We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Very Good Food”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in Late June/Early July Very good food with a good choice. Very good buffet breakfast.We found the portions a bit big for us but we have not got huge appetites. Free Car park. Staff all very helpful and friendly although some not very fluent in English which was not a problem. If you are not pretty fit you can use the hotels free mini bus to get to the beach rather then use the steps. Mini bus also runs into the town at certain times not sure when as we always walked via the steps about 10 minutes to the start of the promenade.Great views from the terrace. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Driving on the coast towards France, we decided to stop for a night at this marvelous place, situated on a hill and surrounded by a lush vegetation and beautiful flowers of all kinds. With a breathtaking view of the sea, this hotel is a little detached from the typical buzz of a coastal town, but still in minutes distance from the beach, by car and on foot (the hotel also offers rides to and from the beach, several times a day). Great bang for your buck, very good food and super clean. There is even a kids pool. The staff is very professional and ready to help. We gave it 10 points and we definitely go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but if you have kids, definitely ask for one of the more spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This IS a 4 star hotel in most ways, unfortunately, we found the food was a big, big disappointment (plus the menu's were in Italian). Our seventh time in Italy and the first time we have encountered these problems. Also the staff were very unfriendly with limited knowledge of the English language. British residents were given seating in the restaurant area against a wall and away from the windows, which were kept for Italian guests.

Room Tip: When asking for a room with a sea view, make sure you get a front facing one, not one at the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in this sympathetic hotel a few days in mid september, mostly with fabulous weather. With its 30 (?) rooms it is of moderate size, not too big and not too small. Our room had a nice balcony with a view on the beautiful bay of Diano Marina. metropolboth has a large swimming pool and a private part on the nice sandy beach, where the water mostly is quiet and you can have a good swim. The hotel lies high on a slope, and both to the beach and the pool you have to walk over steep stairs (and back!) which for some people could be a problem.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GeorgeMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Likes:

Bright, attractive, modern, spotlessly clean hotel and pool area. Welcoming, efficient, pleasant, attentive and helpful staff at all levels ...... same staff as previous year which made it all the more pleasurable. The efficient Manager is a cheerful, polite, helpful and pleasant person who organises special events to make the stay even more memorable. For example, candlelit dinners with special set menu. This dinner is preceded with buffet/canapes starters set out on the terrace overlooking the beautiful bay. This is enhanced with sparkling wine/juices. Then following the main meal and dessert which are eaten indoors, guests are invited to return to the terrace for cake and more sparkling wine whilst watching a superb firework display over the bay.

My husband and I were also delighted with a wonderful surprise on our 40th wedding anniversary. We were not only given an extra special additional starter, but were also presented with a specially made personalised, delicious cake complemented with a glass of sparkling wine.
A copy of the evening's menu presented as a scroll, wrapped with ribbon and signed by the management with their best wishes, was given to us as a memento. It is so thoroughly appreciated and has made our stay even more special and memorable.

I don't understand why some people opt for just bed and breakfast. We were on half-board terms and the cuisine was superb .......always at least four courses with several choices for each course. Presentation of food was fantastic - very fine dining. Buffet breakfast was extensive and varied, beverages were brought to your table. Menus for the evening meal were made available daily at breakfast so guests could make their choices for the evening meal. This all helped to add to the efficiency and smooth running of the restaurant under the watchful eye of the Maitre d' who is of a quiet disposition with a dry sense of humour - very likeable and helpful.

We had a lovely sea-view room, albeit slightly small but equipped with a reasonably sized shower cubicle and enough storage space in the bedroom to hold the week's clothing. The air conditioning was just about adequate ..... remember to keep all doors closed otherwise it won't kick in. The mini-fridge and safety deposit box were free of charge. The balcony, supplied with a clean table and chairs, as well as a fixed clothes airer, was lovely and spacious and provided a superb view of the bay as well as the surrounding hills.

It was less hassle going to the beach knowing that two sun beds and a parasol had been reserved for the duration of our stay and was already included in the price ........ on our arrival at the hotel we were given a voucher which had to be redeemed at the office on the private beach and we were then shown to our allocated sun beds ....... hotel metropol's guests appeared to be allocated beds in the third and fourth rows.

There is a reasonably priced and comfortable bar/snacks area by the sun beds for your convenience. Shower, toilets and changing cubicles are all on hand at the beach.

There is also a vending machine by the hotel's swimming pool housing snacks and cold drinks which can be enjoyed whilst sun-bathing on the comfortable sun beds adorned with parasols.

A free return shuttle service is provided to and from the beach in the morning and the afternoon as we'll as in the evening when it goes into town after the meal.

Free wi-fi is available.

Dislikes:

No real dislikes but a couple of things could be improved upon in my opinion - a stronger signal for computer use and also a shuttle service into town during the day at least once.

General:

The hotel is set high up on a hill and there is a busy road below but the noise of this didn't bother us as the views of the sea and hills more than made up for this. However, it is quite risky trying to cross this road on the way to the beach. I wouldn't like to try it with young children. There is a road from the hotel that can be walked down to reach the main road. However, on reaching this busy road it entails having to walk at the side of many parked cars exposing you to more danger, before you reach a point where it is 'safer' to cross on your way to the beach. An alternative route is to walk down a series of steps placed at the other side of the hotel. It is still difficult to cross the main road but once there you will walk down another set of steps which take you under a railway line and brings you out with the beach ahead - turn right at the end of the street.

To walk into town, go down the first series of steps to the main road. Turn left and left again down the side road. This will take you over a level crossing and some shops come into sight. Once you cross the main car park there is a grocery shop on the corner for food and drink etc. This would have taken you about 10 minutes from the hotel. By walking for a further 5-10 minutes you will reach the town centre.

I never observed any children's play equipment around the pool or on the private beach. There didn't appear to be a separate children's pool at the hotel. There is a children's play area/fairground ride/play equipment at the opposite end of the beach, near the town centre, just beyond the Tourist Information portacabin (this is the drop-off/pick-up point for the hotel's shuttle bus on its evening trip to town.

So, it is about 15-20 minutes walk into town. The town centre is quite compact and busy in the summer season. There are a selection of clothes shops some of which are exclusive, designer shops with their appropriate price tags! There are also, several bars and restaurants but we didn't come across any that would have enticed us away from the superb kitchen of the Metropol - all seemed very touristy ....... lots of pasta and pizzas. There are a couple of lovely jewellery shops - my husband treated me to a beautiful diamond and ruby ring for our ruby wedding anniversary ..... lucky me!

The railway station is on the edge of the town centre from which neighbouring towns can be reached quite easily and relatively cheaply. Places such as San Remo are on a direct route. The coastal areas of Italy and France are also within reach by train. So it's not always necessary to have a car to explore further afield.

We've now returned from a self-drive, 3-centre holiday and can honestly say that our most enjoyable time was at the Hotel Metropol and would love to return for our third visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BEEGEE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our Italian friends at the metropol for 2 weeks in July and found it to be a great place .The rooms are slightly on the small side but the view from the balcony's make up for that.We found the food to be of a high quality and varied,along with the service from our waiter Michele,which made the holiday.The hotel owners make a conscious effort to make your stay enjoyable with at least 1 gala dinner per week.We had 3during our stay with a fantastic pre dinner aperitvo and canapes followed by a fireworks display with desert.The pool is nice and well looked after by allesandro.We also spent time at the free beach club ,but in the morning it has no shade due to the umbrellas being immoveable and close together.The food at the beach is good and has free wi fi which works even on the beach.we like the hotel ,staff and management but diano was a bit touristy for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our stay at Hotel Metropol was a great pleasure from we arrived until we left. the staff gave us good service all the time, and helpt us with every practicle problem we had. The breakfest was fantastic, the swimmingpool very nice, and everything were clean, and the staff very proffesional. We could wish a little bigger room for four persons, but it was not a problem because we were not so much in the room. It was a good aircondition in our room and we slept quite well.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family4392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
#9 of 44 in Diano Marina
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
#2 of 44 in Diano Marina
554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Liliana
Hotel Liliana
#1 of 44 in Diano Marina
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delle Mimose
Hotel Delle Mimose
#13 of 44 in Diano Marina
419 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#18 of 44 in Diano Marina
287 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Eden Park
Hotel Eden Park
#30 of 44 in Diano Marina
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Via Divina Provvidenza 2, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Price Range: £114 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Metropol (Diano Marina) is the best way to experience a four-star stay in the Riviera dei Fiori. Recently renovated and expanded, the hotel is ready to welcome its guests with a modern, easily accessible and equipped structure with all comforts for an unforgettable stay in the Riviera dei Fiori. Hotel Metropol is situated on a hill with splendid views of the sea and the Gulf of Diano Marina, only 200 m from the promenade and the center of Diano. In the hotel guests will find different kind of room types to suit all kinds of needs. There is also a restaurant - offering both traditional Ligurian and international cuisine tasty courses - the park, two swimming pools (one for adults and another for children) and a parking. Moreover Hotel Metropol has got a beautiful private beach located only 200 meters away, accessible also by shuttle bus service. Wireless connection, Internet Point and free bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing