We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind owners, unfortunate location and poor value”
Review of Menardi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menardi Hotel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The Menardi family are very gracious owners of this hotel and are very helpful. Unfortunately, this does not overcome serious limitations. The hotel is located too far from the center of town for convenient walking. The busy and noisy road directly in front of the hotel is a serious disadvantage as well. The annex in peaceful and quiet but has poor ambience. We cannot recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IcedHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Amazing, the owner, staff all accommodating and helpful.

We were on our honeymoon and stopped off for 3 days here the owner put us up in another room with a terrace.Thank you very much!!After our visit here we stayed in a four star,well let me tell you hotel menardi was of higher quality with the rooms,gardens, food,breakfast.

Value for money!!

Room Tip: get married lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pauls019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed in this charming and cozy hotel for 3 days in January.
Location is not excellent as it's about a 10 minute walk to the center and furthermore it's right on the main road to Val Pusteria which is often congested.
Nevertheless I would certainly go back as the rooms are fine and clean, the staff very efficient and food good.
The bar with the fireplace is what you need to relax after a day spent on the slopes

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great hotel with a friendly staff.
I was traveling alone with my 9 years old son.
Excellent service and also the food was terrific.
We had an unforgettable trip to Cortina. Will defenetly come back and stay at Menardi.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenacharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Menardi in early January 2014 whilst on a skiing holiday. We had two very comfortable rooms near each other. The breakfasts were fabulous and we also really enjoyed the one evening meal we had at the hotel. The staff were very very helpful and have even found and posted back to me some earrings which I accidentally left behind in the room we occupied. We loved the walk into town, although it was a bit icy in places (exactly what you'd expect in mid-winter so no complaints!). The ski bus went from right in front of the hotel so that was all very easy. Overall, a great stay and if we return to beautiful Cortina d'Ampezzo we will definitely return to Hotel Menardi.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1705Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The location was terrific. The staff was amazing. Very helpful with anything you needed.
Get a room with a balcony if you can...the views are wonderful. This hotel is located very near a path into town so you can walk to dinner. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent a most wonderful week at Hotel Menardi in late June 2013. Owned and run by the Menardi family, the service and attentiveness from one and all was greatly appreciated by us. Our rooms were in the annex, both with balcony with lovely views of the surrounding mountains and were both spacious with more than ample storage for all of our clothes and walking gear. Breakfast was served in the dining room, buffet style for the most part, where there were many choices from cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, and the like. We chose to dine-in most nights, as their dinners were excellent and good value, as well. Our primary waitress for both meals was a lovely lady named Flora, who looked after our every need in a most friendly and gracious manner. Other matters of import were the beautiful private grounds of Hotel Menardi, available to all guests, and the paved public pathway above the grounds, making walking into Cortina d'Ampezzo an easy and pleasant journey. Also, the fact that the hotel is about a mile north of Cortina, meant that we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the countryside. In Cortina itself, there are an abundance of good restaurants/cafes and first class shops, making ventures into the town most pleasurable. In all directions there are opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors on foot or by bicycle. Having a car at your disposal is an advantage in terms of getting to the various sights and walks, although there is a good bus service available. Would we go back? Yes, definitely, and that applies both to the Menardi and Cortina.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spacious rooms and balconies in the annex, but we didn't get to see the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#14 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menardi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menardi Hotel

Address: Via Maion 110, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: £126 - £776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Menardi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menardi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menardi Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Menardi Hotel Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing