We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible Erice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Reviewed 19 July 2014

View from the window and balcony to sea, not expensive stay, very fresh and delicious croissants for breakfast on terrace, Erice town. Very small room especially bathroom, no fridge, TV, small parking, staff speaks English very little,poor wi-fi.

Room Tip: ONLY sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolitar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The accommodations are reasonable for the value and view. The view from the outdoor balcony side (the side you will want to stay) of the ocean and city below were beautiful. At times you are above the clouds. Nice quiet atmosphere. Breakfast accommodations were reasonable. The rooms are very simple...bed, night table, phone, desk and chair, closet and bathroom (balcony if you request that side of the building)...THAT'S IT. No A/C, vent etc. (heat I guess for when necessary) just open the doors/window. If it rains and you have to close the doors....no air. Great place for staying at the appropriate time of year. We had some rain but only lasted minutes at a few intervals. The folks managing the hotel were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay. It is the only place with such views on Erice. We spent 1-1/2 days scoping other places for a future stay and although other places have courtyard views, the view from here in the morning was outstanding.

Yes we would return.

Room Tip: Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Slept here for one night with friends. Hotel quite old but all worked fine. Breaksfat was ok too. The staff is very helpful. The view at the back of the hotel is amazing. You could just stay in the balcony and stare forever. The location is optimal for visiting Erice, all can be reached by walk. If I will be back in Erice I wouldn't mind staying there again. If you want value for money this is the place or you.

Room Tip: Get your photos of the views right away because all of a sudden clouds can surround the city and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zammke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for seven days at the Hotel Villa San Giovanni, and we had a pleasant, restful time.
It it a friendly, helpful place. Good breakfasts. Excellent location. Stunning views. Central, but away from the noise of the other "tourist" streets.
The bathroom in our room was small and the door was broken, but it was a minor irritant considering the stunning location, the reasonably competitive costs per night and the very reasonably priced food (basic but good) in the restaurant.
The rooms with a view across the stunning valley to the ocean cost more but the rooms without those views are very acceptable.
But beware: rooms above the entrance and opposite the meeting hall can be noisy and disturbing to sleep because people tend to congregate there and talk loudly. Avoid these rooms if you want uninterrupted sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 313Martino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great cost-benefit. AMAZING view, from the rooms and from the breakfast location. People were nice but, as in many other places in Italy, you should better understand some italian to get along. Breakfast was not great, but ok.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have spent our first night in Sicily in this hotel and it was the perfect start to a great vacation.

Finding the hotel was a bit difficult, but this was in no way the fault of hotel - the evening can get quite foggy and navigating the narrow streets in a car while you can see only about 5 meters ahead would be a challenge even with better signs to the hotel. If you're coming by car, either print a good map or invest into a GPS - it will save you a headache not only here but also in other similarily "well marked" cities of Sicily.

When we found the hotel, the staff welcomed us, showed us where to park safely and after a quick checking we were on to our rooms. They were all really friendly and nice.

The room was pretty spacious with a comfortable double bed and clean and well equipped bathroom. Unfortunatelly, we did get a room with view into the street, but with the blind down we were able to get a good nights sleep.

When we got up in the morning, the first thing we noticed were the views from the hotel on the land below - simply amazing!

We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace - while it was neither the greates nor the worst we had in Sicily, it filled us up nicely and we satisfied our hunger later on a trip to the beatufiul town of Erice.

Overall, this hotel allowed us to stay in the heart of Erice for a very reasonable price and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with panoramatic view, it will take your breath away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel has the best location for the most outstanding view in Erice facing the sea, rock, the valley. We enjoyed the view from the very large balcony.
The room was very basic though, no TV, quite chilly in spring time (we were in April) but had supplementary heaters and extra blankets. Tiny bathroom. If you need hairdryer, ask the reception. Really good and substantial breakfast and good coffee! The hotel staff was very friendly. They gladly provided extra cup of espresso upon our request without extra charge.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the view to the sea and rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 14 in Erice
313 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#6 of 14 in Erice
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#10 of 14 in Erice
150 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Aosta
Hotel Aosta
#1 of 1 in Casa Santa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Giovanni

Address: Viale Nunzio Nasi 12, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range: £46 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Villa San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa San Giovanni Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing