We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirage Cortina
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and wonderful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Mirage two weeks skiing with a group of my friends in December 2013/January 2014. Hotel nicely located in quiet area near Cortina. Its better to rent a car otherwise you can use hotel bus for ski lifts. Direttore Leonardo was very professional and helpful. He really tries to make best service for all hotel guests. Consierge Gianluca also was very helpful. Chief Cook and restaurant and all staff are very friendly. Food very nice and fresh. Rooms are big and cosy wood decorated. So i would recommend this place...they have a little bit of everything you need..

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-Kosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    79
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
145
57
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have spent 5 days skiing in Hotel Mirage in Cortina skiing and have only positive feelings. Hotel itself is very nice and well designed, rooms are big, comfortable and have everything needed, with fantastic view. It's a little aside from crowded center in a quiet place, better to have a car or use hotel's shuttle, but even by feet is not long and nice walk. Stuff is very frendly and helpful. Spa complex is not very big but has enough to relax after skiing. Restaurant can surprise you with delicious dishes on the dinner that are changed every day, buffet breakfast is varied and tasty. Has big free garage that is important due to often snowfalls. We are often skiing and will allways stay in this nice hotel going to Cortina.

Room Tip: Juniot suite is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

nice location looking over the Mountains with very good view , it is in a nice quite area and you have to drive or take a very long walk to Cortina center. Hotel and furniture is a little old and need to be changed and rooms amuinties are lees than average. Breakfast is nothing impressive also dinner is just normal.There is nothing for kids and when I was there swimming pool was out of order in the first day and it is less than normal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We chose this hotel from California just to "play it safe" on our visit to the Cadore area just south of Cortina, for family ancestry purposes. This hotel is certainly NOT in the city of Cortina, but it was closer to our points of interest. The location is very close to the original Olympic ski jump facility, if that meets your needs. It is older, which gives it a mix of both charm and obsolescence. The rooms were nicely paneled in old wood, instead of the typical plaster. There is no ventilation of any kind, and it can be hot there in summer. We opened our room windows, left our room door open, and opened the windows up and down the entrance hallway, for some cross ventilation. The pool is indoors for winter use after skiing, so it is less impressive in summer. There is a full time pool attendant at all times. There is a full time children's activity director at all times. The people at the desk were full of advice for event planning. They host free wine and munchies every afternoon on the outside terrace. Breakfast was very ample, but dinner seemed expensive for what they were serving, and we went out. Free parking and easy to find. Internet access was less than ideal. Consider the location and price to determine if this hotel meets your needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

these people are rude dishonest and un-respectful, they did not disclose the cancellation policy properly
whoever I talked to also misrepresented himself saying he was the director and he was not, you never know who you are talking with

do not go there, a pool is not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cate106_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrabool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's true that it is a bit out of town, but as we had a car this was not a problem. Even if we didn't they have a shuttle bus. Also, it is only a 25 minute very pretty walk into the centre of town if you are so inclined.

We stayed at the very end of the ski season so the hotel wasn't very busy, I was greeted by name when I walked into the lobby. Because it was a quiet time, we were upgraded to a suite, which was very comfortable. Travelling with a lot of electrical equipment which needs charging (computer, camera batteries, phones, kindles etc) made the abundance of power points very useful. There were plenty of towels and pillows, and a lovely warm doona. The room was a excellent temperature, not stifling hot as many hotel rooms are. We could have had the temperature turned up if we wished.

You can purchase wifi for the room, but it is free in the lobby and this made a nice meeting point with other guests, and the very friendly proprietor. I would recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Hotel Mirage in Cortina d’Ampezzo has been quite a disappointment. We stayed there with a large group and had booked several rooms. The hotel needs to make many improvements to be considered even a 3star.

The hotel is 4,5 km away from the centre of Cortina. It is quite far from any shops/bars/skiing slopes. It is quite isolated and difficult to get to/from unless you drive your own car. The famous shuttle bus offered by the hotel stops running by 7.30 pm. It also does not run between 3 and 5 pm. Not even once were we able to use it. We had either to use the taxi or our own car to drive every day.

For people that ski, the ski room has no proper lockers. If it is slightly pulled, any locker can be opened without a key. Furthermore, there are no facilities to leave your ski boots and to dry them. We had to take them into our room and dry them in our bathroom!

The hotel claims that it offers internet connection at a rate of 3 eur per 30 minutes. Throughout our stay we had no internet connection and the hotel staff informed us that ‘sometimes’ it works. The trick is that the hotel does not have its own proper wireless connection or any other connection whatsoever. The connection, which it recommends for its guests to use, is a municipal hotspot, which covers the whole Cortina, and at the Hotel this hotspot has very poor reception, to the extent that it cannot be picked up by any device/computer. In my view, the hotel has to make a change and state that it offers no internet connection.

The breakfast was not even 3-star. Very limited and poor choice: there was only 1 sort of cheese/ham/salami available which tasted like they were indeed the cheapest they could find. Practically no fruit available. Very basic cereal, a few croissants and synthetic cheap juices. The dinner was also disappointing for a 45 eur pp excluding drinks.

The swimming pool and sauna area need a renovation. The swimming pool has no lights underwater. There is water dripping from the roof, the isolation of the swimming pool is so poor that its smell spreads to the bar and the reception area nearby with lots of humidity. The hotel charges you extra 5 eur for a bath robe (rent!) and 3 eur for a little cap that you (must) wear while swimming (because your hair would block the swimming pool pipes and for hygiene reasons!) this was quite an ironic moment for us but still an annoying and disappointing experience altogether. The pool and sauna are open only until 7 pm!

I would not recommend this hotel for reasons listed above, including its location, no transportation to/from centre/slopes, poor and limited cuisine, poor facilities, unprofessional staff with poor command of English in general. The hotel’s strategy is to rip the guests off using every opportunity and so displaying a clear lack of hospitality and quality. Not worth the money they ask or the 4stars they claim to have.

In general, the staff need to improve their manners, there is clearly a lack of hospitality and they are completely unaware of what 4 star service means.

To note, in general the staff of the hotel barely understand/speak any English. This includes the waiters in the restaurant who are clearly unable to understand you or follow any of your questions during breakfast/dinner. This is quite unusual and unpleasant, when instead of getting clear answers and being able to discuss the menu, we had to use gestures and repeat ourselves many times before we could get an answer that was often incomprehensible.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmartLabelPrinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmirage, Direttore at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
There are a few exagerated and untruthfull comments of the Guest.
The truth is that Hotel Mirage is only 1.5 km from the Town Center and not 4.5 km ( exagerated again) which our Shuttle Bus does every 30 minutes from 08.45 am to 7.30 pm ( excluding lunch Hours ), should there be an emercency we do not hesitate a Journey .The ski Room is heated , and it is not a safe , but every room has their own locker and key.
Concerning Internet the guest is right , we are awaiting the new Telecom system , but should a Guest be in need of internet in the Hall and Bar area Bluwireless connction always works.
Our head receptionist is Scottish , no problem for the english language and we always have the menu translated in English.
Could be that one of the waiters was not fluent in English , but one can make themselfs understood.
We are extremly sorry for this incident because we are always ready to help and give services to any of our Guests and this is one of our strong points which can be verified in all the other comments.........
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#19 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage Cortina

Property: Hotel Mirage Cortina
Address: Via Pezie' 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirage Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mirage is a 4* Hotel located in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy, facing the spectacular peaks and superb scenery of the Dolomiti Alps mountains, which are known for being UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Mirage Hotel is only two/three-minute drive to the town center and its elegant shopping area. The short distance is served by the hotel's private shuttle service. Hotel Mirage' Services always included in the rates are: - heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna; - children entertainment (up to 10 years of age); - private shuttle service to town center (less than a 5 minute ride); - garage, free wi-fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirage Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Hotel Mirage Cortina Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing