We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5***** summer holiday”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5***** summer holiday”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Grand Hotel Savoia in Cortina d'Ampezzo was 5 Star in every respect. While some 5***** function with an almost clinical level of efficiency this hotel had a distinctly warm feel to it. The stand-out for me was the personnel, including the hotel manager.

Roberto the Concierge(spoke good English) and his assistants were approachable and very helpful organizing transfers and providing information for hikes, excursions and other activities. No request was too difficult. In fact, all staff at the front desks, including Reception were also pleasant, obliging and willing to assist in any way.

The wait staff were exceptional; attentive, well-mannered, skilful and very likeable. In the two(2) weeks I was there, the menu changed daily and each meal was excellent. At the breakfast buffet the quality array of hot and cold food catered for many different tastes, plus those tempting treats holiday-makers want, backed up by the 5***** table service. I loved the delicious, cut-up fresh fruit.

Add-ons for Grand Hotel Savoia:

Stunning location in Heritage-listed Dolomites
Lovely smell of alpine trees
Breathtaking views
Effective use of glass......superb outlooks from restaurants and common areas
Bathroom and room furnishings, obviously, up-market but homely and comfortable
Great mirrors
Good in-room safe
Free Wi-Fi
Room Service
Loyalty Program for returning guests offering room upgrades if available
Wellness Centre, including indoor pool - well-organised and clean, high standard equipment, safety and welfare of all guests a priority, as evidenced by timetable
Large carparks
Proximity to shops, main businesses and cable car station to Faloria

Many thanks for such a wonderful holiday. Next year I will be staying an extra week

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gentleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    100
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
102
131
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perugia, italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

As of August 20, 2013 this hotel is listed as the 10th best hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo. When you look at the list of top 10 hotels in Cortina only one other 5 star hotel, Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf, (#4) is in the top 10. This makes no sense. This hotel is excellent. The staff is INCREDIBLE. I stayed at this hotel in August with my family (3 kids, wife) in a two bedroom suite. Starting from when we got there, parked the car, and the bellhop ran out to help us, it was clear that we were in a different type of hotel. Look, this is a great hotel. It does the extra stuff like have the chamber maid turn down your bed and draw your curtains AND set out 5 pairs of pajamas on everyone's bed (including the 10 month old baby's!) while you are having dinner, light your cigarette for you just when you were wondering where you left your lighter, remind you at dinner that you didn't bring your ice pack to put in the kitchen's freezer so that tomorrow morning your icepack is frozen for your backpack cooler, learn your name and call you by it, give you advice at the concierge that is so precise and so warm that you wonder how they could know just want you want.
So really, tripadvisor users - which Grand Hotel Savoia did you stay at?

Room Tip: Top floors away from the main street. If at all possible a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinjodenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I hope I do not upset many people when I say that Cortina is "so 70s".... After having been in Austria for several years, we thought to make a change in our ski routin and go to Cortina this year. And what a dissapointment it was! The entire resort and surroundings are old and nothing compares to the fellow Austrians who invested a lot in their ski tourism. But, unlike the location, the hotel compensated for all the minuses that Cortina has. Recently refurbished, the hotel is your best choice in Cortina! The rooms are big and stylish, the SPA is a great choice after a day on the slopes and the restaurant does its best to make you feel welcomed. We were very impressed with the restaurant's staff: we celebrated our daughter's 2nd anniversary there, and the staff made her feel like a true princess:) So if you choose Cortina for your vacation, be sure to book at Savoia!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadaNea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is located within a block of the pedestrian mall with its shopping and restaurants easily available. It is attractive, well-maintained, and both the breakfasts and dinner we had there were very good. We thought it was one of the best places to stay in Cortina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 679JDM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we spend 5 lovely nights in this beautiful hotel. Service was good, specially thanks to Roberto. He give us very useful tips. Lovely weather and beautiful surroundings. Spa was great and only for adults ( relaxing ). No noises, only cleaning ladys banging the doors in the mornings. We sure recomended this for everybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

the pool is closed to kids below 12 yrs after 5 pm and before 11 am, i.e. when every family comes back from a day out and would like to use the pool. very unfriendly, strict rule!
otherwise the hotel is well located and service is in general 5 star compliant.
the spa area is supposedly managed separately.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank claude a j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our family stayed at the Grand Savoia for 5 days in March to enjoy the skiing in Cortina. It was an easy 2 hour drive from Venice. Not only were we treated to 20 inches of fresh snow, but also to a wonderful stay. We paid for the half board, which included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast spread was beautiful with both hot and cold food as well as delicious pastries. The dinner menu was also good with new choices each evening. The wait staff were very attentive and we especially enjoyed Stefano. The rooms felt very "spa-like", with minimal furnishings and warm wood tones. The beds were harder than we are used to, but I find that to be consistent in Europe. The location was also convenient to downtown Cortina for shopping. The bar was a nice quiet place to hang, altough I thought the drink prices were too high. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Cortina.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNYCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#13 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#20 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Roma 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#9 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing