We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient if you don't have a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirage Cortina
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We choose not to rent a car for our recent ski trip to Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy. We were able to easily take the Cortina Express bus from the Venice airport and we were told by the hotel that there was a regular shuttle into town and ski buses to get to the ski areas. This was all true, but the hotel was a 30-40 minute walk out of town and the shuttle bus stopped running at 7:30 p.m., so we were forced to take a cab back from dinner every night. The one night that we couldn't find a cab, I called the hotel (as I had been instructed to do before we got there); I was initially told that there was nothing they could do because the shuttle had stopped running. I asked them to call a cab for us, which they did and we were able to get back without too much trouble. It would have been nice to be closer to the shops and restaurants instead of having to make every trip to town an expedition. The rooms were quite large and comfortable, with lots of storage space, although not elegant or upscale, as one would expect for the price we were paying. We only ate at the hotel restaurant one night and found it to be overpriced and not especially good. It is a fixed price menu, so if you're not really hungry, you still pay for a lot of food. One of the waiters put real pressure on us to order a particular wine and became very abrupt when we declined. The breakfasts were good. The hotel caters to families and there was a lot of hall noise and noise from the floor above, so even though it was out in the quiet country, it wasn't especially quiet. One reason we booked this hotel was because it had a hot tub, but we only used it once. It was a small portable, awkward to get into and crowded and we found the big bathtub in the room to be just fine. The staff was generally very nice and English was spoken.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mirage Cortina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

Good service, nice hotel. If you rent a car from the airport you will really enjoy Cortina and your stay at Mirage. Is close enough to down town thus in touch with nature. I think is great in the summer :)
If you communicate with the receptionist and the manager, you will enjoy your staying.
Nice restaurant, good service.

I cannot get along with Italian program for anything (noon break and short evening). But I guess is ok for real sportsman (and women :).

Clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We were a group of 18 people from 11-82 years - staying at the Mirage. We had a varm welcome by the lovely couple running the hotel and the service was great througout the whole week. Nice, clean rooms (suites), excellent food - nice touch with champagne on the house before dinner. Nice location of the hotel - close to Cortina center, but still nice and quiet with lots of outdoor space. If we ever come back to Cortina, this is the place we will stay. Love the place and love the area - coming from Norway, we are used to nice nature and mountains, but this was spectacular. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EirinBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

We booked a confort suite for 4. Accordingly to the hotel site we should get a 2 bedroom suite that could fit up to 6 people. It was perfect for me, travelling with two young girls.
The hotel sent a confirmation.
When we got to the hotel they didn't have the room and we had to stay in two separate small rooms, leaving two young children alone in a room in a different floor from ours.
We had a terrible experience in the hotel.
Don't recommed for anyone

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miragehotel, owner- manager at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2008

This is to explain with more accuracy how we "honored" the reservation:
Hotel Mirage of Cortina doesn't any "small room": at Hotel Mirage we only have Junior and Comfort Suites, with a limted number of large double rooms.
The reservation was for 4 persons (two adults and two children) for a two- night stay (in Top Season) for one of our "Comfort Suite" (4 to 6 people occupancy). At time of check-in unexpectedly their suite was not available due to a request of longer stay from the guests occupying their suite: one of them was sick in bed and could not leave. So, at time of their arrival, since we could not give them the Comfort Suite, we gave them 2 Junior Suite (each with 2 to 4 pers. occupancy), so absolutely not a "small room". As per the client's registration, they stayed in Suite 204 and Suite 106 (each one of these Junior Suites are almost 40 sq.m).
We did apologize with them - and we still do, while at the same time we thought of giving them a better opportunity offering two suites instead of one, obviously at no extra cost. We understand we could not keep the family group all together and we are very sorry, but due to an unexpected 'emergency' case, we tried to do our best to solve the matter.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

The Dolomites are stunning, and Cortina seems as good a place as any to provide a base from which to do some serious summer walking. The Mirage is just outside the centre of Cortina, in a quiet location overlooking a beautiful valley. We enjoyed one evening just sitting on our balcony watching an incredible thunderstorm. The room was large and very nice. Dinner was pretty good too. However, despite these pluses, there were some question marks. The swimming pool was only open for about 3 or 4 hours a day (during the afternoon, when inevitably one would be out walking), and one was made to feel that even during these times it was a hassle for the hotel to "allow" you to use it. One manager was reasonably pleasant (if a bit patronising) but the other was obnoxiously and unnecessarily rude when asked whether it would be possible to check out the night before departure - not what you'd expect from a four star hotel. Indeed the four star rating overall is questionable and, although our knowledge of the area is not great, we felt we'd been ripped off a bit. Having said all this, the Mirage was overall a nice place to spend a few days.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank emd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Beatrice7108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMirage, Direttore at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Graziana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMirage, Direttore at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#21 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
393 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage Cortina

Address: Via Pezie' 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: £150 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirage Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mirage is a 4* Hotel located in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy, facing the spectacular peaks and superb scenery of the Dolomiti Alps mountains, which are known for being UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Mirage Hotel is only two/three-minute drive to the town center and its elegant shopping area. The short distance is served by the hotel's private shuttle service. Hotel Mirage' Services always included in the rates are: - heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna; - children entertainment (up to 10 years of age); - private shuttle service to town center (less than a 5 minute ride); - garage, free wi-fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mirage Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Hotel Mirage Cortina Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing