We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alchimia Room and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 92 Ferrara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place is not the easiest to find but well worth it. I could not imagine anywhere better to stay while in Ferrara. There is excellent off street secure parking a lovely garden with a shaded area and cold home made lemonade available on a hot day. The B&B is modern and our room at the back very quiet. It was a well equipped room with a lovely en suite shower room. They even provide tea/coffe making facilities in the room (which is not always common in Italy). The owner is very helpful and makes you feel very welcome. There are bikes to hire free which is very useful in Ferrara which probably has more bikes than cars! The breakfast was amazing with home made yoghurts, apple compots and just about anything you could wish for to eat for breakfast. Just delightful. I highly recommend this R&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and a 3-month baby have stayed in Alchimia B&B during our two-day visit to Ferrara and had a perfect stay.

The Alchimia B&B is in fact a small boutique hotel in the centre of Ferrara situated in a 15-centrury renovated palace. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furbrished with wooden beams and spotlessly clean. The B&B has its own private parking on site which came as a great benefit and convinient way to leave our car while visiting Ferrara. On top of everything, there is a spacious garden where you can relax after sightseeing.

The breakfast was amazing and served in a fully-glazed small addition to the house in the garden and included fresh omlet with local spices, parma ham, prosciutto, home-made jams and cakes and several types of pastry.

All in all, a great experience at a beautiful B&B in a gorgeus city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marijan_147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I traveled to Ferrara, Italy in May and stayed again at Alchimia Bed and Breakfast (my third time). I really love the original artwork in each room, the incredible breakfasts, and the free bicycles for getting around this small town. Alchimia is located around the corner from the National Gallery of Art (Palazzo dei Diamanti), where I saw the Matisse exhibit this year (and the Antonioni exhibit last year). Ferrara is also nearby Venice and Bologna, so you can stay in Ferrara and take short day trips to other cities. I cannot express enough thanks and gratitude to Euro and Valentina and Euro's parents, who run Alchimia. Upon checking out, I was given homemade meringue as a gift! Ferrara is a beautiful city- so worth visiting- and Alchimia is the best place to stay while you are there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srothenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I stayed at the Alchimia in Ferrara June 13, 2014 for 1 night and loved it. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The owner and his family were very friendly. We had bikes available, if we wanted to used them. The courtyard was amazing, I did not want to leave. The made delicious cappuccino for my aunt and I and the kids got to feed the 45 year old turtle and 20 year old turtle. This lovely gem is in walking distance to the castle. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding. My husband loved the fudge/chocolate brownies. This was the best experience. We will be back and recommend Alchimia to our family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful experience from your Florida guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and my aunt in room 2 , both rooms were beautifully decorated and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from our 7 days in Ferrara and felt a genuine wrench at having to leave this lovely place. Yes, Ferrara is a nice place, but the B and B Alchimia is exceptional. The descriptions of everyone elses reviews are all true, the rooms are spotless and comfortable (I have a bad back so a good bed is important!), big bath towels and super breakfasts, lots of home baking! There is a lovely garden which is what made it for us, different places to sit in the sun or the shade, very restful and green and beautifully kept. There are also 5 cats (Merlino was our special friend!) and 2 tortoises so stay away if you don't like animals! Euro and his family are a warm, welcoming, and kind presence who do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. Euro is well informed about anything you might want to know from travel schedules to the best restaurants. I think this is one of the best places I've ever stayed. Thank you and we will see you again. Good luck with the baby!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so it only took seconds to walk into the sun and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luccaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Alchimia Room and Breakfast in Ferrara, Italy for 5 days in Spring 2014 and loved our experience. Set in a medieval building, all 6 B&B rooms are on the ground floor and are immaculate, modern, beautifully decorated (with local modern art) and extremely comfortable. The owner, Euro Caselli, his wife and family are truly gracious, accommodating hosts, going out of their way to make you feel at home and help you in any way. Free parking is provided in the gated courtyard and bikes are also available for your use. Breakfast was outstanding, with meats, cheeses, fruit, eggs made-to-order, and homemade yogurt & pastries. Valentina made the best cappuccino I've ever had and she even shared with me a recipe for her divine tenerina, a fudgy chocolate cake she served at breakfast. The breakfast room overlooks a small courtyard and is a secure area for children to play. The Alchimia is less than a 10-min walk from the historic center of Ferrara or the many parks or trail around the old city walls. From the train station, you could easily take day trips to Venice or Bologna. I can honestly say it was the best overall B&B experience I've ever had. Truly a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetree05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Alchimia Room and Breakfast in Ferrara, Italy and found it to be a fantastic place to stay. From the moment we arrived, Euro Caselli, made us feel like honored guests. We were greeted warmly and felt at home from the very first. The rooms were quite comfortable, clean and with modern amenities. Street parking in the area is limited but that is not a problem as free parking is provided in the gated courtyard. Some of our party, who were unable to book a room here due to last minute travel plans, were graciously allowed to park their car in the courtyard for free since the rest of us were staying there. What a generous gesture on the owners part. The breakfast room overlooks the lovely gardens and courtyard and the gardens had an inviting sitting area which provided a welcome respite from the city after a day of sightseeing and a secure area for children to play. Breakfasts were wonderful. Quite comprehensive with all baked goods (fresh bread, pastries, cakes) homemade by Euro's wife, Valentina. It was such a pleasure each morning to enjoy breakfast in the breakfast room looking out at the gardens with such attentive hosts. The Alchimia is only a short walk from the historic center of Ferrara and is a 20 minute easy walk to the train station for taking a day trip into Venice. What a great pleasure it was to stay here while visiting Ferrara! Euro and Valentina made us feel like family and we didn't want to leave. I highly recommend this lovely R&B. Incidentally, there is at least one handicap accessible room available here. If you are looking for a place to stay in Ferrara, this is it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kedavis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,905 reviews
1 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
I Due Orfici
I Due Orfici
#1 of 2 in Cona
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ai Frutti di una Volta
Ai Frutti di una Volta
#2 of 92 in Ferrara
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolcemela
Dolcemela
#5 of 92 in Ferrara
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchimia Room and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchimia Room and Breakfast

Address: Via Borgo Dei Leoni 122, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ferrara
Price Range: £78 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town centre of Ferrara, in a 1400 year-old Palace, ALCHEMIA Room & Breakfast offers charming and stylish comfort. ALCHEMIA R&B is open all year round, with newly refurbished rooms and surroundings which are elegant, cosy and soundproofed to ensure the best possible comfort, an ideal base for a stay in Ferrara. The rooms are furnished with our special "alchemical recipe" based on the simplicity of the lines, using materials such as solid wood combined with the purity of steel. To guarantee our guests' relaxation, you can take advantage of our free private parking, where you can "forget" your car and enjoy your holiday with full peace of mind. All the rooms are on the ground floor, with no architectural barriers, so they are easily accessible to people with disabilities. All rooms have independent access with an electronic lock and private bathrooms. Ferrara is known for its medieval town centre, the city walls and its many cycling lanes, which you will be able to explore benefitting from our completely free bike-hire service. ALCHIMIA R&B is conveniently located in the heart of the city at less than 5 minutes on foot or by bicycle from the main points of interest. In the morning you can enjoy an excellent and delicious breakfast buffet as room service or in our breakfast room, where we serve a selection of warm pastries, home-made cakes, yogurt, jam, tea, milk and coffee and other goodies all made with fresh and genuine organic products. Upon request we can prepare breakfast for guests with special needs like celiacs and diabetics. For those who want to learn more about the history of this Estense town we provide books and encyclopaedias in our reading area, where you can have safe internet access with our R&B iPad. There is a 50 sq. m. internal area and a 300 sq. m. external area dedicated to the exhibition of contemporary art of various types and genres. Throughout the exhibition period it will be possible to meet and talk to the artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alchimia Room and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing