We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to return.”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for the 1st week of July and had a super time. As there were 5 of us and didn’t want arguments as to where to eat each night we booked half board for the week. We advised the hotel that we'd be arriving late around 11pm, so we didn't expect anything on the 1st night. However the day before departure Elizabeth the owner called us in the UK, and left a message asking if we would like a cold supper on our arrival to give her a call. After a long journey we enjoyed a feast of cold meats, cheese and tomatoes, and trifle anglaise.
We had 2 double rooms in the front overlooking the sea, both with balconies and stunning views of the beach and sea. My daughter has a very small single in the rear. All rooms were spotless, as was the rest of the hotel, with good furnishing and very well maintained throughout.
Even with it being in the height of the season and the hotel being full it was peaceful and relaxing stay, with little disturbance from late night revellers at night, but just the sound of the waves rolling in on the beach.
The restaurant is excellent with a very good choice; if booking ½ board you may choose to have starters and main course off the lunch menu as well as the dinner menu. Superb service from the waiters and staff, who are all totally professional, but also relaxed and friendly. Everyone was multilingual so not a problem asking for anything; and for local advice Andrew the barman was a fountain of knowledge.
The shops and town centre is a pleasant 15min stroll down the promenade; we borrowed the hotel bikes and it was 5mins away. Alternatively by bike it’s easy to cycle west along the coast to Imperia which takes approx. 20 to 25 mins which is mostly traffic free and almost all perfectly flat.
We are looking forward to returning to the Palace soon.

Room Tip: Well worthwhile going for a room with a sea view in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here in July for 8 days, it was the first time we had been on holiday by ourselves in 24 years. When we arrived and went to our room there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and fresh fruit waiting for us as it was our anniversary. We found all of the staff very friendly and helpful, with one of the desk staff even helping me to pronounce my limited Italian correctly! It is a lovely clean hotel, you couldn't ask for more. We had read reviews before we booked the hotel about how good the food was, and we were not disappointed. We were staying half board and every morning at breakfast (which was a buffet breakfast) we were given the choice of having lunch or an evening meal and shown the respective menus. We chose the evening meal most of the time which consisted of 4 courses. The food was excellent (especially the lasagne and the ravioli!).

Our room had a sea view which was absolutely amazing. The beach, which was directly opposite was spotless and the sea was great for young children as it was shallow for quite a long way out with no sudden steep drops. We thought Diano Marino was a really lovely place, mainly Italian with only a handful of English tourists. We found a great little bar in the town called Nelson's Bar which had live music a couple of nights a week. We would definitely like to return next year.

A big thank you to Elizabeth and all the staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: I think it is definitely worth paying that bit extra to get a sea view as it is absolutely amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexgirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Very nice hotel near the beach. Staff was verý friendly and breakfast was good. My single room hasn't any view but otherwise it was okay. I wonder why beds are always so narrow and pillows so hard....

Room Tip: Take a double room not single room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scalambrin, Proprietario at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. At this occasion we are glad to inform you that since we continuously renew the Hotel, also the single room you were accommodated in is completely renewed (also with a larger bed). Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This is our second stay at the Palace this year, we stayed for 11 days in September and had a wonderful time.One of the attractions of Diano Marina is its easy access fron Nice airport just over 1 hour by car.The hotel has a lovely beech and the location is ideal for visiting some of the surrounding area this is very easy either by car or public transport.This is our second review of this Hotel so i will not repeat myself only to to say this is an excelent Hotel very well managed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just returned from our 4th visit to the Palace Hotel and it gets better very time! Spent 8 nights there this year. Hotel is beautifully situated for the beach. It is spotlessly clean, lovely rooms, (the sound of the sea is glorious). The only problem with the food is - there is too much! Itis superb. Staff make returning visitors feel like one of the family and nothing is too much trouble for them. Diano Marina is also a very nice resort with a family feel about it. We hope to return again next year. Itwas recommended to us by our son and daughter-in-law who have also stayed there 4 times. We in turn have recommended it to friends and six of them holidayed there in July.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

we stayed in april 2011 this hotel and staff perform higher than thier 3* star rating.
The hotel its self is in a lovely position with the sea just over the road, the first thing you notice is how clean the common areas are and the furnishings are very tastefull.
Our room was a side view but it was beautiful and we could see all the hills and sea for miles,it was immaculate every where was clean and the decorations was very well done, the bath room was ideal we stayed 10 days and the sheets were changed at least twice
and there was always clean towels.
breakfast was buffet but it was the best buffet i have come across in italy there being fresh
fruit and breads preserves and meatsand lots more.
we were on half board and at breakfast the manager came round with the menu for dinner
what can i say this was always first class and typical of the region.
staff and management were always attentive. we have travelled in italy quite a bit and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Palace for 9 nights from late July to early August this year, 2010. The staff were very welcoming, polite and attentive- everything we might have hoped for and more. We had a twin room with a balcony and en-suite bathroom, all of which was very clean and a pleasure to use.
We discovered the sun terrace a few days before the end of our stay, which is on the 4th floor and can be accessed through the "Wellness Room" which also contains a sauna, jacuzzi and exercise bike. From the sun terrace one can view an even more picturesque panorama of the Gulf of Diano than that which can be seen from the balcony, and there are also many sun loungers for the guests' use.
We chose to have half-board, but the hotel gave us the flexibility to choose each day at breakfast whether to eat lunch or dinner, and even to have different courses from the lunch menu at dinner time, or vice versa, if that was what you preferred. There was a continental buffet breakfast, with a very large variety of items, from muesli and yoghurt to pear pulp and croissants, mortadella, ham and cheese, foccacia... I couldn't think what else they could offer! And the coffee each morning was delicious- it was so rich that it was almost chocolatey.
The cooked meals were some of the best food that my family have ever eaten. It was so good that we decided against eating out most of the time, because what we ordered in restaurants paled in comparison! They give a choice of four different starters and four different main courses that one can have at each meal, but you also have the option, as I said before, of picking a course from the lunch menu, so that gives you even more choice.
We had some amazing seafood: anglerfish, clams, mussels, squid, octopus, prawns, angelfish, swordfish, the list goes on. If fish isn't your thing, don't worry, as they also offer plenty of meat courses, such as quail, chicken, parma ham, beef carpaccio, and veal featured heavily on the menu. I must say, I didn't see much provision for vegetarians, so if you are vegetarian, I would inform the hotel of this when you book and ask their advice.
We tried trenette (pasta) with freshly made pesto- a Ligurian speciality, using local olive oil, and this did not disappoint. It is not like the 'Sacla' variety you can buy in a jar in the UK.
As for pudding, we had some equally lovely desserts. We discovered that if they offer "cake," this can mean a variety of things, all of which tend to be more exciting than you expected and more tasty! We were also offered "melon cake" at one point, which we realised, when presented with some great roulade, that we must have misheard and the waiter must have said either "meringue cake", pronouncing it "merring", or "meringué" pronouncing it "merringay." Even so, it tasted marvellous!

The waiting staff were very conscientious, polite, friendly and absolutely excellent really. They had to work hard, speaking in several different languages, catering to each customer's nationality and they remembered what you had each day and anticipated what you might like. The maids were just as diligent, and were very thorough. I was really pleased when one gave me an extra pillow on her own initiative, because she had realised from where I had stacked up the blanket underneath the pillow that I might need a bit more support.

Very good location, right on the seafront, and the hotel give you a discount on the use of the beach with Bagni Lino opposite. We were pleased that there was very little noise at night, the only problem being the noise of the sea, which one has to expect when staying on the waterfront! It is very easy to reach the centre of the town and its shops, just about 5 minutes stroll up the promenade.

I think we would definitely stay here again if we returned to Diano Marina, because it really did exceed our expectations! At the end of our stay they gave us a bottle of local olive oil to take away, which was a very thoughtful gift. I cannot think of anything bad at all to say about the Hotel Palace.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanofPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Delle Mimose
Hotel Delle Mimose
#15 of 44 in Diano Marina
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arc en Ciel
Hotel Arc en Ciel
#13 of 44 in Diano Marina
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
#9 of 44 in Diano Marina
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Virginia
Hotel Virginia
#4 of 44 in Diano Marina
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
#3 of 44 in Diano Marina
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue et Mediterranee
Bellevue et Mediterranee
#20 of 44 in Diano Marina
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Viale Torino 2, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Diano Marina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Diano Marina
Price Range: £93 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic, modern Hotel facing sandy beach.Bar, Restaurant.Free Wi-Fi, bicicles, fitness room, sunterrace.All Rooms with balcony,a/c,safe,Sat-TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Diano Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing