We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable ski hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sporthotel Panorama
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Corvara in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very comfortable ski hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel provided us with a very comfortable and pleasant base for a week's skiing.

The hotel is on a hillside, about 10 - 15 mins walk above the town; not ideal if you want to hit the fleshpots of Corvara every night, but then again, there aren't any, so it doesn't matter. It is ideal if you are old and knackered and have no wish to paint the town red. It's less than 5 mins from the hotel ski room to the slopes, to the bottom of a chair or a piste down to the main town lifts.

The hotel is split across two sides of a quiet road, with an internal subterranean connection. We stayed on the mountain side, which is newr than the main part of the hotel. Our view was of a snow covered slope, not exciting but not unpleasant, and anyway there is little opportunity for taking in the view from one's hotel room on a ski hol. The room was a very decent size, comfortable and well furnished (big wardrobe, plenty of coathooks, big balcony) without being anything special. The bathroom was huge, almost as big as the room, with underfloor heating, two washbasins and a jacuzzi bath/shower. I understand that the rooms in the main part of the hotel are gnerally older and smaller, but at least some will have very decent views, as the hotel is on a hillside.

The hotel has a pool and various spa facilities, which we did not sample. Judging by the rest of the hotel, I expect them to be of a good standard. The ski room was large, with ski racks and boot warmers, It is accessible directly from the new part of the hotel and opens onto the road, very handy for the slopes. It is secure.

There is a large bar/cafe area on the ground floor, where I believe that some food is served. Not especially atmospheric, although there is cosy bit in front of the fire. Free cakes, very good, at teatime. A very cosy looking smoking room is provided, almost worth taking up smoking for. There is another subterranean bar of the 'stube' type.

There are two restaurants (plus any food that is served in the bars). One, subterranean, is pretty smart with a delicious, if rather fussy, sounding menu. I can't report on it as I didn't try it. We were on half board and ate in the larger ground floor restaurant; we were lucky enough to be in a little sub dining room, with three other tables, which was pleasanter than the main dining room, not that there was anything wrong with that.

The food was very good, which was why we didn't bother to pay the supplement for the posher restaurant. Breakfast was pretty comprehensive; cereal, plenty of fruit, yogs, cold meat and cheeses, lots of preserves and breads, eggs and so on cooked to order (the scrambled eggs were a bit weird, but never mind), decent coffee. Dinner was usually excellent. My heart sinks when I see a table d'hote menu with 5 courses (plus cheese and coffee), but I need not have worried. There was a choice (made at brekkie, which is not ideal) of two or three dishes for the principal courses. The first course was usually (always?) a cold buffet, usually delish grilled veg, salads, that sort of thing, once a very good seafood buffet (difficult for me not to stuff myself with that leaving insufficient room for the rest of the meal). Thankfully, the buffet element stopped there; OK for a cold starter, but not my idea of a civilised way to eat dinner). Pasta or soup, a small, elaborate dish, a main course, pud and cheese and coffee. Not every single course throughout the week entirely hit the spot, but almost all did, and most were excellent. A huge wine list, starting at around €20 and going up to the sky. We stuck to local reds at around €20 - €30, and they were uniformly excellent, some outstanding. Tap water was provided perfectly cheerfully. The sevice was good and friendly, even of the head waiter looked liked a young Max Bygraves (if Max Bygraves was ever young).

During the ski season, the hotel offers guided skiing on several days each week (useful in the very large Dolomiti region) and other activities. We were with a ski company (Colletts, highly recommended for the over 40s) that offered similar services, so I don't know how good the hotel's services were. There was a Tyrolean evening in the stube before dinner one day, with loads of delish snacks and drinks, and of course hideous accordion music. Not everyone's cup of tea, but it wasn't compulsory (and it wasn't a substitute for an excellent dinner, although it could have been).

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and one was made to feel very welcome. Although it's a biggish hotel, it seems to be family run, with the family taking an active part. I would recommed it wholeheartedly if you wish to stay in Corvara, which is as good a ski base as anywhere in the Sella Ronda region of the Dolomites (which are the most beatiful ski area I've skied in, if not the most demanding).

Room Tip: In the winter, the larger new rooms in the annex are probably best. In the summer, a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    49
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

In 26 years of skiing in Europe, Canada & the US Sporthotel Panorma has to be the best hotel we have ever had the pleasure of discovering. From the day of our arrival until departure we could not ask for a better quality of service, professionalism, friendliness and helpfulness to make our stay such a memorable one. This is a family run hotel which is clearly shown in the care taken to ensure the needs of all guests are met. We would highly recommend this superb establishment to lovers of good food, comfort and the excellent spa facilities after a hard days skiing.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from Panorama Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanzibar747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

About 20m from the first lift. The staff couldn’t have been friendlier or more helpful. Rooms are spacious and warm with lovely hot showers (would have liked more drying space but was ok). Restaurant was excellent with varied menus and events throughout the week.

Room Tip: Mikes ski tour is great way to explore the nearby resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_D6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a skiing trip . The hotel was in an excellent position 50 metres from chair lift or 100 metres from the nearest piste.
Staff were excellent and very efficient and very friendly. Always willing to change course at dinner if something not to your liking.
Owners were very charming and very visible around the hotel.
Food was excellent. The breakfasts were outstanding and the dinners also. Several nights splendid pre-dinner buffets - tyrolean, fish etc. Wonderful dessert buffets.
Look forward to returning

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We booked fairly late in November and had littlemchoice left. But we got very luck ! The Panorama was stunning... The room confortable but with a carbet, we saw other rooms had wooden floors. Make sure you know what you book, the rooms toward the back would be far from equivalent. Breakfest and dinner were just excellent. Italian food at its best. We were served by Massimo who trough his joy of life was a permanent highlight. Also above average was the wellness area. A nice pool, 4 different sauna, a wirlpool. All very clean. Reception staff always helpful. Strangely were never greated by owners/management.
Ps: the sloops are 100m away. If you know how, you can ski back. I have skied most of the alps, the area around Corvara is stunnig by its size and views !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A nice place, but given the rates, not a great value. The food is very good, service is excellent, the location is quiet and relatively peaceful....but many of the rooms have liitle or no view and they are quite small for the price. If you are only in your room to sleep, this should not be a problem.

Room Tip: Panorama does not mean 'panoramic view'. Most rooms in the annex overlook the street and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attillathehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel exceeded our every expectation. From the warm welcome, all of the excellent staff, the charming owners and most of all the fabulous food. We were nervous about having booked half board as we usually like to eat in different restaurants, but the food was superb every night (not to mention an excellent breakfast spread). Very, very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakeyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corvara in Badia
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#3 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sassongher Hotel
Sassongher Hotel
#12 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
#16 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
202 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
Hotel Kolfuschgerhof
#2 of 13 in Colfosco
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Greif - TH Resorts
Hotel Greif - TH Resorts
#9 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Panorama

Property: Sporthotel Panorama
Address: Strada Scuz 1, 39033 Corvara in Badia, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Corvara in Badia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Corvara in Badia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our hotel in Corvara, you couldn't possible not feel completely comfortable and right at home. You'll get a first impression of just how elegant it is when you step into our lobby. Whether you come and stay with us in the summer or the winter – your active holiday can begin right at our hotel doorstep, in the midst of the unique Alpine wonderland of the Dolomites. After a fun-filled day of vacation activities in the Dolomites, you can retreat to our superlative wellness oasis, so you'll be sure to be ready for the next day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sporthotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing