We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baglio Santacroce
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Erice
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay away”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

given that Sicily is an exceptionally beautiful island, there is no reason to waste your time staying in this area, especially in this hotel. This place is overpriced, has poor services, the pool is small and dirty and the rooms (at least the triple rooms) are uncomfortably small.
Prices should be reduced down at least to half

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank multim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    57
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
24
68
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

View is amazing, rooms are nice (we stayed in the new bit) and it's generally fine, but probably not worth 130 a night. There's loads of parking as it's not in a town so you have to drive around a bit to find somewhere to eat. If I went back I would definitely stay in Erice town centre rather than here. Breakfast was fine and it's nice that you can make fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snow15white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This place was a real find. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of places to wander and sit outside. We stayed in the new part, which we would recommend, because if you have a sea view, the view to the sea is spectacular. The older farm house may be charming but it has little windows with no view. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel (quite difficult to drive around at night). The room was good, with a view, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELWYN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we had an early departure from Trapani airport the following morning. The hotel does have beautiful views with a very nice pool. Very reasonably priced hotel, lovely restaurant, which was very good value for money and an adequate breakfast.
I read another review which said the rooms were "souless" which I think is probably a pretty good description for the rooms in the new part of the hotel. As we had an overnight stay it did not bother us but for anyone staying longer I would recommend you try to get into the old rooms in the converted farmhouse section which do look fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUMPYWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Two types of rooms - one in the old stables and another set in brand new block. Others noted the small windows & lack of view from the stable rooms, but they are charming. We opted for the new block - think Comfort Inn standard.

Dinner in restaurant much better than expected - good value. (Don't opt for the prix fixe menu!) Breakfast average hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Professional, clean, nice and charming place
Good restaurant attached
Internet access still low but dsl should be available soon !

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rudyrednoseraindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarle Nassau
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

It is by far the best hotel in the region. Valderice is not an exciting place however it is close to Erice, Trapani, and a lot of other interesting sight seeing places.
However, the food in the restaurant did not meet our expectations. The room is clean and especially the old building has nice rooms. Our suggestion would be book this hotel and have diner at another restaurant.

Helpful?
3 Thank sophiemartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
2.7 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 15 in Erice
287 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 15 in Erice
335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#8 of 15 in Erice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Resort Parco degli Aromi
Resort Parco degli Aromi
#1 of 7 in Valderice
240 reviews
7.2 mi away
Badia Nuova Residence
Badia Nuova Residence
#3 of 19 in Trapani
350 reviews
73.7 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baglio Santacroce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baglio Santacroce

Property: Hotel Baglio Santacroce
Address: SS 187, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baglio Santacroce 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on the foothills of Erice, , in a small hill not away from the country, the hotel Baglio Santacroce overlooks a splendid view on the gulf of Cornino and on the mount Cofano.The ancient rural building, that today is a part of the hotel, is dated back to 1637 and thanks to the wise work of renovation and to the exclusive furnishing, it became meeting for lovers of the tranquility and of the good kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Baglio Santacroce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baglio Santacroce Hotel
Hotel Baglio Santacroce Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing