We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Astra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astra Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This 4 star hotel is very nice and centrally located, in 5 minutes by walk, you can reach the castle.
All the staff are very kind and helpful. You can have also a free bicycle to visit the city. Good idea!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraHotel, Direttore at Astra Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are really happy that your stay was good and that you appreciate our free bike service. Ferrara is a city for bikes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    202
    98
    42
    26
See reviews for
66
238
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is very old, and it looks like it has not been renovated for ages. It really needs a lot of work to make it a real 4-star hotel!
Our room was on the first floor, with a view over the wheelie bins that lined the back street... Also, when people walked the street, a lot of noise entered the room.
The room was large, but as I said, very very old. Furniture looked as old as me (I'm 41), and the bed was ridiculous! I've never seen a bed that's more wide than tall! I'm 6'4" and when I laid down my calfs wouldn't be on the bed...
Also, the mattress were uncomfortable and the pillows awful.
The bathroom looked even older than the room, and not too clean. There were hair on the floor and on the bathtub. Yuck!
Only upside of the hotel is its location, very close to the city center (6-7 minutes to walk to the Estense Castle). The hotel has private covered parking, although the reception sells a parking ticket that costs 3 EUR which allows one day street parking along the blue striped parking spaces. We chose this option and parked our car 30 meters from the hotel front door.
Ferrara is a wonderful city which is very much worth a visit. The Hotel Astra unfortunately is not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sciamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ferrara hotels

Perugia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

maybe the oldest hotel i've ever seen in my experience.

If Gordon Ramsey would come there... he'd starts to cry!!! ahahahaha

old fornitures, duster everywhere.. fake flowers, rusted lifts, terrible roomes with bad and old smell, old carpet everywhere, terrible showers.

i also have dinner there... OMG.. distusting food.. one dish a block of unfrozed food and olive oil... one beer.. 25€!!!

It looks like one of the worst B&B and if you payed more than 100€ per night s i did.. you will never come back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraHotel, Direttore at Astra Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Sir,
I'm really sorry about your poor experience in our hotel.
I'm a little bit surprised because we had no claims from you during your stay. Usually our rooms are well cleaned, as you can read here. However, if a guest report to the reception any problem in his room we may help him to solve it, also changing the room.
About the restaurant, be sure that we don't use unfrozen food. Sorry that you dislike our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

It’s simple to summarise this hotel. When we are due to go back to Ferrara would we stop at the Astra Hotel, the answer is NO. Not a chance.

We went to this hotel on Business in September for 3 nights. A colleague made the reservations so no prior investigations were made other than the address, this was a big mistake. This hotel is listed as a 4 star; I have stopped in better 3 stars by a long way.

LOCATION

The location of this hotel is pretty good and probably the only thing the hotel as going for it. It’s close to the tourist attractions, restaurants, shops and bars. The Hotel has no free parking as it is on a main street. Underground parking can be reversed at 20 Euro’s a night or a permit for road side parking is 1 euro a night. We had the road side parking and had no issues.

RECEPTION
It is very dated and drab. Check in and out were easy, all the staff spoke English which is good as no of us spoke Italian. The lift, communal area and corridors are all very dated, drab and depressing. Wi-Fi is available at a cost of 5 euro’s for 3 hours, the connection is OK.

THE ROOM
I had a room on the second floor down a long narrow corridor. The room was again very dated, drab and depressing. My double bed was two single pushed together with a sheet and blanket, no duvet. The bathroom was a narrow corridor. The room faced the back of the hotel so my view was of the walls of buildings. Although it was cleaned daily with fresh towels etc it didn’t feel clean. I had bites over my arms and legs most morning which itched, I’m unsure what these were? The rooms seem squashed together, I could hear the adjoining rooms having a shower, flushing the chain and watching TV. All this made this a poor experience.

FOOD/RESTURANT
Breakfast is an average continental basis but acceptable. We didn’t eat an evening meal at the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants a short walk away.

GENERAL
We (our company) paid a high rate for this hotel which didn't reflect in the standard of the rooms and general feel. Over the last year I have spent approximately 15 weeks in various regions of Italy and this didn't compare with Italian hotels we are used too.

Room Tip: Find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toddydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraHotel, Direttore at Astra Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear guest,
I'm very sorry about your poor experience in our hotel.
We like to propose a classic italian design for lobby and common areas, maybe it could seem old but it's not. About room, our "standard" room is easy and functional and maybe you like a more confortable room like the "de Luxe" room.
About cleaness of the room, be sure that we provide cleaning and a careful disinfection every day. It's possible that your problem was due to mosquitos, in Ferrara there are a lot in this season and they can enter in the room if you open the windows..
Thank you for you good comments on our receptionist & about the general level of services provided from our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Central location and very friendly staff! Special thanks to Davide for his patience and for helping us sort out our travel needs and for his restaurant tips too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Severina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed for 3 nights Oct. 2011. Hotel was clean but in need of refurbishment, Staff not the most friendly. My room was quite dated , I would guess the last time the place was decorated was in the early 90s. Bed comfortable, air conditioning could not be adjusted. Garage parking quite expensive at 20 euro per day. Breakfast was good, although only Italian guests were offered proper coffee, everyone else had to have instant.
Good location easy walk into town.
A typical Italian hotel that has not moved with the times. Not very good value and certainly not worthy of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerfromuk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Hotel Astra is old and in desperate need of renovation. It's not by far a 4-star hotel, more like a 2-star. The rooms are out of date (sad decor from the 1960's), with old blankets in the bed instead of duvets. The rooms are incredibly cold - both me and my colleague slept with two blankets and the old bedspread and still woke up freezing. The staff is nice and helpful and the breakfast buffet is quite alright. No free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstraHotel, Direttore at Astra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
I'm really sorry for the cold, maybe something in the temperature control doesn't work correctly. I don't know if you asked to the reception about this problem, it's quite possibie that we was able to solve your disease.
Astra Hotel has a classic design, but there's nothing that has more than 15 years (the hotel was enterely renewed) and all is continously mainteined and upgraded, like technologies with 26-37" Flat TV or Wi-Fi.
The bedspreads are part of an elegant decor with fabrics matching the curtains and chairs. Some guests likes duvets, it's possible that in the future we propose some rooms with this finishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferrara
Hotel Ferrara
#7 of 32 in Ferrara
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel

Property: Astra Hotel
Address: Viale Cavour 55, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic design hotel with all modern comforts, well positioned near the heart of the Old Town and the railway station, easy to access by car with an internal garage. A spacious and comfortable hall will welcome you to our 66 rooms and 3 suites. The breakfast with an accent on local products and the tasteful internal restaurant make our hotel the right choice to visit Ferrara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ferrara
Best Western Astra
Ferrara Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing