We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!”
Review of Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed at this gem of a hotel back in 2009 and returned once more in September. Our stay was just as great as the first time. A1 service, fantastic meals with a varied choice and fresh produce daily. You don’t walk away hungry. The entire property very clean. Rooms newly renovated and comfortable. Beautiful new outdoor pool. Towels provided for the beach as well. The staff is so friendly and helpful at all times. Always available. The price cannot be beat for all that is offered.
From the rooms situated in the front you get gorgeous views of the coast. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, up a hill, just 5 minutes away from the sandy beach. The water is calm, clean and clear. The beach facilities are all you could ask for. Free chairs and umbrella may be offered for longer stays. Hotel also provides bikes at no charge and there is a bike and pedestrian road that you can follow for miles. Diano Marina is a wonderful little town that offers you many cafes and restaurants. The beauty about this location is that you are just 45 minutes away from the French border. You can easily do day trips to Nice, Monte Carlo and many smaller villages in between, all by very efficient train service. And of course on the other side you have all the wonderful Italian medieval towns to visit just minutes away.
Would stay there again in a heart beat. Book early for the summer season as they fill up fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor in the front for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisa08Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful location, great staff, clean, well appointed spacious rooms and most of all food which is so splendidly Italian then look no further...this must be one of the finest hotels in Diano Marina. My wife and I stayed here on a half board basis, we are 'foodies' and where this establishment exceeds the norm is in the preparation and presentation of complimentary ingredients to deliver splendid mediterranean cuisine, the serving staff and their friendly nature only serve to enhance the experience. Stay at the Piccolo...you will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Go for the pork shank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed for five days and had a fantastic time going to the historic GP at monaco, fantastic view from room, food very good and ample to eat, really nice staff who were great fun and very helpful, i would reccomend for an overall nice stay.

Room Tip: 302 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September 2011 on a half board basis. The hotel is very clean and there is a good view from the rooms at the front. We found the choice and quantity of food very poor. We requested an omelette for breakfast and were told we could have one but it would cost us extra. They did do boiled eggs but they were never replaced when they had gone. The
The only bread available at breakfast was sliced bread no nice crusty bread. The vegetables with the evening meal were never fresh always tinned, the salad starter was always the same with no variety. In my opinion they provided the bare minimum of food that they could get away with and anything else they wanted to charge extra for. The Managers were not very friendly and helpful. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Well run hotel,every where was spotlessly clean,staff were excellant & freindly,we had free drinks from 6pm-11pm,free tea or coffee all day long.Small swimming pool with sun loungers & there was also a roof terrace with sun loungers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boblind9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We needed a room in Diano Marina for the weekend for a wedding. We chose this hotel by virtue of its reasonable rates compared to other hotels in the area, coupled with previous reviews posted here.
There are 3 room types - standard, superior and junior suites. We booked a superior for 3 nights, but were offered the chance to have a junior suite for the first 2 nights and then move to a standard room for the last night, which we took them up on. The junior suite was excellent, really spacious with a large bathroom and a double balcony with fabulous views over the bay. The standard room was tiny, with a tiny bathroom - not somewhere you would want to spend any great deal of time. I would definitely recommend at least a superior room (which are a good bit bigger than standard).
The hotel has a really nice pool at the back, which was a nice bonus. The bar prices were very reasonable (certainly compared to some other hotel bars in the resort) and most important, we found all of the staff, from front of house, to the restaurant, to the cleaning staff to be really pleasant and very obliging. The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine.
I would give the hotel 5 stars but for the size of the standard rooms - this doesn't mean it is a 5 star hotel - but does mean this hotel does a really good job of being what it is supposed to be - a small, well-run friendly family hotel.

ps the hotel is on a relatively quiet street compared to elsehwere in the resort, meaning car parking is easy and free.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms (although would be fine for single occupancy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronaldobiscottini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Clean, very clean! Standard rooms are rather small but still enough space. Everything you need is available including airco.. This is a great little place. Family hotel with 34 rooms, including spacious suites. What makes this a very special place:
-family owned, great hospitality
-outstanding Italian and international cuisine.
-top location near the beautiful sandy beach of pittoresque Diano Marina (a five minutes walk from the hotel). Crowded, you have to pay for the beach (beds etc./in total 9 euro pro person) but a nice atmosphere on the beach because in general Italians are friendlly and very much focused on their own familiy.
What to improve? We thought and thought and our conclusion: nothing to improve! A very friendly, professional hotel with a keen eye for details. We will definetely come back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willempostTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Virginia
Hotel Virginia
#4 of 44 in Diano Marina
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue et Mediterranee
Bellevue et Mediterranee
#20 of 44 in Diano Marina
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Igea
Hotel Villa Igea
#18 of 44 in Diano Marina
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Delle Mimose
Hotel Delle Mimose
#15 of 44 in Diano Marina
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
#9 of 44 in Diano Marina
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arc en Ciel
Hotel Arc en Ciel
#14 of 44 in Diano Marina
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel

Address: Via Sant'Elmo 10, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diano Marina
#12 Family Hotel in Diano Marina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Diano Marina
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Diano Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing