We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and would highly recommend it. Absolutely amazing value for the high quality/decor of the rooms - and the service was great too. Would definitely stay there again if I get the chance to return to Ferrara.

Room Tip: Ferrara room was great - larger than some I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeptPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    148
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
51
196
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights when my husband was attending a conference. Our room was called Bari which was very spacious and the bathroom was outstanding. The owner and his family manage the hotel which was wonderful. One night my husband was out late and forgot his key and asked me to come open the door and I went down and it felt like I was back at my parents house. The breakfast is a cold breakfast, and the jam croissants are a must try! The internet is free everywhere in the hotel which was very nice. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ferrara. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The small hotel is very clean and modern. The room we had was small but adequote. The breakfast is simple, but nice. The location is really good, just off the cathedral square and there is a market in the street in front of the hotel. The shower had some crazy lights which you could control and change. Ferrera is a great place with many back streets to explore and get lost in. We drove here and there is parking nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedal-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our trip across Italy brought us to the beautiful medieval town of Ferrara to visit long time friends. The friends arranged our accommodation for two nights at the Hotel Nazionale. Hotel Nazionale combines a modern decor in a centuries old building. Conveniently located to the major tourist attraction, main square and restaurants, our Ferrara and Hotel Nazionale was a gentle, pleasant stop between busy Rome and Venice. Be sure to have lunch before 3 PM as the shops and restaurants close for their mid day breaks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougle_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nazionale for 3 nights in the Bari room on the 1st floor. This room faces a roof area and it was more pleasant with the curtain closed. On the other hand, the room (and hotel in general) was clean, comfortable, secure and nicely decorated. It has a very nice bathroom, too. The breakfast room is small as others have described but this was not an issue for us, maybe because we woke up late and showed up after the morning rush. The cold breakfast is modest but sufficient including hams and cheese, breads, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. The staff was cordial and helpful. There is no elevator, which may be an issue for some. When you go out the front door of the hotel you are on one of the main streets about 50 yard/meters from the Cathedral square which seems to be the favorite place to congregate and/or meet in Ferrara. We arrived in Ferrara by train and walked to the hotel. This takes about 25-30 minutes. The route is pretty straight but can be a little confusing the first time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uzidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I loved the stay in the hotel!very nice, modern furniture, comfortable bed, warm douvet (important as it was cold and the city still didn't turn on the heating). Interesting thing was a lamp for chronotherapy (therapy with colors and lights). it was situated under the shower and one could change the colors. Be careful with the string under the shower!!! It's a security alarm in case sth happened. I thought it's for bathroom ventilator and turned on the alarm at 1 a.m.!!! Fortunately turning fuses off helped!! :)

Helpful?
Thank Kamilka84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We were only traveling through Ferrara and hadn't made plans for a room. Saw the review on Trip Advisor and inquired at the Tourist Office where they list hotel offerings (although the Nationale wasn't among the listings that day). The tourist office called for us and there was a room available. Very knowledgeable and agreeable desk clerk. Brand new looking room, big enough and very nice bath. Terrific breakfast; bread, pastries, meats and cheese, cereal, yogurt, juices and good coffee. Very central in the historic part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brklynjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferrara
Hotel Ferrara
#7 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Corso Porta Reno 32, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing