We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Menardi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Menardi Hotel
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Stranraer, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Hotel Menardi, and this year it was extra special for us as we had decided to marry in Cortina this time around, there is no location as perfect as this.
We stay at the hotel as part of a large group for a curling competition and although we were keeping things quiet and a surprise, we decided to let Antonio Menardi know as we had a few things he could help organise.
On our arrival, the first thing Antonio said to us was 'we're having a surprise party for you on Wednesday night (day before the wedding). Ok, so no longer a surprise. It turns out that the majority of the town knew there would be a Scottish wedding that week and everyone in the group that arrived were going to attend!
We were upgraded to their honeymoon suite which is a gorgeous wood panelled room to the front of the hotel on the second floor, and a balcony to the side. The large bathroom has a corner bath aswell as a full bathroom suite including bidet.
On the morning of the wedding Alberto drove me and my friends partner who was giving me away down to the town centre (about 15 mins walk otherwise) where we met with Antonio who took me down the pedestrianised street on the back of his little decorated Ape cart (small vehicle they use for supplies). It felt like the whole town was out to see us!
After the wedding we were taken back up in the cart to a sports bar where they gave us drinks before we went on to the ice rink for photos....we are curlers.
On our arrival, back at the hotel at night we found our room decorated with balloons and a huge plate of fresh strawberries, cherries, and chocolates, such a lovely touch although I think this was down to friends as well as the hotel!

Breakfast at the hotel is second to none when compared to the other hotels I have stayed at in Europe. A selection of cakes, meats, cheeses, bacon and eggs, fruit, yogurts, juices, need I go on, and the service is fantastic also - your choice of hot drink will be remembered daily by staff!

I cannot thank the Menardi family enough for everything they did for us this year. Looking forward to staying with them again in 2014 and celebrating our first wedding anniversary!

When in Cortina, there is no better hotel to stay and visit.

Enjoy....and if you go before I get back, say hi to everyone for me!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekerkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    58
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
52
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

I was in cortina for a mountain bike trip with my girlfriend and we decided to chose Hotel Menardi because of the tripadvisor rating. The breakfast was great and the ladies working were very friendly and polite, the food in the restaurant was also amazing and so were the hotel staff! Great park in the back and well kept, just a 15 min walk and you are downtown or 2-3 min drive. I personally recommend this place for everyone that wants to feel welcomed and well treated!
Again amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our group of 15 stayed at the Hotel Menardi in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy the beginning of February 2013. This was our second visit after 10 years. It was like "coming home!" The Menardi family and their staff are outstanding!! We enjoyed delicious breakfast buffets and the half board that included the evening meals! What an amazing number of choices, and all well prepared and presented! There were 5 of us that didn't ski. We enjoyed taking refreshments in the lovely, cozy common areas after walking to and from the center of town. There is a bus, if you don't want to walk. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. You can spend hours just looking at the interesting collections of watches, photos, and other antiques displayed throughout the building. This is a wonderful hotel and a delightful, hard working family! We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sflack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our small group (7 couples and 1 single) stayed at Hotel Menardi in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy in early February 2013. We had been to this hotel in 2003 and always wanted to return! This visit was as wonderful as the first time. The service is impeccable .. the family members work very hard to make your stay memorable! The breakfast buffet is delicious, but make sure you take half board so that you get to enjoy the evening meals! The rooms are beautiful .. but the common areas make it extra warm, inviting and enjoyable. Thank you to Franca, Antonio, Andrea, Alberto and Giuse for a wonderful time!
Sincerely, Mary Zumdahl and friends!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Menardi for a week of skiing in February. It is a relatively small family-run hotel on the outskirts of Cortina. The hotel is decorated with numerous photos, pictures and maps showing the history of the hotel and the family who have owned the hotel for several generations. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and always happy to answer whatever question you may have - particularly with regard to the bus system. Our room was on the back of the hotel away from the main road so noise was not a concern. The room was compact with a small desk for working. The bed was turned down while we were having supper. The view from our room was towards the mountains and the walking trail that runs into Cortina. In the restaurant, Flora looked after us with great care, warmth and attention. The food is simple, hearty and plentiful. For dessert lovers, there were three or four choices every evening. Breakfast is buffet-style with hot and cold foods, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. Fresh-squeezed orange juice is available for an additional charge. The ski facilities were limited at the hotel with skis stored in the entry way of the hotel. Ski boots were stored in a back room where there was unfortunately no boot dryer. We enjoyed an afternoon drink in the bar or lounge after skiing. The location of the hotel means it takes some time to get to the ski areas. The ski bus stops in front of the hotel, and takes you to the Piazza Roma. From there, you take another bus to Faloria cable car or to the Tofana Cable Car (Freccia nel Cielo) stopping at the bus station. To go skiing at the Cinque Torri, you go to the bus station and get on a third bus. Nevertheless, once you get to the slopes the skiing is great and the scenery is stunning. We also cross-country skied and were able to put our skis on at the walking trail behind the hotel and ski out to the Fiames Cross Country ski area and then onward in the direction of Dobiacco. The trail is not set regularly on the walkway behind the hotel, so beware! See my recommendation for the Restaurant Ospitale which is along the trail to Dobiacco.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Just outside the crazyness of the town this small hotel can provide the services you might want.
The food and breakfast are delicious and the Spa is quite nice after skyiing.

I have been here several times and quite fun to come back.

Room Tip: ask room in the back ask which building, there are two you might want to stay in the main one, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budrio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I returned in this hotel where I spent many christmas vacation when was a boy with my family,and that was in the sixties and seventies.The atmosphere is still the same,familiar but with great cure for everything. The rooms are delicious,the food great and Menardi family made us feel like time was not passed.My wife and me travelled with Antonio,8 months old baby.After few minutes ,he has become friend of everybody in the hotel and all the personal was full of attention for him.Finally,the location is perfect: easy to walk downtown but also to make fantastic trails without driving.
Great place for everybody,expecially for people travelling with babies.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardio55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#17 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#9 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menardi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menardi Hotel

Property: Menardi Hotel
Address: Via Maion 110, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Menardi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Menardi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menardi Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Menardi Hotel Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing