We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel is fine BUT......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Erice is jammed in the past. 2,500 get up, and a VERY tight and tiny place. Then problem is that they do alll they can to guide you there in your, car, only to find that the is nowhere to put it once you are there, plus the tiny narrow cobbled streets mean that you are always jumping out of the way of some poor demented soul looking for a space. The whole place is one, huge gridlock. Solution is to get huge car park out of town, and a park & ride bus service. Clear the town of cars. They ruin the trip. Hotel is OK. Bit hostel rather than hotel. View is ASTONISHING!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank consultantphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa San Giovanni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent value for money, the rooms have no frills but are functional, good breakfast. The view is amazing. WiFi in public areas is free. All the sights in Erice are just few minutes away on foot.
Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kovaova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

View from the window and balcony to sea, not expensive stay, very fresh and delicious croissants for breakfast on terrace, Erice town. Very small room especially bathroom, no fridge, TV, small parking, staff speaks English very little,poor wi-fi.

Room Tip: ONLY sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolitar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The accommodations are reasonable for the value and view. The view from the outdoor balcony side (the side you will want to stay) of the ocean and city below were beautiful. At times you are above the clouds. Nice quiet atmosphere. Breakfast accommodations were reasonable. The rooms are very simple...bed, night table, phone, desk and chair, closet and bathroom (balcony if you request that side of the building)...THAT'S IT. No A/C, vent etc. (heat I guess for when necessary) just open the doors/window. If it rains and you have to close the doors....no air. Great place for staying at the appropriate time of year. We had some rain but only lasted minutes at a few intervals. The folks managing the hotel were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay. It is the only place with such views on Erice. We spent 1-1/2 days scoping other places for a future stay and although other places have courtyard views, the view from here in the morning was outstanding.

Yes we would return.

Room Tip: Ocean side
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Slept here for one night with friends. Hotel quite old but all worked fine. Breaksfat was ok too. The staff is very helpful. The view at the back of the hotel is amazing. You could just stay in the balcony and stare forever. The location is optimal for visiting Erice, all can be reached by walk. If I will be back in Erice I wouldn't mind staying there again. If you want value for money this is the place or you.

Room Tip: Get your photos of the views right away because all of a sudden clouds can surround the city and you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zammke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for seven days at the Hotel Villa San Giovanni, and we had a pleasant, restful time.
It it a friendly, helpful place. Good breakfasts. Excellent location. Stunning views. Central, but away from the noise of the other "tourist" streets.
The bathroom in our room was small and the door was broken, but it was a minor irritant considering the stunning location, the reasonably competitive costs per night and the very reasonably priced food (basic but good) in the restaurant.
The rooms with a view across the stunning valley to the ocean cost more but the rooms without those views are very acceptable.
But beware: rooms above the entrance and opposite the meeting hall can be noisy and disturbing to sleep because people tend to congregate there and talk loudly. Avoid these rooms if you want uninterrupted sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 313Martino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great cost-benefit. AMAZING view, from the rooms and from the breakfast location. People were nice but, as in many other places in Italy, you should better understand some italian to get along. Breakfast was not great, but ok.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erice hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 14 in Erice
303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Aosta
Hotel Aosta
#1 of 1 in Casa Santa
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#10 of 14 in Erice
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Erice
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Giovanni

Address: Viale Nunzio Nasi 12, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range: £44 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Villa San Giovanni 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa San Giovanni Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing