We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the world looking down on creation”
Review of Rifugio Lagazuoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rifugio Lagazuoi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 March 2014

During our family week of skiing nearby we took one day to visit Lagazuoi, we go there early and took the cable car to the Rifugio and then took the time to take it all in. The views were literally outstanding and breathtaking, the air so pristine clear, it was a day we will always remember. Lunch at the Rifugio was so yummy....lots of people but service was fast and good. We then skied down the back of the hill, an easy 7 km run with wonderful views all around.... Tops was the experience of taking the horse drawn cords to take us all to the parking and bus area. Strongly recommend...for non skiers coming up and down the cable car is a great alternative.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieBottazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a private room with two bunk beds. Three toilets were shared between the rooms on the top floor but this seemed sufficient as I didn't once see a queue. (Our travelling companion stayed downstairs in one of the dorms and did encounter a queue). We slept well in our bunks with no noise to disturb us and one of the best views out a bedroom window I have ever had.

The showers cost an additional €3.50 and the outdoor sauna, which must have amazing views, costs €15.

The food was quite good, we definitely didn't go hungry. They have an interesting concept of serving two choices on one plate. For example, there were two different pastas available and unless you specified otherwise, you got a half portion of each. It was the same with the main course: two different meats.

The welcome wasn't anything special but they were very busy. There must have been at least 60 guests in the refuge the night we stayed. The waiting staff at dinner were friendly. Breakfast was good (soft boiled eggs take 8 mins at that altitude) and tea was served in a teapot that I would gladly have taken home!

The wifi worked well. If they can manage that at 2750 metres, why do other hotels struggle?

The views from the terrace, especially at sunset, are simply fabulous. However, the best bit about staying in Lagazuoi is being first on the mountain in the morning. To ski down the hidden valley almost alone was simply fantastic and highly recommended. I would stay there again just for that reason.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in February with 10 other friends. We all slept in the 12 person dorm which was quite comfortable and clean. The sleep area was small but was adequate for sleeping. The bunks came with a fitted sheet, pillow, and comforter. The downside was that you had to pay for showers (3.50eu for 25L of water). The best part was the upstairs restaurant and bar, which served high quality food and a variety of beers. The ambiance was great with other lodgers socializing and playing music. Everyone was having a great time!
The lodge provided a covered area for ski storage and a mud room in the basement with a large rack for drying boots. Though we reserved beds for 2 nights, my gf and I had to leave a day early and the owner was kind enough to refund our money for 1 night!
Unfortunately, we arrived on a day when it was very foggy with limited visibility, so I can't review the scenery. But I'm sure its gorgeous on clear days. The lodge sits atop Mt. Lagazuoi so be aware of the last lift times daily.
Overall this was a great ski in, ski out lodge. It was great to wake up and get right to skiing since we were already on top of the mountain! The owners are fantastic and very accommodating to our large group.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we made a ski trip with an overnight stay each night in a different rifugio. Due to bad weather we spent 7 nights at the Rifugio Lagazuoi instead of 1 night . It is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting. The day of departure we saw what a great view you have there. The owner Guido and his staff made ​​the stay very pleasant. the cook Paolo managed to surprise us every day with his delicious cuisine. The sauna was stoked daily.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently had our third two-night stay at the Rifugio Lagazuoi and we just love it. (I agree with a previous review that I don't really want to share it with anyone else.) It is perched on top of one of the infamous rocks that was a battleground between the Austrians and the Italians in the First World War and has the most incredible views, especially at sunset. In particular, the 'view from the loo' is unique. Everything else is great, especially the food. The rooms (for couples or smaller groups) are simple and peaceful and the staff are friendly and welcoming. If you are not in a big group, you will meet new people at dinner, all part of the 'rifugio' experience. You need to clamber up a metail stairway from the arrival of the cable car - exciting with wind and snow - but that's all part of the adventure! (And we are 'seniors'.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at Refugio Lagazuoi for a night in January 2014. We happened to arrive on a bad weather day and all the lifts closed early due to the blizzard conditions. We were glad to be holed up in this delightful Refugio for the night. We spent the afternoon having a few beers with homemade crisps (delicious) and playing chess. There were a good number of other guests staying the night but we had a dormitory to ourselves - the staff obviously make an effort to give guests privacy where possible. Dinner was delicious - three courses of hearty mountain fare. The beds were comfortable and the shower facilities perfectly adequate. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay - even Tony the dog! We were sad to stay only one night. In the morning we skied down the Hidden Valley to Armentarola - the most picturesque piste I have experienced even although the weather was bad at the top. Stop at Refugio Scotoni on the way down for a great coffee! We would definitely recommend a stay here. There is also a fantastic souvenir shop at Passo Falzarego at the bottom of the Lagazuoi lift - not to be missed if you have a thing for nick nacks and souvenirs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wiggleshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A fantastic New Years stay exemplified by wonderful friendly staff. Fantastic location perfect for many mountain activities. Excellent value for money. Very comfortable accommodation (double room). Thank you !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
6.2 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
168 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
247 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
376 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
442 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rosapetra Spa Resort
Rosapetra Spa Resort
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Lagazuoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Lagazuoi

Address: Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: £25 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifugio Lagazuoi is one of the most elevated mountain inns in the Dolomites. Its spacious deck is so famous for the breathtaking views on the Dolomite peaks , UNESCO World Heritage.It is nestled on the summit of Mount Lagazuoi above Passo Falzarego, half way between Cortina d'Ampezzo and Val Badia, between the Natural Park of Fanes and Sennes and the one of the Ampezzo Dolomites. It can be easily reached hiking or by the Lagazuoi cable car.It's an excellent starting point to visit the restored galleries, trenches and emplacements of the 1st World War Open Museum and to ski along the famous Armentarola, the longest and most spectacular slope of the Dolomites, and on all the slopes of the Cortina and Val Badia ski areas.It offers accommodation, bar and restaurant service with local specialities like polenta with roe deer or the typical strudel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rifugio Lagazuoi Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing