We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel Choice-A Real Gem!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for three days in November of 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had a street side room and found the view to be very nice. The room was quiet, very spacious, clean and comfortable. It had two king beds, mini-bar and two big windows to enjoy the view. They even provided bath robes and slippers. The cold/hot breakfast which came with the room was just outstanding. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Our compliments to the hotel staff and management!!
Ed @ Andra Higgins

Room Tip: Recommend street side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

One of the best hotel I've ever seen. Extremely clean, big rooms with perfect service. Nice view on Dolomiti and ski's tracks

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancefloork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you want to enjoy the best of Cortina, you definitely have to stay in this hotel. Its convenient location and the excellent structure makes you feel pampered at any time. The staff is very friendly, rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. They also have a Spa and a swimming pool. Only thing is the treatments are a bit expensive. A plus for the food: from breakfast to dinner, everything is great. And if you have enough money...go for the Barbie Suite!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishprincess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is well located and rooms are reasonable. Breakfast is good with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Service, however, is variable and occasionally poor. Laundry service was very efficient. A new free airport shuttle has been introduced but then does not operate at weekends! Plan B. There is an airport bus at the Principe station opposite the hotel. I enquired about the schedule and given wrong times. I'm glad I turned up early as I would have missed the bus othewise. Surely it cannot be difficult for the reception staff to have accurate schedule details on hand when asked? Finally, this hotel is linked to the Continental Hotel next door. You may find a cheaper rate there for a very similar experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

*Location*
Convenient location - 2 minutes walk to Corso Italia, and the ski bus stop is right in front of the hotel. There are many restaurants and shops around, including a supermarket.

*Room*
Tastefully renovated rooms - spacious and bright, with a comfortable bed. We had a corner room which had two lovely french doors that open up to a small balcony. Free internet connection in room, which was an excellent feature in the mountain resort. Large storage space and impeccable bathroom.

*Restaurant*
We booked a half-board package, so breakfasts and dinners as well as the Christmas dinner were included. The choice and variety of foods were simply awesome! Breakfasts were always plentiful with both hot and cold items, fruits, and freshl juice. Dinner menus changed every day, and each evening, we started our meal with an antipasti buffet, followed by an entree (3-4 choices), a main course (3-4 choices), and dessert (2-3 choices). The Christmas dinner was a fantastic 8-course feast! Drinks were not included, though, and were pretty expensive. We ended up paying 48 Euros for 6 bottles of mineral water.

*Service*
Can be hit and miss - in general staff were courteous and professional, but they didn't always understand our concerns and could be indifferent towards our requests. They messed up our reservation initially, despite we made the booking several months in advance. Fortunately, we kept the booking confirmation and the problem was quickly resolved. Service at the spa center was particularly inconsistent - it was always difficult to find a towel or ask for amenities such as slippers. Having said that, staff at the restaurants were much more friendly and helpful.

*Spa*
Despite its lack of service, the spa center was excellent and well-equipped, with a swimming pool, whirl pool, two steam rooms, and two saunas, each provides a specialized function. We didn't have any massage or treatment there so we could not comment on their standard. Entry to the spa center was free, and we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities after a long day on the ski slope.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenoritaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

On judging a hotel like Grand Hotel Savoia one has to measure it against other high class five star luxury hotels. And in this respect it is only average, but with some redeeming features.
We stayed 2 nights.
Overall:
Reception: 4 stars,
Valet service: 3 stars
Concierge: 3 stars
Restaurant: 0 stars
From the outside it looks very nice, and the valet service is efficient. I am not used to being asked by the valet if we're checking in, so I was a tiny bit put off, but a minor detail.
The reception is friendly and polite and kindly took us to the room, our luggage arrived shortly thereafter, so full marks here.
We had a superior room, which was nice and OK spacious. Not lavish but OK. The bathroom was really nice, but odly had noisy plumbing! We had a lovely view of the Dolomittes from our room, so although we were situated at the back of the hotel it was OK.
The hotel is newly renovated so everything is clean and new. The cleaning of the rooms could be a bit better, since the maid didn't wipe the coffee table etc.

Come evening and we asked the concierge where to go for dinner and he recommended their own restaurant. This experience wiped away all the credit and goodwill we had otherwise felt for hotel, it was AWFUL. There were children screeming and yelling everywhere, people shouting and mobile phones ringing everywhere. The waiter had no idea of what he was doing or serving. Halfway through the maincourse we just left. It defied belief that such behavior could take place at such a place! We complained to the Maitre d' , but he just shrugged us of with an apology and saying it wasn't his fault!

Afterwards we complained to the concierge, who promised he would notify the management. We didn't get any reply, until we checked out where upon receiving the bill, we saw that some other people had charged their bartab to our room, the maid had claimed we had taken drinks from the minibar AND the restaurant had charged us in full.
I of course complained again and after the receptionist talked to the manager, the whole tab was annulled and we didn't pay for the restaurant dinner.
This was of course nice of the hotel to do, but it still leaves a huge dent in what is supposed to be a flawless experience.
Pity.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Bache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

not fully functional yet, and very noisy. nobody cares about closing the doors as they are so heavy, everybody just slams them. so you can not hear anything but slamming doors continuously. sound proof is terrible. you hear all what is going on in the corridor and you can not sleep at night due the noise of the night club downstairs. it is clear they just opened, it is not a hotel of any experience, so expect slow rhythms, and difficulties in services.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KlaraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoiacortina, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Savoia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you for your message into TripAdvisro. Kindly book again our Hotel as we have improve a lot since we reopen last year.
You will get a special discount for your next booking. Just ask for Mrs Rosanna
kind rgds
claudia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#21 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
De la Poste
De la Poste
#14 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Roma 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#9 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: £316 - £1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing