We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenuata dell'Argento, Civitavecchia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tenuata dell'Argento, Civitavecchia”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

LOVED IT!!!! A group of six friends, not knowing what to expect, were collected at Rome airport by the hotel’s organised mini-coach. We were all as excited as 6 year olds! It took us about an hour to get to this simple but adorable hotel; certainly not 4/5 star but what a brilliant way to start our holiday as it was so close to the port! The approach via an uphill dirt track had super views across the Tyrrhenian Sea and port of Civitavecchia where we would be picking up our first Azamara cruise. What greeted us was a homely place perched high on a hill beaming so full of character and absolutely perfect for us to commence our holiday. The rooms were all different with lots of space and very large comfortable beds, each room had a little fridge with complimentary water in a little fridge, lots of wardrobe space and free Wi-Fi. Our room smelled a little musty, even with the windows open but the others were fine! The sun was beginning to go down so the sunset was stunning; the place ‘appeared’ empty so we sat outside, drank acceptable Prosecco, chilled and then all got ready for dinner. The restaurant was packed and really lively, (they looked like locals and not holiday makers). Food was enjoyable with lots of local Beef, we cooked it on red hot sizzling plates and drank local wine (an acquired taste) but had a fun evening and the Staff were very friendly (after the initial cool reception!). A great night’s sleep, lots of hot water, white fluffy towels and an adequate breakfast (though not brilliant), coffee was however excellent. The next morning we all took a stroll around the grounds, the setting just perfect, horses, a pool, serenity all on a hill with stunning views. The garden area needs ‘some maintenance’ but all in all we absolutely loved this little ‘find’ and will definitely go back when we take our next cruise. (Thanks to Mark, who did the research to find it).

Room Tip: room overlooking sea of next to it with a bath better than the room in the corner (23) as there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    97
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
69
113
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at this hotel before catching our cruise. The hotel has beautiful views of the Tyrrhenian Sea and port of Civitavecchia. The resort is high on the hills above the town and offers everything from horse back rides to relaxing by the pool. It is not hard to find from the main highway, but if you are in town and trying to cross the highway to find the hotel, you may be in for some adventure. The best strategy is to follow the signage for Terme di Traiano (Trajans Baths), then follow the road to the right just before the baths and watch carefully for the signs on your right going up the hills. Contrary to the popular saying "You can miss it" as I frequently did. Good luck. It is well worth the effort to find this resort.

Room Tip: Our room was on the end with full view of the port and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerlodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After renting a car at the Rome airport the drive to Civi was easy with the directions. This small resort in the hills overlooking the town and sea has plenty of parking and rooms arranged in motel-style are only steps away. Despite our early arrival the owner greeted us warmly in English and showed us to our large and well appointed room with furniture in local woods and exposed beams. The included European-style breakfast offered a range of items plus espresso made by the owner. The dinner menu featured local produce, pasta and the farm's meat, which was delicious. From the resort you can walk in the hills, swim in the pool, horseback ride or visit a local ruin. The owner will also arrange transportation to/from Civi. Most guests are Italians, but this is the ideal way for anyone to experience rural Italy.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Amazing location and views. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, you feel like you know them. The pool is great with very comfy sun loungers, free towels are available from reception - sun on the pool all day. Rooms are cool ( with air con) large and comfy, bathroom was recently renovated with excellent shower, huge bed, lots of towels (changed every day), sky tv, small fridge. Breakfast was a buffet with pastries, cheese, ham, bread, eggs, yoghurts, juices and amazing coffee. The restaurant in the evening was out of this world, since the resort is a working farm all the meat is their own and was amazing. We had the meat on hot rock which in reality was cook your own steak in a granite sizzling plate, huge amount of amazing meat. We didn't have it but everyone raved about the house red wine. Amazing location which we will defiantly be back to stay again. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms have either a sea or countryside view so you can request either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenm999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I went to this ranch-style hotel to go to a cruise for our honeymoon. We stayed in this hotel for two days. The first night we were here, we were told to take a train or taxi to Civitavecchia train station. It was a bit of a trip, but it was okay. We relaxed and ate some delicious dinner that night. The next day, we took the shuttle to the train station again and then went to see the Colosseum. The driver was nice enough to tell us what to expect and how to get there. When we came back, the shuttle picked us up again. We couldn't use the payphone so we used our cell phones. No shuttle charges or tips were expected, so that was great. The ranch environment is amazing. It has a beautiful landscape with roaming cattle, dogs, and horses. There is a pool and restaurant at the hotel. The second night we went to dinner, we got the wine with our meal and it was great.

The only reason I am not giving the full 5-star rating to this hotel is that there is an overwhelming amount of ants on the walkways around the hotel. Since this is a ranch, I suppose it's expected to have bugs around, but the environment was too hot to wear sneakers so when we walked in sandals and stopped for even a second, the ants would crawl on our feet. My husband also got stung by a wasp while we were dining that second night, but I don't blame them for that and they took immediate care of him to make sure he was alright, and for that I am grateful.

Room Tip: Get the wine with your meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AguaMyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lunch and dinner at Tenuta dell'Argento are fabulous! Breakfast is good, not great. All of the people who worked there were extremely helpful, and the room was comfortable. I have to say that the room was a tad worn, but nothing that I wouldn't expect from a ranch-type property out in the country.

Room Tip: The room with a view of the harbor is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itslaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a hotel located up in the hills over the harbor. Lovely view of the sea. Located on a ranch, with a restaurant on site. Staff was very nice, and helpful with our bags, which had at least 40 pounds of my shoes...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
711 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#7 of 10 in Civitavecchia
166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta dell'Argento Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta dell'Argento Resort

Property: Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Address: Colline dell'Argento s.n.c., 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenuta dell'Argento Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel have a Restaurant where we serve meat of our production ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tenuta dell'Argento Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Dell`Argento Hotel Civitavecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing