We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious gluten-free food in elegant surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Diano Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten-free food in elegant surroundings”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

A family party of three, we chose the Diana Majestic because one of us needs gluten-free food. We didn’t use a travel agent, we booked directly with the hotel and we were impressed with the helpfulness of their response. The breakfasts and five-course dinners were wonderful. Coeliac and non-coeliac, we all enjoyed the imaginative, varied and high quality food. Everything in the starter salad buffet was really fresh and tasty – I think much of it came from the hotel’s own garden – and the choice was amazing. Service in the restaurant was first class and the surroundings were elegant. Our room was very comfortable and clean and we had a spacious, pleasant balcony with side sea view.

The hotel is recommended by the Italian Coeliac Society and I have to say that I felt very safe in their care. Almost everything on the dinner menu was either naturally gluten-free or could be adapted for me. The bread rolls were delicious. The only slight disappointment was in the gluten-free desserts – the fresh fruit salad, crème caramel and sorbet, although good, were not very exciting choices. (I have had gluten-free tiramisu, strawberry gateau, pastries, chocolate mousse and ice cream dishes in other Italian hotels and restaurants, so I had very high expectations – and dessert is my favourite part of the meal!) The hotel’s normal ice cream was probably gluten-free, but the waiters were really careful and would not let me have it because they were not certain about it. However, this is a very small criticism – I would highly recommend this hotel to any person on a gluten-free diet.

We had a thoroughly wonderful time for five nights at the Diana Majestic. We only wish we could have afforded to stay for a fortnight!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gluten-free-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    174
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
109
234
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Excellent holiday on haf board food was of a very high quality!
as a famlly we really enjoyed the pool and its close proximity to beach!
we had adjoining rooms which worked well for us!staff very helpful!
a ten minute walk to town!
lots to visit in this area! we would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

First the negative. After 12 hours travelling, we were looking forward to unwinding on our balcony with our feet up and a cold drink. Imagine our surprise when, instead of being shown into one of the nice airy rooms with large patio doors and sea views illustrated on the hotel website and in the tour group (Citalia) brochure, we were taken to a dark room in the roof with a sloping ceiling, no sea view and a slit for a balcony the sides of which could be touched with both elbows extended! Not a very good first impression. Beware if you are offered a room on the fifth floor. Fortunately for us, after complaining to reception, we were moved to a first floor room with a terrace balcony within the hour. We did feel however that this incident soured our relationship with the reception staff for the rest of the week.

On to the positive. The Diana Majestic is an excellent hotel. It's in a secluded spot on the water's edge about 15 minutes walk from the centre of town. The rooms are a decent size and the beds nice and comfortable. Service is brisk, friendly and efficient. We were on half board and the food was very good with a wide choice at breakfast and a different 5 course menu every evening for dinner. Main courses were a let down sometimes as the food was probably kept warm on a hotplate before serving to the table, but with 3 preceding courses, we were usually full by then!

The room and bathroom were immaculately cleaned every day and towels changed whether we wanted them or not. Our terraced balcony had 2 sunbeds and was east facing which meant that we could lay in the sun until about 1.30pm without leaving our room! The public areas of the hotel are also well maintained with nice pools and gardens and a comfortable bar area and large terrace where breakfast was served.

We had a fantasically relaxing week in a fine hotel in a nice small town and did very little other than sunbathe, read, eat and drink. We did actually go to Monte Carlo for a day which was very enjoyable even though we only saw half of it. We would be happy to return to Diano Marina and the Grand Majestic any time but not to a room in the roof!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We just got back from having our wedding elopement here at the lovely Grand Hotel Diana Majestic. I cannot say enough praise for this beautiful place. The staff have a lot to do with our wonderful experience. We chose this place because Ms. Patrizia is so kind and warm; she e mailed expeditiously and answered all our questions and her and Senore Vignone offered us such a wonderful wedding package we could not pass it up. They truly went out of their way and went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding and honeymoon were perfect. From the moment we stepped into our suite 504 we were met with gifts, champagne and strawberries. The room was beautiful and tastefully decorated, and we loved the bathtub with water jets. Senore Vignone gave us a wonderful wedding gift which included a bottle of their precious limited edition olive oil made right on the premises from their own olive tree grove.

The views are spectacular, the 2 swimming pools beautiful, great peaceful location in the Italian Riviera, wonderful verdant landscapes, olive and fig tree groves, and the hotel food is absolutely delicious! I am vegan and my husband vegetarian and they were very accommodating to our dietary needs. In fact they planned a special vegan/vegetarian wedding dinner. Additionally they were very accommodating when we had to change the day of our wedding because of unforeseen rain. They rescheduled everything and took care of all the details. The wedding was lovely and held outdoors in a gazebo by the pool and olive trees. We had an English speaking woman minister, a wonderful photographer and a violinist that made the event truly special. We were touched that Senore Vignone and the hotel concierge Magda were our witnesses during our wedding. My husband could converse in Polish with many of the hotel staff who could speak Polish.

We took advantage of the free Tai-chi classes offered at the hotel! In sum, this was a truly special and memorable experience and we would like to especially thank Senore Paolo Vignone, Ms. Patrizia, and all the hotel staff for their kindness and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughtcrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Well, this is the first time in our experience when tripadvisor was SO wrong. I couldn't believe my eyes when I re-read the reviews after arriving in the hotel. The major problem of the hotel is the rating. It's rates as a 4-star hotel when in fact it barely reaches 2 stars. It explains it all. I don't want to make judgements about previous reviewers but if you expect anything special, AVOID this place.

We had reservations for 3 nights here but are leaving after the first one and have not left immediately only because we arrived quite late. First time in our life that we are doing this but it really looks very very cheap and dreadful

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolovignone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Diana Majestic, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
We were very surprised to see the review claiming our hotel as not up to standard. Unfortunately the guests arrived in the evening and did not take
advantage of any of our services (restaurant, excursions, pools, beach) in
order to properly judge our service. Could it be the poor weather might have
been the cause of the shortened stay and the cancellation charge caused the
poor review?

Paolo Vignone - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Breakfast & after dinner on the veranda-built to look like the deck of a ship is a highlight!
Food is very good-order for dinner is taken with breakfast & is excellent quality. However the dinner time was a little early for us.
In September it was finished by 9.00pm-we always took our dessert outside to the veranda to prolong the evening and listen to the waves just below us. The view was fantastic even at night as the colourful ships pass in the distance.

The swimming pool area is super with a choice of beds beside the pools or in the garden, either in full sun or under the trees. The smaller pool is shallow and very warm with massage jets.

Local buses run outside the hotel to bring you to the numerous markets around in for example San Remo or Ventimiglia. Diana Marino village is a 5 min bus journey or 20 minute walk. The nearby old village of Corvo is well worth the climb up to!!

Room is very nice with all mod cons & hotel staff are so so nice.
I would have liked the air-conditioning to be colder & although staff promised to lower it that never happened.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

This was our second trip in two years and a return to a place I visited with my parents many years ago. This must be the most perfect place for relaxing.

The hotel is less than an hour from Nice airport. It is a perfect climate in the late 20s early 30s. Hot but not too hot. The Hotel is 4 stars and from Euro 135 per room per night in high season. The people are so friendly and the food so good. The hotel has a beautiful large pool and spa and is a 3m walk through a gate to the hotel's private beach with lovely sand and shallow water. In all my travels I rarely find a hotel Europe where you don't have to cross the road to get to the beach. Fantastic towns to visit nearby. Do go to Pescatore in Laigueglia next to Alassion for lobster and pasta, Crema di Gelato in Imperia for icecream and Balzola in Imperia also for ice cream (out of this world).

Two weeks of fantastic relaxation. Many thanks to Mr Vignone and his family.

Check them on the internet www.dianamajestic.com

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familycurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diano Marina hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
Hotel Torino Wellness & Spa
#2 of 44 in Diano Marina
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delle Mimose
Hotel Delle Mimose
#12 of 44 in Diano Marina
386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Liliana
Hotel Liliana
#1 of 44 in Diano Marina
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#5 of 44 in Diano Marina
340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 44 in Diano Marina
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle Talasso e Benessere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Diana Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Diana Majestic

Property: Grand Hotel Diana Majestic
Address: Via Degli Oleandri 15, 18013 Diano Marina, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Diano Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diano Marina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diano Marina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Diano Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Diana Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You couldn't ask for a better setting, the enchanting Dianese Gulf, in Diano Marina in the heart of the Italian Riviera. It's here where the Grand Hotel Diana Majestic offers the perfect balance: sports and relaxation, sightseeing and stellar dining. Facing the crystal sea of Liguria, the hotel is surrounded by a park of secular olive trees, creating an oasis of tranquillity from the chaos of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Diana Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Diano Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing