We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatched level of personal service”
Review of Hotel Natale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Natale
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unmatched level of personal service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent a week at the Natale for a ski trip with a friend in mid-March; the entire experience was perfect from the time we checked in to the time we checked out; what made it special was the intimate experience Natale offers due to its small size and personalized service offered by its proprietor manager Stefano; when we arrived our room with specially requested twin beds was ready; Stefano was anticipating our arrival greeting us by name and had everything all set up for us so there was no need for additional paperwork; within literally two minutes we had our room keys, tips on where to ski, where to rent equipment (across the street) and where to eat (Ariston and Al Camin on Stefano's map/list are great and offer a 10% discount to Natale guests); any requests we had such as an adapter for the wall socket, key for the in room safe and additional pillows were immediately attended to; throughout the week Stefano was available to offer advice or just for a chat; the hotel itself reflects traditional alpine architecture with extensive hand crafted wood work and paneling throughout the interior of the hotel and guest rooms which makes it warm and unique; we stayed in room # 106 a Superior room which opened onto an extensive patio with great views of the mountains and had plenty of storage space; the room has a small separate entry foyer which is convenient to store your ski outerwear and a spacious modern bathroom; we were on the same floor as the reception to had great access to the common lounge with comfortable sofas; breakfast was served a flight of stairs down from our room in the taverna; the selection at breakfast was not super extensive but still offered plenty of variety with good quality offerings so that we were still looking forward to it after a week; the fresh selection of coffees made to order served as the icing on top; we found the location of Natale extremely convenient a short 5 minute walk to the center of town where we could access plenty of restaurants, shops, grocery store, pharmacy etc.; we had rented a car to access the ski areas around Cortina but rarely used it while in town; we had no problem parking at Natale; there is a equipment storage area on the outside of the hotel around the corner from the front door and a ski bus stop right across the street; if you a looking for a clean, convenient, intimate hotel with an unmatched level of personal service then Natale is the place for you; Stefano thanks for being a great host, we will definitely look forward to staying with you next time we are in Cortina FS & AV

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faisal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Unmatched level of personal service" review following your stay with us.

We are again delighted to read that another of our Guests enjoyed so much of their time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel decor, its location and the service from our staff.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

Kindest regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    115
    20
    8
    0
See reviews for
83
216
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel Natale in Cortina from February 15th thru 23rd. Overall, we liked our stay in the hotel. Here are our obervations:
- Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Stefano, the hotel manager, was extremely helpful in suggesting us good dinner spots at Cortina and making reservations for us. All his suggestions were topnotch.
- Very good maintainance of hotel facilities.
- Large, well-appointed rooms, with good view of Dolomiti mountains.
- Comfortable mattress, good sleep.
- Excellent location - close to the city center and ski bus stop.
A few minor suggestions to the hotel is to make breakfast a bit more varied, and upgrade the hotel lobby by making it somewhat larger and installing a fireplace. Otherwise, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you come to Cortina by car, make sure you rent the chains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulenikatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Hotel Natale. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and the level of service we have provided during your stay.

Furthermore, we are happy that we have achieved your expectations and we thank you for your kind suggestions. It will be an honor for us to welcome you back to our property and we definitely look forward to that day.

Sent with best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I only can confirm numerous positive reviews:
Host Stefano is an extra Star to this property.
Location - 2 minutes walk to the main pedestrian area.
Parking size is sufficient: more parking spaces then rooms in hotel.
Spa is nice , cozy. Price ( 14 euro per person) probably scares other customers but make it totally private and intimate for as long as you wish ( 3 PM to 8 PM). Spa has sauna, small steam room, jacuzzi, etc.
We tried 5 of 6 restaurants that has 10% discount for hotel Natale clients. All 5 were great. I have doubt now that you can find bad tasting restaurant in Cortina. Stefano even recommended to us delicious restaurant in Venice: "Hosteria Al Vecio Braggosso". I was not able to find decent restaurant in Venice in the past and gave up after dozen attempts.

Steve

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your taking the time to write this review from your most recent stay with us in Hotel Natale.

Your kind comments about our staff, the location and the services at our property are much appreciated as we always aim to exceed our Guests expectations.

Again, we thank you so much for choosing us and we all look forward to hosting you back on another occasion.

Sent with our best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Natale for a week in January 2013 while on a skiing holiday to Cortina. We booked a superior room with a balcony with mountain views. The balcony turned out to be a massive wrap-around terrace on the ground floor. This initially worried us since we thought we might be able to hear people coming and going (the reception was close by) but we needn't have worried at all since it was phenomenally quiet during the night (in fact, I woke up specifically because it was SO quiet :) ).

The room was of a perfectly acceptable size with lots of cupboard space, including some extra space by the door for outdoor gear. Bed was comfy and although we couldn't really make use of the massive terrace due to the snow (except for storing drinks), I imagine it would be lovely in the summertime to sit outside (there were chairs and a table) and enjoy breakfast or a take-out dinner. We also ordered breakfast to our room (extra charge of 5 euros per person) and, combined with a bottle of prosecco we'd purchased earlier, it was a fantastic beginning to the day. The room was ultra-clean, one of the cleanest I've ever stayed at.

The hotel breakfast was very good compared to other ones I've had at other Italian hotels. There was an assortment of the obligatory typical rolls with the hard crust, toast, croissants (very good!), chocolate cake, other cakes and biscuits, speck and ham, a variety of cheeses, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereals, juices and hot drinks. All in all, a very good start to the day. The lady serving the breakfast was super-friendly and nice and she made a fantastic hot chocolate.

In fact, all the staff were extremely friendly (which was quite a contrast to the rest of the people working for the tourist industry in Cortina) and spoke good English.

The only real issue I had with the hotel was its location. We partly chose the hotel based on previous TA reviews which gave the impression that it's in a convenient location. I'm not entirely sure I agree. Yes, the skibus stop is literally 30 steps from the hotel door. But the skibus only takes you to the two cable cars in Cortina. If you want to go skiing outside Cortina (ie. actually make use of that Dolomiti superski pass) and you don't have a car, you will have to haul yourself over to the bus station. The bus station is a brisk 10 minute walk from the hotel but half of it is uphill, and if you're carrying your ski gear at 7.30 am the road feels much longer and steeper. Alternatively, you can take the ski bus to the bus station but you will first have to travel in a loop around the entire town before finally getting to the station. Also, we had dinner in town in the evenings and although, again, it's only a 5 minute walk to the beginning of the pedestrian main street, it isn't particularly comfortable when it's pouring down with snow and rain and the pedestrian pavement is somewhere under heaps of snow, which means you're dodging cars and getting soaked by them. Our feet were utterly drenched and icecold after these lovely little walks. So, if you don't have a car but do have the cash (since many of these hotels appeared to be in another price category), I might recommend considering a hotel closer to the bus station and the main pedestrian street. Many of these hotels also have a stop for the ski bus outside their door step.

Other points:
- wifi was free but painfully slow and worked intermittently at best. There seemed to be a rush hour around 6 pm-ish when it gave up altogether and refused to co-operate.
- only one tiny flat pillow in the bed per person. I'm sure I could've asked for some more but was too lazy. This is nitpicking, but just to let those know who, like me, need a mountain of pillows.
- the hotel had a very big and very loud dog which, depending on your viewpoint, is either great or not so great. We had our terrace door open one day and we suddenly noticed the dog sniffing around the terrace!
- breakfast didn't start until 8 am which was too late those days we set out to the other areas covered by the Dolomiti superski pass. (The Cortina Express bus leaves the bus station at 8 am)

However, these are all very small and insubstantial niggles. For someone looking for a hotel in this price range, I would most definitely recommend hotel Natale!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a mountain view and a terrace/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boarding_gate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review following your stay with us. We truly appreciate the time you've taken to share these details and photos with all the readers of Tripadvisor.

We regret to hear you found the location was unfortunate and we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Thank you for your very kind comments on the aspects of your stay you rated so highly, be it the cleanliness, the room size, the sleep quality, the breakfast and the friendliness that sets us apart since day one. On behalf of our entire team we thank you very much.

Thank you also for your constructive notes which we always appreciate. With regards to the Wi-Fi speed, we are currently looking into this matter and will provide a faster connection shortly.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

Sent with all our very best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Cortina for a week of skiing and loved our stay at Natale. The host Stefano was brilliant. Young guy who speaks fluent English. He has hiked, biked and skied the area extensively and set us up each day with the right intel to make the most of the area depending on the snow and weather. He also looked after us perfectly in the hotel which had everything we needed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review with everyone on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your ski holiday at Natale and that you appreciated our front office knowledge of the territory.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you back soon for some hiking in the Dolomites. In this regard we remain at your disposal to keep you informed about the paths conditions in June.

With warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great location, lovely views and two minute walk into town. Stefano could not have been more helpful to English speaking novice skiers. Conveniently located to make it possible to catch a bus to the ski slopes. Shopping was surprisingly good for a family who had lost all their bags and Hotel Natale turned what could have been a disastrous holiday into great fun. Rooms were cosy and warm, beds were comfortable, with a view of the ski slopes at night. Great for a family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your excellent review following your stay with us here in Cortina.

We are all delighted to read you enjoyed your stay despite the lost luggage.

On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon. Please do not hesitate to let us know when we can arrange your details for you.

Sent with our best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We drove from the UK to Cortina during January to stay for 6 nights. It was our first time in the region. We arrived at the Hotel Natale on Sunday evening during a massive snowfall. We had never seen so much snow!! Stefano greeted us and made us feel very welcome. The charming Hotel was perfect. Beautiful wooden decor with carvings. Exceptionally clean, warm, beautiful big rooms with big beds and very quiet despite being in a very convenient location minutes from the busy main pedestrian shopping area. Breakfast was excellent, infact, so good, we didnt need lunch. The young lady serving breakfast was very pleasant and efficient. Stephano was very helpful during our stay advising us on snow walks and ski runs. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He also speaks fluent English. We couldnt find anything negative about this hotel and would highly recommend it. We will most certainly return again. Outstanding value for money and more like a 4 star hotel in terms of service and cleanliness than a 3 star.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view, they are very large and our room had a little hall area for lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Excellent" review following your stay with us last week.

We are again delighted to read that another of our Guests enjoyed so much of their time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your room decor, the hotel location and the service from our staff.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

With kind regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#16 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Natale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natale

Property: Hotel Natale
Address: Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#6 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Natale invites you to look high and far for discovering the beauty of Cortina d'Ampezzo. The hotel fits the stunning Dolomites background, an amazing environment. This liaison gives the unique, warm hospitality with the single touch of friendliness and discretion which has always portrayed Hotel Natale as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Natale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Natale Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing