We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit basic but a great location”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights skiing in February. The staff are friendly and the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. The location is right on the main promenade in Cortina so you are perfectly placed for an aperitivo before dinner or a coffee+cake after the slopes. You can access the ski bus within 3 minutes and the Faloria lift is a 5 minute walk away. The bedrooms were a bit too eclectic for my taste and not really offering enough room for all the trappings of a ski holiday. The breakfast room was cramped and busy as everyone had the same idea to head to the slopes about the same time! Breakfast was the standard Italian buffet -not a patch on those in an Austrian hotel - but good enough nonetheless. Reasonable value hotel all-in-all but nothing special or luxurious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robsski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was satisfied with my stay here. I would highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable hotel with a great, central location. It was just quick walk to catch the buses to the slopes. One bus actually dropped you off just in front of the hotel. There is nothing overly special with the hotel. The staff were nice enough. The breakfast was good, I highly recommend the croissant with warm apple filling. You can smell them baking in the morning and they taste even better than they smell. The rooms were very clean. They were small and the beds were ok, but I kept having to remind myself it was only a 3 star.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrb3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights July 2013. This is a good hotel, reasonably priced, in an excellent location within the town of Cortina, with easy walking distance to everything including the bus station. The staff is friendly and speaks English. Breakfast is the expected spread for Italy, and the “dial your own” coffee machine made better than expected coffee. The free parking was really appreciated and worked out well since we made a few day trips by car. There are good restaurants and shops in several walking directions. Room and bathroom were small and a bit dated, but clean and adequate, although the bed was only tolerable for comfort. Two drawbacks: 1) Since the hotel in centrally located and sits over a pedestrian piazza, there was some evening traffic and noise – however, this is true for all centrally located hotels in town. 2) The hotel does not have air conditioning – this is normally not a problem, however, we had very warm July weather so evening sleeping was just tolerable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel has charm. Even in the summer where we stayed for three night it felt cozy. It is located right in the center of town where many other hotels are located on the outskirts of Cortina. On the downside the rooms are quite simple and the beds are not best. Breakfast is adequate by Italian standard, but be sure to ask for a real coffee from the staff and not settle for the machine in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a great central hotel, within a stones throw of 2 great pubs and a couple of restaurants, with friendly waitresses and bar staff. The manager helped us plan our via feratta routes and gave advice on which were safe due to late snow and ice on the mountains. The rooms were comfortable with pleasant bath rooms and decent beds. Continental breakfast was a little limited but was still plenty to set us up for a good days walking and climbing, We will certainly return even though it took me ages to work out the layout of the stairs, I kept thinking I was on the ground floor forgetting there was another set of stairs round the corner. PS This is not a complaint just a constant cause of amusement with my colleagues.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, very friendly welcome,
we have enjoyed many beautifu holiday stays over 15 years,
and look forward to continuing!

rooms are small, but the lounge areas are very spacious and comfortable, and the centro città location, close also to the ski bus, is unbeatable for a real Cortina feeling.

eva peter & her family

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Describing myself as a ski addicted, I am sure that this hotel meets my expectations for my ski holidays:
1. Good value for money
2. Rich breakfast
3. Peaceful place to calm down after an exhausted ski day.
4. Free WiFi
5. Great location
6. Friendly staff

I would definitely come back...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#32 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#17 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
133 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#11 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#4 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Larin
Hotel Al Larin
#31 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
124 reviews
0 mi away
De la Poste
De la Poste
#13 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via della Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: £90 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3 stars hotel with B&B treatment, situated right in the center of Cortina on the pedestrian area 100meters from the bell tower, in an historical building that dates back to 1700, ideal starting point to spend unforgettable holidays in the Dolomites, just a short stroll away from the nearest ski lifts (300 m.) and more important sporting facilities. It is also conveniently served by public transport and adjacent to the hotel there is a private extra charged parking with limited lots that can not be reserved. An antique Venetian style building dating back to 1700, owned by the Menardi Demai family, was transformed into a modern family run hotel in the forties. The hotel's proprietor Marcello Menardi, ski instructor and expert alpinist from the alpinist group "Gruppo Scoiattoli" is happy to recommend both winter and summer sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Italy/Veneto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing