We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Stanze di Torcicoda
Ranked #13 of 92 Ferrara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Three weeks in Italy and this was the best B&B experience all trip! The location, the kitchen, the rooms - everything was perfect!

Peter was an amazing host!! He was great to talk to and shared a lot of great information about his city. I particularly appreciated being able to text him random questions throughout the day. And the breakfasts...the BREAKFASTS! The best breakfast we had during our three weeks! I still dream about having another bite of their homemade cheesecake.

We took a chance on visiting Ferrara not knowing much about the city or having met anyone who's been but it ended up being our most authentic experience in Italy.If anyone else is looking to get away from the typical itinerary, I highly recommend Ferrara! We love medieval towns and this area of Ferrara was perfection. With the narrow, windy lanes and cobblestone streets - our favorite thing to do was wander and stop for drinks/food along the way while watching the bicyclists pass by.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cass4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a family run room and breakfast that was the best experience we had in Italy. Pietro and his sister Valentina were the most friendly wonderful hosts we had in our thirty day trip. Valentina provided breakfast of her own cooking or locally grown products that were fresh, a good variety and extremely tasty. Pietro picked us up and dropped us back off at the train station which really made the in and out very stress free. The Jewish Ghetto where the bed and breakfast is located just oozes the joy, anguish, history and experiences of the people that lived there over the centuries. The streets are amazing and there is a lot of experiences to be lived in Ferrara. Pietro's place is a great restoration of a Jewish quarter row house that is tastefully redone in keeping with the old yet is very comfortable, clean, warm environment with wonderful hosts. The wifi was the best and ceramic studios, castles, churches, a rock concert and many places to eat wonderfully made food made our experience special. But I cannot emphasize enough how much we appreciated Pietro and Valentina. As a Canadian I loved their hospitality and warmth!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg141414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Italian hospitality at its best! Thanks to Pietro and Valentina who made our visit to this beautiful city so comfortable and relaxed. We agree entirely with the previous reviewers who have rated the bedrooms and breakfasts so highly. The nearness to the main square and yet secluded quietness make this an A1 location and Pietro is only too happy to help with local knowledge. If cycling is your thing there is secure storage and no better place to visit than Ferrara Le Stanza di Torcicoda.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this super nice place, conveniently located in the heart of the city, for three nights: our room was spacious, gracefully furnished and immaculate-clean. Breakfast was great: homemade jam, cakes and biscuits, fresh fruits and yogurt, and Easter chocolate eggs too! We really recommend this B&B and we are grateful to Valentina and Pietro for their hospitality.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SaraFormai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stopped in Ferrara for several days in May 2013 during a two week trip across this region of Italy. Le Stanze di Torcicoda was the best B&B we stayed in during a trip filled with absolutely stunning B&Bs.

As other guests have mentioned, Pietro and Valentina's effortless hospitality leaves you feeling as if you’re visiting life-long friends rather than paying guests at a B&B. Their warmth, charm and expert advice on attractions, secrets and restaurants left us delighted and feeling as if we were having an authentic Ferrararese experience.

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. The rooms were pretty, of generous proportions and very comfortable. They were always spotless each evening when we returned from our adventures and the whole place felt homely, clean and charming.

Ferrara is a remarkable medieval city in an area of outstanding cities and Le Stanze is perfectly located for getting out and about to explore both the central plaza with its castle and cathedral as well as the fascinating old Jewish ghetto with its potent sense of place and ancient atmosphere. Borrow the bikes from Pietro. Even we, as inexperienced cyclists, felt these were a perfect way to get around. Don’t miss riding along the old town wall, especially the tree-lined section to the north which you can reach along the spectacular Corso Ercole I D'Este and detour via the fascinating Nuova Terraviva complex which Pietro and Valentina recommended.

As most other reviewers also mention, it’s also impossible to review Le Stanze without raving about the delicious and unusual breakfasts which felt like some of the most authentic Italian food we ate during our trip. Each day brought a fresh, exciting delight to start the day.

We wish we'd spent longer in Ferrara and will definitely return there soon. When we do, we'll most certainly plan our trip so that we can stay with Pietro and Valentina again. effortless

We chose Le Stanze di Torcicoda because of their impeccable Trip Advisor reviews and, having stayed there, we can now say with absolute confidence that each one of their five star votes is totally deserved. We hope they go from strength to strength in the future.

Room Tip: We saw several of the rooms and they all seemed quiet and to get about the same amount of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is really more than a bed and breakfast-it is a warm experience of being cared for by a lovely family who cannot do enough for you. Valentina and Paolo suggested places to eat, provided a large and sumptuous breakfast and Paolo even drove us to the station when we left. When they heard that we love dogs, Paolo brought Poldo, their 14 year old deaf cocker spaniel, who was a highlight of the stay for us!

Our room was large and elegantly decorated. The b & b is in the best area-the old Jewish Ghetto- for any of you who love history, charm and mystery, as I do. There are narrow lane ways and cobbled streets and beautiful vaults-check out the Via delle Valte. Yet it is moments from the "action" on the main street. The university is nearby and we met some students in their traditional gowns who took us out for coffee. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMazzocato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely b&b. It is located in the middle of the medieval centre of Ferrara in a nice house in a quiet alley. We a lovely cosy room with a small balcony. Very nicely decorated and clean. The breakfast is very very very good: eggs, ham and cheese, home baked cakes and bread, cereals yoghurt and fruits, juice and coffee. This was the best breakfast we ever had in italy. It was served on our sunny terace, lovely! But most of all, the host are extremely friendly and helpfull and make you feel at home. We will defenitely stay here again. Thanks so much! Guus and Laura from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lautje85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Ippogrifo Room & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dolcemela
Dolcemela
#5 of 92 in Ferrara
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed & Bike
Bed & Bike
#16 of 92 in Ferrara
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alchimia Room and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Stanze di Torcicoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze di Torcicoda

Address: Vicolo Mozzo Torcicoda 9, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ferrara
Price Range: £57 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Stanze di Torcicoda 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Stanze di Torcicoda R&B is a comfortable and intimate bed & breakfast located in the old Jewish quarter of the Ferrara city centre, close to the Cathedral and the Estense Castle. In the house, to which a careful restoration has returned the charm of ancient memory, there are rooms with private bathroom, color TV, minibar, safe and air conditioning system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Stanze di Torcicoda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing