We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Outstanding”
Review of Santa Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Teresa
Ranked #13 of 36 Erice B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
639 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Truly Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We rented the apartment from Sergio for a few days in April. We only ever give 5 star ratings to places where the hosts went above and beyond to ensure a smooth, sympatico visit. Sergio was an excellent host and the location of his lodging is very atmospheric, away from the noise touristy centre, but still close enough to offer easy access when needed. This would be the perfect place for a family, given the neat extra bedroom. Sergio is a fine person. Ask him about the days when he was a bodygurad for rockstar Zucherro.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Santa Teresa was the best place to stay in Western Sicily (http://www.vacanzeagroericino.it/santateresa/appartamenti-vacanze-erice.html). Our host Sergio and his dad restored the old blacksmith shop in the heart of the city, now, a comfortable 2 bedroom apartment, with kitchen, living room and spacious and modern bathroom. Upon our arrival to the apartment, Sergio had prepared a welcome snack, pastries typical of the region. Sergio was the perfect host. he was genteel, smart, knowledgeable, interesting, had a great sense of humor, and engaging smile. We strolled the alleys and streets of Erice, visited the wonderful gardens, with spectacular views and fairytale castle high in the sky. Sergio's itinerary was spot on. While we had our own thoughts about touring, Sergio gently guided us to popular places as well as some fabulous hidden gems. Using Erice as a base, we day-tripped to Marsala, the salt flats, San Vito lo Capo, Trapani and Segesta. Our stay was truly memorable and are looking forward to returning. Thanks Sergio,for making our stay so remarkable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vagabondfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Sergio and his brother were both very friendly and gave us everything we needed to know about the town and surroundings. The apartment was very special and it was such a pleasure to be able to return to this apartment every day. It was well equipped and very comfortable. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in a charming place at an affordable price.

Erice is also a fantastic town and even nicer when the tourists leave

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l_ma8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacanzeagroericino, Proprietario at Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Ciao Li.

Thank you very much for your great review and for posting it on TA; we appreciate that !
We are also glad to know you had a good stay in Santa Teresa and hope to see you again in future.

All the best,

Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Sergio and his father refurbished the apartment and it looks new in this old medieval town. Erice was our favorite spot in all of Sicily and we spent a month on the island.

We loved our three nights here and it was a great base to use for day trips around this part of Sicily. There is a wonderful restaurant in town. It received mixed reviews on tripadvisor but we ate there every night. It is La Pantolaccia..

Very quiet town and free parking (about one block from the apartment). In summer the town charges for parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Erice is a short drive up from Trapani. The road is a typical Italian serpentine road but with not that much traffic normally it's fine. The whole Trapani area is very nice, especially the Zingaro Nature Reserve is beautiful and certainly worth visiting as well. In the city of Erice, it feels like you've returned to the Middle ages, especially when it's smoggy. A lovely city indeed with a very special athmosphere.

The accomodation is everything promised and very convenient for a family of four. The owner is very nice and most helpful. We can certainly recommend this accomodation and Erice!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

As with other reviews, Sergio was the key factor. Charming, friendly, obliging, interesting, helpful and willing to 'go the extra mile'. A delightful young man who explained so much and gave so much helpful information we couldn't help but have a great time in this area. The apartment was beautiful. Full of character, comfortable and had everything we needed. It was really good having a washing machine in the apartment and the clever hanging arrangement for drying. The town of Erice was very special and just what we were looking for. With Trapani so close and being able to come 'home' to a lovely quiet and beautfully appointed accommodation, we would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Host Sergio refurbished this ancient structure with superb craftsmanship and was a very warm, attentive host. That said we would not return: almost no natural light gets in (and it was rainy and cloud-enveloped when we were there), the thin walls let us hear neighbors fighting until midnight and the hot water tank only held enough for one short shower.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimBobTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacanzeagroericino, Proprietario at Santa Teresa, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Dear JimBob,

thank you very much for sharing, on T.A. , your personal experience about your stay in Santa Teresa.

As you wrote , the property is a very ancient structure , with a 4 hundreds years old vaulted ceiling, used as a blacksmith forge a few decades ago.
Because Santa Teresa is located in the heart of medieval Erice, we had to follow a very strict regulation when my family restored it a few years ago, that does not permit to open new window in order to preserve the original character .
Despite that I believe we succeed in obtaining a satisfying level of daylight comfort but obviously when the weather gets rainy and foggy, as may happen in April, you have to relay on artificial lighting, mainly.

The property’s walls are stone made; the exterior ones are nearly 1 meter thick while the wall that separate the two flats is 25 centimetres ( 9.8 inches) thick so not so thin as you can imagine, at least for the Italian standards. I guess also neighbours that fight can produce a high levels of noise.

With regards to the hot water tank I am sorry abut that, although you could have checked the temperature’s gauge before having a shower ; I can assure It can provide hot water for a group of 4 people if you allow it to warm up enough.

Hope this little inconvenience did not spoil completely your short vacation in magificent Erice.

Best regards,

Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erice hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 14 in Erice
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pietre Antiche Appartamenti
0.1 mi away
Il Carmine
Il Carmine
#4 of 20 in Erice
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Postale 17
B&B Postale 17
#2 of 36 in Erice
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Teresa

Property: Santa Teresa
Address: via Carvini nn.84-86, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Teresa Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing