We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but comfortable”
Review of Sport Hotel Pocol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sport Hotel Pocol
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Cullinan, South Africa
Level Contributor
199 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small but comfortable”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room we had was small but comfortable. The décor of the room is very stylish. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our meals were tasty and the portions almost too big. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, would have loved to see more of the vicinity.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are available, as we only stayed one night that was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
28
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were biking and stopped one night on the way to our summit. The manager of the hotel knows the surrounding well. He gave us lot of tips. We need to set off next day early morning, although the break fast starts usually at 8 AM. The manager organized us special breakfast at 7AM. We would ceratinly recommend this hotel for everyone who likes simple, clean and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect for summer walks - lots of key routes pass by Pocol, which is higher up than Cortina. Beautiful views of the mountains.

Our newly refurbished penthouse room was spacious and quite romantic. Dinner options feel home-made and are really nice with fresh bread, salads etc. I personally found breakfast a bit disappointing with not enough fresh 'healthy' options available, but the cake selection was pretty tasty nevertheless :)

It's a family-run hotel with friendly staff who give you enough space to do your own thing, but still make you feel at home. Loved Berni the dog.

No elevator so add climbing the stairs to your day of physical activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estonian_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

the location, a few kilometers from the center of Cortina, does not guarantee a good access to the slopes. There isn't any shuttle service to the lifts. So if you want to avoid taking the car you have to walk along a curve, enter a private property and make a short stretch of woods (several meters) to cross a slope from which start skiing.
The hotel is old, but cozy and warm thanks to the kind guys of the staff. The rooms are small and a bit dusty.
The restaurant is not bad , but it seems that there is someone just good at cooking rather than an actual chef in the kitchen ...
Nice staff, quite cheap prices, but uncomfortable for the position in relation to the lifts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2U5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in the adjecent Meuble Piccolo Pocol, but had diner in the Sport Hotel. This is a very advisable experience. Ample portions of wonderful dishes, regional cuisine and for Cortina more than reasonable prices. Do not forget to include a large glass of wonderful Chianti "house" wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A very nice hotel with very helpful staff, situated next to the forests with excellent views in the surrounding mountains. We stayed there just for one night before starting our trek to Pelmo, but it was a very nice overture for our Dolomite experience. I recommend it because it has a more alpine feel than staying to Cortina though its pretty close (even for us who we hadn't private vehicle, there is a bus until 7 pm and afterwards taxis).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konstantinos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We usually book a very nice meublé in Cortina town, but this year we had decided to stay closer to Socrepes, where the kids take their skiing lessons. The proximity was the only really good thing about this mess of a hotel.

When I booked the family room in September I was in contact with a perfectly agreeable person called Massimo. Unfortunately he couldn't promise the room from the first of January, so we got a room for the week 02/01/2012 (D/M/Y) - 08/01/2012, which is normal during this season in Cortina. Only full weeks can be booked. Which is really crazy, since the "hotel week" never actually corrisponds to the "ski school week". But this is something to discuss with the hotels' association of Cortina I guess.

Sorry for digressing.

Anyway, during the first days of december I started calling the hotel, hoping to speek to Massimo. He was never there. He could never come to the phone. Other people, rather unpleasant, eventually managed to confirm my booking.

Then on the first, while traveling by car to Cortina, I called the hotel, because Massimo had promised to give me any room that by chance was left by other customers early.

Initially it seemed there was a double free, which would have been fine as the kids could stay with friends in town.

But as soon as they realized who was calling, the double room disappeared. Ok, I called the hotel next door (Piccolo Pocol, extremely nice meublé!) and they had a room free.

Finally the next day, January 2, we checked in. The hotel staff was extremely surprised by the fact that our children are not babies, but rather big pre-teens, even though I had told them this repeatedly. They had to get an extra bed from another hotel. The room they finally gave us was extremely small with hardly no space to move.

The bathroom was small and unpractical as well. Bathtub instead of shower. And no possibility to use it as shower since the shower faucet didn't have a holder.

Actually these things are unpractical, but don't really matter.

What matters is that we arrived after the first day of skiing and the water was only lukewarm. No way to get hot water. After one shower it was cold.
So I complained. And the answer was "Well, this is a hotel in the mountains you know. Obviously the plumming is colder than in other places..."
It took them two days of complaining to raise the water temperature. Obvuously the plumming had decided to cooperate...

The room was cold too and the radiators spent. No way I could dry the kids clothes. So I asked them about it and they referred to an Italian law that regulates radiator hours. The law undoubtedly exists, but in 10 years of tourism I have never come across a hotel in the Dolomites that applies those laws. We have kids with wet clothes for heavens sake! So after two days of complaining, we finally found the room heated when we came back.

Next, dinner time. The included menu was extremely poor. The rice was almost uncooked, the portion was too small, che chicken dish consisted mostly of wings so I spent the whole dinner trying to find som meat for the kids. Next morning, breakfast. Extremely poor. No fresh juices, no fresh coffee. Everything from a machine. Industrial bread, but som mornings there were only cakes, no bread at all. When one morning I asked where the whole fat natural yogurt was, the breakfast-girl told me that since I was the only one eating non-sugary yogurt, of course that type would finish before other types of yogurt. Sigh.

Then we told the hotel that we were leaving early. It had nothing to do with the hotel, only with my husbands work. So on the last morning I go down and remind the owner that we're leaving. And he raises his voice with a really insulting tone (you have to travel to Rome to know what I mean) telling me that we would never get a discount, and it was not his fault we were leaving, and other such things.

I was really glad to leave the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Pocol
Hotel Piccolo Pocol
#29 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#38 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel Pocol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Pocol

Property: Sport Hotel Pocol
Address: Localita Pocol, 47 | Veneto, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sport Hotel Pocol 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport Hotel Pocol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Pocol Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing