in to check-out this hotel did not fail in anyway. Was the perfect start to the cruise that we took and look forward to staying with them again in the future. Outstanding job guys, was the best hotel we stayed in even after returning to Rome!!!

Room Tip: room 101 has a great view of the ocean along with a big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before our cruise. The staff and reception were very welcoming. Our family room was spacious, but beyond that slightly worn. The room was clean and adequate for our stay, not the quality of a four star. The kids had an uncomfortable sofa bed. Breakfast was heavy on sweets, but was plentiful. The hotel has an amazing view of the water.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaufmanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel for 4 nights before cruise, mostly because of the good reviews and the look of hotel in the pictures.

With good pictures they can hide fact that hotel is not that good looking in nature. Furniture in the room was littlebit outdated.

Breakfast was not that good, and got worst day by day. Very small place with few tables, and limited variety of food

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maksim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I chose this hotel for my stay in Civitavecchia before a cruise. I booked directly with them and their front desk was very helpful and friendly.

I booked a standard room with sea view and I also reserved the shuttle service from Fco Airport to the hotel- I'm glad I did so! The shuttle driver met me at the airport and helped with my luggage. Again, very friendly and personable service (I received it throughout my stay at the hotel, so I may mention it again:), and he gave me some great tips about Civitavecchia.

The room was nice, with amazing view to the sea, but the real treat was the fabulous bathroom in marble. And I had an amazing breakfast (included in the price), not the usual cold pastry with boxed juice, but a real feast with tons of fresh fruit (wow). BTW, the restaurant in this hotel is great. I was too tired to try to look for a different place for dinner, so I just went downstairs, not having great expectations. The dinner I had , paired with the recommended wine, was absolutely worth going back to the restaurant even if not staying at the hotel. A must try!

Quick and easy checkout in the morning, a stroll around the town, and I got back to the hotel to find my luggage loaded in the shuttle and the driver waiting for me, to take me to the ship. The hotel staff knows how to make you feel special and they do not spare efforts in doing so.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel in Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christov V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Christov V,

thank you for your review and for staying with us before your cruise. We are really glad to know you have enjoyed your stay and that you have appreciated the attitude of our staff.

Our shuttle service from the Fco Airport to the Hotel San Giorgio is really appreciated from all the guest , and we kindly remind to everybody to ask information at our reservation office.

Regarding the breakfast, all the sweeties and patisserie is realized by our Chef and in order to satisfy all the Guest we have also a great selection of cold cats and cheese.

We are glad you have enjoyed our restaurant and the delicious food , we are really proud about our service and our kitchen.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next stay in Civitavecchia.

Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel San Giorgio for two nights before our January Cruise. We had prompt and courteous transportation from FCO and fast check-in once we arrived at the hotel. We were assigned to a smaller upstairs room, no view to speak of, but good-sized bathroom/shower area. Nice breakfast array in the morning. We thoroughly enjoyed room service one evening - the pasta was excellent! The hotel is located such that one can walk and visit many little shops in the area. We had prompt transportation to the port to our ship. We will stay here again when cruising out of Rome.

Room Tip: We had a cruise package deal -- transport from FCO, room, evening meal, and breakfast so we anticipa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear TravelerS,

thank you for your review and for chose Hotel San Giorgio for your stay in Civitavecchia.
We are glad you have enjoyed the transportation service and that you enjoyed the room. Our Shuttle service from the FCO Airport to the Hotel and from the Hotel to the Cruise terminal (underneath the ship) is well appreciated from our guest.
We would like to advise all the cruise travelers that with a small extra charge they can ensure a marvelous sea view room.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our restaurant, a must for all cruise travelers with a delicious selection of fresh fish and homemade pasta.
We would like also to inform all the Guest that all the all the breakfast cakes are prepared directly by our Chef.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next trip to Civitavecchia.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
305 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Property: Hotel San Giorgio
Address: Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing