We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but can improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Greif - TH Resorts
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Corvara in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but can improve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotels could better be classified as 3 stars Superior, as others in Corvara.
For a 4 stars, some small facilities should be added (for ex. cosmetic mirror and paper Kleenex in the bathroom, ) and probably the food quality could be slightly improved.
The main building, from ouside, looks old-fashioned, could be renovated with a lighter natural wood colour. The newest annex is great and our room was huge, with a good balcony.
The wellness centre has no steam room, which is a pity. Swimming pool is very large, which is pleasant, but it's true, as other visitors wrote, that water is rather cold.
Staff of the hotel and the company of young animators were really nice.
Very practical "Birba Club" for children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabina520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    125
    41
    22
    9
See reviews for
180
54
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I can't comment on staying at the Hotel Greif because we didn't get that far. I booked the New Year 2014 week through Booking.com - three double rooms. Booking.com confirmed the reservation. I tried but failed to get confirmation from the hotel.

Three months later I received a message from Booking.com that my credit card details were wrong according to the hotel and I had 24 hours to enter correct ones. There is no chance that the details were wrong but I did what they asked. Again I received a confirmation from Booking.com and attempted to get confirmation from the hotel - but again, nothing.

So I cancelled the booking.

My guess is that the hotel wanted to give the rooms to a favoured client and wanted me to cancel. In the event we're going to a better hotel - in Zermatt.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Otway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGreifCorvara, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Greif - TH Resorts, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mark_Otway,
We are really upset for what happened but everything is due to the non-validity of your credit card.
It’s of course understandable that you do not know the process that is behind a booking done in booking.com, I will try to shed light on it: once booking is confirmed in booking.com the booking is fixed, customers do not have to receive any other confirmation by the hotel.

When at the end of august we double-checked the validity of your card we found that was not valid and we communicate this to booking.com.
After your second booking, with another card, we double check again and unluckily also this time your card was not valid.
This is the only reason for which it is possible to cancel a reservation (please notice: cancel, not reconfirm, we do not have to reconfirm anything).

We therefore regret that you dear Sir throws discredit on our company because of your lack.

If you want to delve further, please contact us at our addresses.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

To start with, Corvara is a very small town so pretty much every hotel has a good location
This one is maybe 10mins walk from the main lift
Food is descent, nothin to go crazy on but good enough to get by
Staff is nice
Pool open 4/7pm, spa also only opens late afternoon
So if you are to spend a day there you can't do anything but stay in your room

I guess I'd say this place is above the average for Corvara and I guess you get what you pay for
But not the best choice

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizaster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Concierge was completely unhelpful, when we got stuck on the mountain due to a snow storm on the way to Corvara. He did not call the emergency also suggested that the roads to get to the hotel were closed, whereas we found out that were opened.
The pool is actually cold and always over crowded, no hot tub, no steam room, no hot pool. Sauna needs to be booked 1 day in advance.
Had dinner at the restaurant, really average for Italian standards.
Room had a problem with the fan at 7am, it took hours before someone came to fix it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poderosauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

It's a tradition in my family that we spend a few days in Corvara in Badia around Christmas, even now that I am living in another city to study.
We usually go to garnis, but this time some friends invited us to join them in Hotel Greif.

The place is nice, and the rooms look really good.
However, the service is really disappointing.

First of all, the restaurant.
We ate dinner there, and it was really bad. All dishes are pre-cooked and heated in the microwave, and they are not really appropriate for a 4* hotel.
Even worse, our waiter was really bad at his job. He forgot to bring my dinner twice! Almost everyone else in our table had already finished eating, and I still hadn't received my plates! I said nothing the first time (I ate too much appetizers so I was fine anyway), but the second time it happened I got really mad.
Two of us didn't receive the first course, so we asked the waiter to bring us our dinner. They didn't. A few minutes after they started serving the second course, and they forgot about us again. We asked again, still more or less politely, to have the first course served. This time the friend of mine was served, and I wasn't. You can immagine how mad I was after this!
And all of this, again, in a 4* hotel.

Other issue was with the ski room.
A friend of mine left her UGG Boots there when she went skiing, and when she came back she couldn't find them anymore.
She asked to the director, and she was answered that he couldn't do anything. Later on, they just attached a piece of paper on the door of the ski room stating that "they don't assume any responsibility for objects left in the ski room". Note that the Italian Civil Code clearly states that this has no value, because the hotel is responsible by law for things left in ski rooms.
Eventually, that evening she noticed another guest with her boots on. We believe that girl took my friend's UGG boots "by mistake".

Third...
WiFi. In the last days of 2012, there is no free WiFi in this hotel. You have to pay for it, and a lot! (10€ per day) Worst of all? It works only in the common areas, and not in guest rooms.
Seriously: even in 10$/night hotels in a place like Baños del Ecuador I could have free WiFi, last summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel, for a ski trip. Upon arrival we were unpleasantly surprised with the welcoming at the reception, since we arrived at around 11am and we were told the room can be ready at 4pm...eventually we got it in about 2 hours, but the initial attitude of the staff was not friendly.
Pluses in this hotel:
- we liked the room, but be ware of the room you book! we had a superior triple room, which was spacious and nicely furbished, however our friends had a standard room in the old part of the hotel which does not deserve a 4 star rating, it was small and not nice, although recently renovated.
- we also liked the wellness area, the pool is large although water rather cold. They also have a small outdoor pool. I have got a massage and a beauty treatment, both were very good.
- ski equipment is delivered directly to the hotel from the rental shops they have arrangements with, same at departure, we found this very convenient
- seems to be a child friendly hotel, although our child is 10 years old and didn't try the kids club.

What we didn't like:
- quality of food is at best average, both for breakfast and dinner. There is a kids menu, but we only found out after a couple of days that you actually have to pre-order for the next day, the waiter failed to explain this. The restaurant area is large and crowded, feels a bit like a cantine.
- reception and lobby area is rather ugly, with some dated furniture, as opposed to the newer wing, which is much better
- you have to pay for various things which in most other 4* hotels come for free: wiFi 30 eur for the week, renting bothrobes, slippers, deposit for additional keys, indoor garage.
- location is not close to the ski slopes, there is a shuttle bus which takes you there for free between 8.30-10.30 and back from 2.30-5pm, however it gets crowded at peak hours and you have to wait. A public ski bus goes by in front of the hotel, you have to pay 2 eur for the day.
- there is some entertainment but we found it low quality and some shows in the theatre were loud until 11pm or so, we were hearing it in our room.

Overall, we didn't feel real customer orientation in this hotel, staff is hard working but you can feel this is not a very well managed hotel, with the customer in mind. Just a little example: we asked for the internet card and asked to put the price on the room bill. This was not ok, then we asked to have the card and we will bring the money in 5 mins, this was also not acceptable, but mostly I was annoyed by the attitude of the receptionist. We found a much better attitude and customer care in smaller hotels, which are family run. This is a quite large hotel and feels like it. All in all, it is not a terrible place, but also not one that we would return to.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new wing, the old part of the hotel doesn't really deserve a 4* rating. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We just spent 7 nights at Hotel Greif in Corvara. We booked our ski trip a bit late this year so didn't have a lot of options at the time we booked. We had an absolutely fabulous week of skiing but while the Hotel Grief was certainly more than adequate but I probably would not opt to go there again.
The pros:
-a gorgeous setting with the mountains just behind us,
-dear regularly crossing the field just outside our room,
-a spacious and clean room with plenty of storage space,
-plenty of food - some delicious and some less so,
-in floor heating in the bathrooms,
-fantastically effective ski boot drying racks (those these were full to overflowing so not everyone's boots got on them),
-free shuttle bus, and
-the majority of the staff were super hard working and very friendly.
The cons:
-loud music played each night until around 11pm,
-our room was overheated and there was no way to adjust this,
-the hotel is located a little ways out of town and while an easy walk most of the time - after a long day of skiing and in ski boots it's just a little too far to walk it with kids and the free shuttle bus filled up quickly and some of the other hotel patrons were insistent at pushing in and so those of us less skilled at the art of pushing in were left behind on a couple of occasions after having been waiting much longer than those who got on
-parking under ground was an extra EUR 9 per night
-to have a second room key was EUR 5 (surely two rooms keys is standard these days?)
-wifi was an extra charge

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsKat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corvara in Badia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sassongher Hotel
Sassongher Hotel
#11 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
#16 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Eden
Hotel Villa Eden
#4 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sporthotel Panorama
Sporthotel Panorama
#5 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greif - TH Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greif - TH Resorts

Property: Hotel Greif - TH Resorts
Address: Strada Parus 15, 39033 Corvara in Badia, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Corvara in Badia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Corvara in Badia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greif - TH Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Greif - TH Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing